We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great choice for tourism or business!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #95 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great choice for tourism or business!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

There are so many things to say about this hotel it's hard to know where to begin. Knowing the hotel's distinguished history (built during WWII) can raise all sorts of anxieties about how well it's adapted to contemporary expectations. Never fear--this hotel is superb. Sleeping rooms have been fully updated. The lobby is open and inviting, with a welcoming, well-trained staff on hand to help with your luggage and check you in. The Business Center is right in the lobby, with easy internet access. The location is close to everything: a few blocks to three Metro stations, the White House, a few more to the National Mall or downtown. My husband and I chose a package offered at check-in, including high-speed internet in our room, an extensive breakfast buffet in the Northgate restaurant, and access to happy hour snacks and low priced or free beverages in the Executive Lounge for $40 a night--well worth the price. A few small caveats: the room was clean, but requests to housekeeping were ignored (we don't know why-- we tip daily but perhaps there were communication problems); frequent sirens, a false alarm at 6:30 a.m., and a relatively hard bed occasionally played havoc with our sleep patterns. Overall though, this hotel is a great choice in downtown D.C.!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    1,078
    530
    217
    97
See reviews for
682
616
126
1,102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The service staff are excellent throughout. The rooms and amenities are good . The Executive Lounge is a very convenient and well maintained feature well worth the price . Would certainly recommend given the excellent downtown location

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank John F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Its a great hotel, nice location, but the person who check us in was rude gave our room to somebody else and we needed to wait until 9 PM that the manager returned to get our room (and we're getting married the following day!). The manager was very nice and able to solved our problem but it was already 9pm! The bed was to soft.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ana Mariela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
411 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have stayed here before. The update to the executive lounge was needed and much nicer than it was before. The fitness center is really nice and the rooms are comfortable and quiet. The bedding is nice which I don't often find anymore. The staff went out of their way to make people feel comfortable too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I paid good money to be treated in a rude manner. I checked in there was a problem with my company card. I was told because I was staying 6 nights they would send up a cop drink after the card glitch I was made to feel Like I had done something wrong. I was also contacted by another hotel employee. It was handled poorly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
We appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We are very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and we have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I am a regular walk in Customer since I work close by I like the convenience to come here and work while enjoying the food, But for some reason the server is not welcoming if you are planning to seat for two or more ours, for this reason I always get a bad service I have filled my complaint to the manager she wasn't receptive enough so if you are my kind of walk-in person who likes to work while eating, I suggest you find a better place that value your business and save yourself the inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Extremely poor value for cost. Bad room service. Cold breakfast that took a hour and 15 minutes to arrive. I had to call them several times to remind them about delay and food was cold and without flavor. The restaurant is sub-optimal. Would not recommend hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dilaawar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay, we respect your candor. We strive for personalized experience for each of our guests, actively looking for ways to keep costs low and offer enhanced services for comfort and convenience. We appreciate your review as it provides feedback that we need to re-evaluate guest needs and make the necessary adjustments to our offerings.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#59 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Property: Capital Hilton
Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing