We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable beds and good staff”
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #97 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently when in DC, got a great deal online which included breakfast. Check in easy although staff seemed rushed at the time however the rest of the staff we encountered were excellent especially those in the restaurant at breakfast, we had a voucher with the room which was breakfast for two and they always let our son eat for free at no additional cost which was brilliant and they always made a fuss of him. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice which set us up perfectly before we set off to explore.

The hotel is in a good central location about a 10 minute walk from the mall and nearest metro station which makes getting round DC nice and easy. About a 10 minute can ride from Union Station and easy to get a cab outside, staff always ready to help.

The room was very comfortable and clean, when we got back each day the room was always spotless and the beds made. The beds were very comfortable and we slept well. Free wifi in the lobby but not in our room but this wasn't a problem. Shop around online for deals ours was online from Expedia and was excellent for the price paid.

Would happily stay here again when back in DC.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank GunnaEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Capital Hilton and for taking the time to give us your feedback. It makes us happy to know that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and our location convenient to many of the local attractions and restaurants this great city has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Nation’s Capital.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,120)
There are newer reviews for Capital Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,646 - 1,652 of 3,120 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Our first trip to DC was enhanced by our wise choice to stay here. The hotel is only two blocks from the White House, plus walking distance to other tourist attractions, and walking distance to the subway (Red Line) and buses for the rest. The hotel is really lovely, and the staff was delightful. They made every attempt to go above and beyond usual expectations. If you are terribly noise sensitive, you need to stay away from the city, however. None of the hotels are high-rise due to the building restrictions in the city, so it's tough to get above the traffic enough to drown out the sound---and there is a lot of traffic, night and day. We were also glad we did not rent a car for that reason. Public transportation is far safer and less chaotic. Staying at this hotel you wouldn't need a car---we got everywhere we needed and only required a cab twice during our stay.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor possible since traffic continues night and day in DC.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fallbrookian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for the outstanding TripAdvisor review. Your gracious comments certainly were refreshing and quite frankly very reassuring indeed. We are delighted that our convenient location, room accommodation and friendly staff factored in the success of your visit.
We look forward for the opportunity to serving you again on your next visit to Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Despite the other reviews, i had a good experience there. Room was good and clean. I just thought the bathroom are a little on the small size, but that is something i can live with. I would recommend serving a complimentary water bottle, as this is a small courtesy and would be appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fyassko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We truly value your comments and observations.
We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome and serve you at the historic Capital Hilton in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We were traveling with two young children and booked a double queen room. Primarily so my husband could sleep in bed with one child and I could sleep with the other. Upon check-in we were told that the double queen rooms had all been sold and we were given a room with one bed and a pull out couch. We were told it was an upgrade and we wouldn't be charged extra. I don't care if they considered it an upgrade, sleeping on a pullout bed, with a stained mattress, isn't my idea of an upgrade. This is something I would have done 15 years ago in college, not as an adult.

When we got to the room there wasn't any bedding for the pullout. We called room service. A gentlemen brought a sheet but refused to make the bed "I don't make beds, I'll have the ladies come to do that." Two phone calls later and an HOUR later the bed was FINALLY made of "the ladies." By then it was well past 9pm, an hour and a half past my kids bedtime.

The room smelled a bit musty and the next morning it was apparent as to why - the air conditioning unit had leaked water on the floor in front of the be pullout couch. Nice, really nice.

When I showered I saw small ants crawling on the shower wall. Yuck. I should add that we were on the 11th floor. When I pulled out a folded towel I saw an ant crawling on the towel. Double yuck!

Checkout was also a pain as that the valet parking ($47+ a night) wasn't added into our bill, which prohibited us from gaining access to our car in a timely matter.

The only think kind I have to say about this hotel is that breakfast was awesome. Nice staff, high quality and fresh ingredients, and a bright contemporary dining room. Other than that I would never recommend the place to friends or family and will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZahnerFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

I appreciate the review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm sorry that you received a poor level of service. I have addressed these issues with our staff. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and experience a hopefully improved level of customer service. Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have stayed in Hilton Hotels around the world (including London, Tel Aviv and Cairo), but this one was disappointing. Breakfast was lacklustre and pricey. The room was old fashioned and small and included plastic shower curtains, which I have not seen for many years. On arrival, we were told that our reservation had been cancelled, but on production of my paperwork, a room was soon found. The concierge was helpful but rather slow. All in all, not up to the usual standard.

Room Tip: Get the biggest you can without a brick wall as a view!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us.
We would like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management.
We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I read about slow desk service and dirty rooms and thought that people were just overly sensitive and looking to vent. Not true. The front desk is so slow you have to draw stripes on the floor to see if they are moving. Was at a conference on the 2nd floor - no restrooms on the entire 2nd floor were open. Had to scrub down my own bathroom before using it. Had at least 3 travelers worth of toothpaste all over the counter. Very close to sights with an easy walk, problem is how badly you want to be out of that hotel!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else or bring your own cleaning supplies
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyG520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We truly value your comments and observations and we would like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management.
We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome and serve you at the historic Capital Hilton in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed here for just one night because of excellent location. But this hotel is all about location, as other aspects are mostly forgotten. Check in was quick and room allocated on the 6th floor, facing the K street (no Diamond upgrade). Street noise was high, too high for comfort - hotel apparently never heard of noise insulation windows. Room was clean and quite roomy with a bit too soft king bed. Because of the Diamond status got executive lounge access, which left a lot to be desired, as happy hours choices are really limited, and breakfast (which is what you get as a Diamond) is a shame really, as I have had better breakfasts at HGI hotels... Internet quite fast and reliable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PremiumFlyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I appreciate your honesty. We look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room is an area we are actively examining. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#55 of 142 in Washington DC
917 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 142 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036-5794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £96 - £487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing