We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location - No free Wi Fi”
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #96 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Columbus, United States
1 review
“Nice location - No free Wi Fi”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location for site seeing - very close to the white house and national mall. The in room menu was out of date, and did not have accurate prices or offerings, but the food was delicious. There is free wi fi in the lobby, but not in the rooms which in my opinion should be a given in this day and age.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Matthew O,

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location and offerings in Room Service.

As you noted we do provide complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby as well as a fully stocked technology center with both PC and Macs. We also provide complimentary in room HSIA for our higher tiered HHonors members. It really does not take many trip to earn this status. Contact me and I will be happy to get you signed up.

Regards,

David Piscola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    1,124
    557
    225
    106
See reviews for
720
648
134
1,153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is well located, and our experience was pleasant. The lobby is impressive, but the rooms could use updating. The rooms also do not block out the sound of the traffic. And, service is there to clean your room EARLY, so be sure to hang the Do Not Disturb sign if you want to sleep past eight.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Loretta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I'm an avid photographer and was looking for a nice clean Hotel to spend July 4th weekend. I have always enjoyed the Hilton Brand Hotels and the Capitol Hilton was recommended by several friends. The Hotel was clean, employees were helpful and friendly and the National Mall was within walking distance. Definitely recommend to anyone visiting the DC area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

When traveling I always look for hotels with either queen beds or pull out sofa or rollaway. The Capital Hilton had all of the above. I requested a corner room with two queen beds and rollaway. We ended up returning the rollaway because pull out was better. Nice size room but very small bathroom. We enjoyed everything about this hotel except it is an old building and everything felt damp..floor, bedding, sofa, everything! It is July and it is hot so we dealt with it but it was disappointing. One of best features was location to three metro stations and quick walk to White House. I would recommend this hotel for families wanting some extra room and convenience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mld69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Big hotels, with business and vacation travelers usually come with elevators not able to handle the capacity. I never think about building time in my schedule for an elevator and I immediately noticed how fast the elevators are here. Seems like a small thing, but going in and out on appointments all day, it matters. Breakfast buffet was delicious and offered a number of healthy options. Restaurant staff are fast and attentive. Convenient health club, Mint, attached to hotel with spinning and other classes. I did not make my own reservation, but believe I may have been in a suite or deluxe room which was very comfortable. Great location to explore in every direction. One flaw-I did not receive a scheduled wake-up call.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WideWorldGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Nation's Capital. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, MA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed recently for three nights to attend a wedding. We arrived at 10 am to drop off our luggage. When we asked about checking in early we were delighted to find out that a room was available and we were checked in immediately. A refrigerator was delivered within minutes, and we had the whole day to tour the monuments. The room was clean, and everyone was friendly and accommodating.
It is an old building, but we were very happy with the hotel and the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The room was very clean-friendly service and breakfast and dinner was very good--I would stay again. The front desk very helpful and the Concierge provided helpful information. The bell service and doorpersons very good with luggage and other services. I would tell others about the Capital Hilton hotel. Its location is very very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate your kind comments and were pleased to learn of your experience at the Capital Hilton. Thank you for recommending us to other travelers!! We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#55 of 141 in Washington DC
846 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,262 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
738 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Property: Capital Hilton
Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036-5794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing