We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good stay”
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #99 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I've been commuting to DC for the past 2-years and have stayed at the Capital Hilton almost 100% of the time. The staff makes this hotel. The location is perfect for my work but also great locale for sight-seeing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,979 - 1,985 of 3,244 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

30 degrees outside... 90 in the room. Engineering was kind enough to put a fan in the window. Avoid this place unless you are a lizard! Completely unacceptable. Pull the flag. If they can't control the temperature they should not be a Hilton.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiamondMemberScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

We apologize for the quality of services you received during your recent stay. We have reported the malfunctioning of the heating unit in your guest suite to our maintenance team. We will resolve the issue with our maintenance team and hope you will consider staying with us at again the next time you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Old hotel with no air conditioning in the winter, except for heat. If you have allergies and can't have windows opened, stay away. Also, staff response to requests including complaints or room service is slow.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Bravada G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have stayed at other high end hotels in DC and this was one of the best. I liked that within walking distance there were markets, restaurants, liquor stores, etc, so cab use was minimized. Felt safe walking streets at night

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Miadora7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just returned from Washington, D.C., where we stayed at the Capital Hilton. Nice room with a comfortable bed. Very nice breakfast buffet and a really good dinner in the lounge. Great service from waiter and bartender. Ok, now the disappointments...price has gone up about $100 since our last stay a few months ago; thermostat and room temperature all out of whack...said 76 but felt like 65 with cold air blowing out of the registers; no magazines in the room; no morning newspaper; pretty crummy executive lounge; although the guest book says the restaurant is open for dinner, it's not. It closes at 2 p.m. Tried calling to get our car, 7 times, I think, no answer. Ugh. Need to find another place to stay when there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEHPIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel was very close to all of the wonderful monuments and smithsonians in DC. Loved the lobby and staff. The staff were all very accomodating and friendly. I wished we had a better view from our room as it was just looking out on to center of other rooms, but that is no fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is in a great location, just a couple blocks from the White House. Staff and accommodations were great. I had 3 nights of excellent sleep as my room was very quiet (except for outside street noise) and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#105 of 141 in Washington DC
4,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,385 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036-5794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £77 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing