We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Capital Hilton”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #94 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Haverhill, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Capital Hilton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

STAFF is amazing. My daughter, her friend and I came in on a very early flight. Unfortunately this was the only flight we could get. We were exhausted. Check-in time was 4 PM and that was understood when we confirmed the room. NO ISSUE! At 7AM we taxied to the hotel and were able to store our luggage and get some breakfast from the Executive Lounge. We then went out to start our vacation after freshening up in the rest rooms. SORRY! By 11:00 AM we were tired and hot. We asked if it was possible to see if our room was available. The staff was so kind and understanding. We were NOT able to check in but I knew they were trying and that made a difference. We ate lunch came back and sat in the very nice AIR CONDITIONED Lobby until our room was available. The man behind the desk juggled some rooms and was able to take care of us. Because we were 3 we were waiting on 2 queen beds. At that point we didn't care and 2 Double beds were available and we took them. Didn't even notice and the stay was amazing!! On Saturday I ordered a special tray of fruit, cheese and crackers from Room Service. It was not on the In-Room Dining menu, but I called in advance to see if they could make it happen. I was celebrating with my daughter and she doesn't get to travel much so the fancy room service was a treat. Room Service Staff listened to what I wanted to do and they NAILED IT!!! I was very happy and the staff seemed to enjoy doing it. Price was right as well!!! Amazing Location, the President is your neighbor. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Glen Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to know that our friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff, but nothing could make us happier than to hear great compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    1,079
    530
    218
    98
See reviews for
682
616
127
1,104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just a few blocks away from The White House, awesome service, helpful staff, pretty good breakfast, and got an awesome deal. Rooms a little bit on the smaller side but nothing that couldnt manage a pack n play and refrigerator from the hotel for our toddler things you can request as a special service with no extra charge for them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Gallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

the best location, just in front of the white house on the 16th street. the team are friendly and helping with any issue you may have. the best value for money! please book it directly with the hotel's website and get a value pack: Park, connect and eat. Ofer

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 336oferk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C., United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

While the hotel is in a great location, I was greeted by a rude staff member and this started the entire experience off on the wrong foot. The room I was given was small (by Hilton standards) and in a poor location. It was obvious that my taking advantage of an online deal obligated them to provide me with a room, but that was it. I do have to say that the Concierge was friendly and very helpful. He was the only positive part of my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
I am sorry about your experience at the front desk. I can assure you that it is not standard to find someone at our hotel who isn’t helpful. We strive to ensure our front desk agents and other team members know how much we value your business. I apologize for any issues you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic location! Only 4 blocks from the White House. We were with our 2 teenage daughters and we walked almost everywhere from here. We did take the Metro to the zoo and the Metro stations are close as well. The staff was very friendly as well. I would recommend getting a room with executive level privileges because it includes breakfast. You can also relax in the executive lounge after a day of sight seeing. The only drawback to this hotel are the bathrooms are extremely small but we really didn't mind. Would definitely recommend for a DC visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. Traffic noise can be loud. For a great pizza, walk across the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate your kind comments and were pleased to learn of your experience at the Capital Hilton. Thank you for recommending us to other travelers!! We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is three blocks from the White House. That was my primary concern when we went to Washington DC for a vacation. We found the hotel very pleasant and offered your typical Hilton accommodations.

As breakfast goes, it was disappointing in that regard. The continental breakfast that was included the room had very sparse offerings. No bagels. No English muffins. No waffles.

I also had a very weird interaction with the person that operated the small convenience store just off the lobby. I was trying to purchase a pint of ice cream (priced at eight dollars!?!) and asked if they had spoons. My wife and I was there with my son and I asked him for three spoons. He pulled out the cheapest little plastic spoons you have ever seen and said he could only give me 2 spoons. All three of us were standing there and I said "there are three of us, we need three spoons." He apologized and politely refused. So I put the ice cream back and we left without any ice cream. It was very odd.

That said, considering the location, the price, the comfort, the quality, etc. at this hotel I highly recommend and suggest you stay here if you're going to DC to see things like the White House and the monuments.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BigDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Nation's Capital. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This Hilton is not as expensive as some of the others that I looked at for Memorial Day Weekend, so I originally thought that it would not be as nice or would be hard to around DC from there. The location is terrific with easy access to the Metro (Farragut Station) and bus lines all around. First, instead of taxis, get a bus pass (Smart Pass plastic card) for $2.00 and add money to it. That's the best way to get around without constantly spending a load of money. But if money is no issue - cab away. There are plenty awaiting when you depart the hotel. The hotel has nice large bedrooms and bathrooms with good A/C throughout, nice large flat screen TVs and in-room safes. While it is not the most modern of Hiltons it also is not run down but has that nice feel of established luxury. There is a great bar straight ahead as you enter and step up a few stairs. Some may think that the bar prices are a bit high, but I think that they are standard if not a little below average for most establishments that don't have peanut shells or sawdust on the floor. Valet parking is available and the bellmen and concierge are also ready and waiting to serve you. The desk clerks are friendly and attentive. Good Hilton, Great price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLHoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate the time you took to review the hotel and share your thoughts. We are happy to hear that our convenient location and friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We look forward to hosting you again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#60 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Property: Capital Hilton
Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing