We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Hilton, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #94 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Really Nice Hilton, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This Hilton is not as expensive as some of the others that I looked at for Memorial Day Weekend, so I originally thought that it would not be as nice or would be hard to around DC from there. The location is terrific with easy access to the Metro (Farragut Station) and bus lines all around. First, instead of taxis, get a bus pass (Smart Pass plastic card) for $2.00 and add money to it. That's the best way to get around without constantly spending a load of money. But if money is no issue - cab away. There are plenty awaiting when you depart the hotel. The hotel has nice large bedrooms and bathrooms with good A/C throughout, nice large flat screen TVs and in-room safes. While it is not the most modern of Hiltons it also is not run down but has that nice feel of established luxury. There is a great bar straight ahead as you enter and step up a few stairs. Some may think that the bar prices are a bit high, but I think that they are standard if not a little below average for most establishments that don't have peanut shells or sawdust on the floor. Valet parking is available and the bellmen and concierge are also ready and waiting to serve you. The desk clerks are friendly and attentive. Good Hilton, Great price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLHoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate the time you took to review the hotel and share your thoughts. We are happy to hear that our convenient location and friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We look forward to hosting you again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    1,079
    530
    218
    98
See reviews for
682
616
127
1,104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here whilst on our tour. It was a nice easy hotel to navigate around and the computers in the lobby had extremely high speed internet. The customer service was very friendly and the buffet breakfast fantastic. Quite a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendanOldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We’ve stayed at many different hotels over the years and generally pick a hotel based primarily on its location and convenience to restaurants, sites, museums, etc. We aren’t really loyal to any particular brand and have found this allows us to make the best choice in a given city. Based on these criteria we chose the Capital Hilton and it turned out to be a great choice.

Firstly, the staff at the front door, front desk, restaurant and housekeeping were the most friendly and welcoming we have had the pleasure of meeting in a long time. More importantly they all performed their jobs well and made us feel like welcomed guests.

The lobby is surprisingly large considering the height of the hotel and is always bustling with activity from the bar/lounge, restaurant, gift shop, internet stations, and people just sitting in the very comfortable seating areas.

Everything throughout the building is clean and crisp, including the lobby, hallways, elevators and most importantly the guest rooms.

We booked a standard room for 3 nights, with a breakfast buffet included in the daily room rate. The room was larger than average, quiet, the bed comfortable, the air conditioning worked well, ample closet space, a very nice bathroom, and it seemed the room had been recently renovated - everything was pristine.

The daily buffet breakfast was great. It included hot and cold cereal, fruit, muffins, Danish, toast, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, French toast, and some of the best potatoes and onions we’ve eaten lately. There is also a station where eggs and omelets are prepared to order along with pancakes and waffles. Considering the room rate we thought it was quite a deal. As a matter of fact we thought prices in DC were very reasonable compared to our home town of New York City.

There is a PJ Clarke’s and McCormick and Schmick’s within a block of the hotel, and we would recommend both if you want a nice meal conveniently located.

As you can tell from our review, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Capital Hilton and we will definitely return on our next visit to DC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for the outstanding TripAdvisor review. Your gracious comments certainly made our day. We are delighted that our convenient location, room accommodation and friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff but nothing could make us happier than to hear great compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed at the Capital Hilton over Memorial Weekend 2014. The hotel is in a great location only a couple blocks from the White House and short walk to the National Mall.

The hotel exterior and lobby as well as the rooms are comfortable, clean, and updated. The staff was informative and friendly. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Capital Hilton and for taking the time to give us your feedback. It makes us happy to know that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and our location convenient to many of the local attractions and restaurants this great city has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Nation’s Capital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Lovely place. Cozy beds, spacious rooms and a grand restaurant for breakfast. You can easily spoil yourself to the luxuries here. The gift shop is also not to expensive. Was upgraded to a junior suite for free! excellent concierge service too!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank travloggr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. Located in a safe area walking distance to The White House and there is a Starbucks across the street. Everything was clean and the beds were comfy, as we have come to expect from Hilton properties. We really could not complain about anything.

The lobby is beautiful and this hotel has so much history! Lots of presidential and important meetings and events have been held here and still are.

Service was excellent. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JN_WorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Capital Hilton and for taking the time to give us your feedback. It makes us happy to know that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and our location convenient to many of the local attractions and restaurants this great city has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Nation’s Capital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the Memorial week end. We really loved it, the location is ideal, you can walk practically everywhere. We found the staff were excellent, very helpful and the rooms are very spacious. I would recommend this hotel and I am sure we will stay there again when we go back to DC

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate your kind comments and were pleased to learn of your experience at the Capital Hilton. Thank you for recommending us to other travelers!! We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#60 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Property: Capital Hilton
Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing