We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality property in a great location!”
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #95 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality property in a great location!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The location and the price was outstanding. Everything was top quality from the lobby to the room. Other than a bit of construction going on outside, it was very quite. Will absolutely stay at the Capital Hilton on my next visit to DC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Nation's Capital. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    1,106
    550
    223
    104
See reviews for
703
638
131
1,140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
RICHMOND, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Wonderful stay, excellent hotel and staff, no problems with anything at all, everyone was professional and nice. The price and other choices in the area were excellent. The location to the area attractions and transportation is very convient

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your great TripAdvisor review and for taking the time to give us your feedback. It makes us happy to know that you found our location convenient to many of the local attractions and restaurants this great city has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Nation’s Capital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Good location, within walking distance to restaurants and sight seeing location (White house, etc.). Front desk personnel is of foreign nationality and because I am severely hearing impaired, it was very difficult to understand them. But I've stayed here countless times in the past and the rooms are always comfy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Floretta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was a little disappointed in the service at this hotel. With the exception of a security guy no one was particularly friendly. My boyfriend is a Diamond member and one of the perks is supposed to be automatic upgrades. We've stayed at many hotels and never had to ask for it before, but at the Capital Hilton, he not only had to ask for it but then the front desk agent then had to check with her supervisor.

Upon reaching our room we were immediately met with a collection of dirty glasses that had been left outside the door from the previous guest. We didn't check in until almost 10pm. There's no reason for dirty dishes from the guest before us to still be lingering outside of our door that late. The glasses remained there until the next day and were finally gone when we returned in the afternoon. On the plus side - it was very easy to find our room!

The room - which was a junior suite - was ok, it's an old hotel and it's a city so it was a good size based on those factors but in addition to the dishes outside, it seemed housekeeping could have stepped it up a notch inside. Some of the furniture seemed a little askew as if the previous guest had moved it and no one had moved it back. One thing, that granted was really small but makes a big impression, was that the toilet paper roll was half gone (totally fine) but it wasn't in a triangle or anything - not even a torn off in the right place but ripped haphazardly, so it just seemed a little less welcoming thinking about whomever had been in there before us.

My opinion really "crumbled," if you will, when I was sitting on the couch and looked down to find the largest collection of crumbs ever assembled between the couch cushions. It was a pull-out and looked to have "clean" white sheets on it and the pillows weren't overly stuffed so I could see it without even pulling the pillows apart. It was disgusting. Thank goodness we didn't need to use the sleeper sofa.

There were other things that just seemed off as well. If you don't travel a lot you may not notice this stuff as much but we travel a lot and as they say, the devil is in the details.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missmelisss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear missmelisss,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. As the newly appointed General Manager, reviews like these from frequent travelers really help.

I apologize that my housekeeping team did not deliver as expected and its something we will work on.

I hope to see you back next time your travels takes you to the National's Capital

David PIscola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergenfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel was a pleasure from the beginning to the end. The bell staff and front desk staff was attentive and helpful. The rooms are very large, and very comfortable- the biggest rooms I've been in in a DC hotel. The only downside is a very small bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaulyaakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the outstanding TripAdvisor review. Your gracious comments are very reassuring indeed. We are delighted that our convenient location, room accommodation and friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We look forward for the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern US
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stay at the Capital Hilton once to twice a month and the staff is amazing, especially Steve in in the Concierge lounge. He makes you feel at home, is incredibly friendly, cheerful, and helpful.
The rooms are all quite different shapes and you can feel the architecture of the building which is nice. The gym, Mint, is a great health club and a treat. So much better than the 4 pieces of equipment you find in most hotels. The location is convenient to quite a few things and convenient metro access.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequenTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Usually stay at the Washington Hilton but gave the Capitol Hilton a try. From the minute Steve checked me in, and he was a helpful presence throughout my stay, I was treated with great care.

Though the hotel does not have great curb appeal, everything else about it is outstanding. Large King bedded room with very comfortable bed. Quiet and excellent cooling system.

Decent sized bathroom with thick towels. Excellent water pressure.

The lobby is very pleasant and welcoming. And there is delicious flavored water during the day.

As an Honors Gold member, I had access to the Executive Lounge. Great breakfast and water and coffee all day. I did not make it to the evening happy hour.

And the gym! State of the art. Among the best I have ever been to in any hotel chain.

A great choice in a great location. Steps to the Metro and sights and short walk to Logan and DuPont Circles.

Great choice. And thanks again, Steve.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklyntraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#53 of 141 in Washington DC
820 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
727 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Property: Capital Hilton
Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036-5794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing