We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #97 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Location is quite good and front desk staff (Theresa and Steve) are amazing. Rooms can vary from ultra small to adequate. Taxis are readily available and location is very good. During the week it is primarily a business crowd so hotel noise is kept at a minimum.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJA17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Nation's Capital. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,863 - 1,869 of 3,183 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Only stay with the Hilton Family.... Not any of them have ever been a disappointment. The Hilton Brand is always over the top. Staff can not do enough for you from check in to check out and every minute in between. You always feel welcome and appreciated. Matter of fact We are booked to stay at the Homewood Suites in Baltimore Maryland Inner Harbor in a few weeks. The Hilton Capital is close to everything you wish to see and more. Either by foot or a short cab ride. Easy in and out of the city.... If anyone knows in DC that is a must. What every any of you decide the HILTON WASHINGTON DC CAPITAL is a Must for your stay is our Nations Capital.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Doreen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate your kind comments and were pleased to learn of your experience at the Capital Hilton. Thank you for recommending us to other travelers!! We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Other than having a room close to the elevator and the pillows, I enjoyed staying at this hotel. It was clean and bed was very comfortable. I requested foam pillows which were too soft and did not feel like your typical foam pillow. Staff was very courteous.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Nation's Capital. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Nice and clean hotel. Great location. Its two blocks from The White House. Great service and very nice staff. Make sure you are not in room 967;its next to the service elevator which is VERY loud all night!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We truly value your comments and observations.
We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome and serve you at the historic Capital Hilton in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I was greeted so nicely and checked in with a smile and it made my stay. Lovely hotel, great location, clean and quiet room. It was a pleasure to stay there. The entrance is very nice and the hotel is near restaurants and walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Capital Hilton and for taking the time to give us your feedback. It makes us happy to know that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and our location convenient to many of the local attractions and restaurants this great city has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Nation’s Capital.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The only this good about this hotel is the location it is one block from The White house, even the Hilton executive club service is the poorest I have ever seen. It is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants, I booked the Hilton executive double when I complained that it was too small, I was upgraded to the Junior suite at no extra charge, but the floor plan of the suite was funny, I got to know that the hotel was formerly a office block converted to the hotel.
You will see a lot of politicians and government officials in this hotel.
I will not recommend for a holiday trip.

Room Tip: Valet parking cost $47/day excluding taxes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heroesnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I recently stayed here for two nights with my kids as a spring-break trip. The location is excellent - two blocks to the white house. We were able to walk to the white house, and then down to the Ellipse, and to see the monuments on the Mall. We took a short inexpensive cab ride back, as my eight year old got tired. The hotel is also only a block from the Metro, which is great because it is easy to use and gets you everywhere you would want to go on a trip to DC. The room was big and the four of us were comfortable - two in a king bed and two in a pull-out sofabed. Breakfast and parking were included in the rate, which was great. This was my second stay at the hotel and I was surprised by the reviews about rude service. The staff couldn't have been nicer, especially the restaurant staff. Everyone, down to the parking valets were very friendly and nice, even on a busy spring break weekend. My only criticism is that the gym was not free. There was a $15 per person charge to use the gym, unless you are a "gold" or "silver" awards member. Even very basic hotels provide free gym use. The hotel has all the amenities, but the gym should be available to its guests as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
2,691 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036-5794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £81 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing