We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #48 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Spent 3 nights, Thursday-Saturday, June 23-25. Loved the neighborhood, loved the location. Everything was convenient from bakery, grocery, restaurants and Metro. From the hotel to the Metro and across town to Union Station took less than a half hour during rush hour! Safe neighborhood with plenty of people walking at all hours. The staff at the desk was welcoming and friendly. They offered us free parking in a small, somewhat cramped lot, but the staff actually came out to the lot and helped us and another guest park our cars. We never moved our car during our stay because the Metro is so convenient. We didn't use the bar or the breakfast service since there were so many alternatives nearby. The only reason we don't give this hotel an excellent rating was because the room smelled musty and stale when we checked in which prompted us to got out immediately and buy some room freshener. However, the room was immaculately clean. The housekeeping staff did a great job. The kitchenette was well equipped and again, very clean. The bed was heavenly. The carpet looked stained and a bit worn, but clean. The bathroom shower is a bit strange, especially for Americans who aren't used to having an open shower, but we found it was fine. The shower wasn't real forceful, but it was adequate and we appreciate that the hotel is trying to be "green." It certainly isn't anything to complain about! The lobby seemed busy and bustling but not overcrowded. There seemed to be a nice mix of families and tourists as well as business people. We loved our stay and plan to return!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadhods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Dear Roadhods - It seems that you had a great stay according to your review... Thank you for sharing your stay with us! We are trying to uncover your reservation from the dates that you shared, but would love to know what room number you stayed in. A musty smell - clean room or not - is not a goal of ours and we will correct immediately. We have asked our housekeeping department to walk all the guest rooms on each floor in the meantime. Just wanted to follow up and if you have a moment to send me your email address and stay information email me at mcrimi@greataddresses.com. MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,734 - 1,740 of 2,150 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

Stayed at the Carlyle Suites Hotel from June 23-26, 2011. I loved the location of the hotel, as well as the staff and the decor. This will be my host hotel for staycations going forward. I really, really, really recommend the Carlyle Suites Hotel.

Love, Love, Love the Carlyle Suites Hotel,

A True Fan

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATrueFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Hey there ATrueFan! We are lost for words! (blush) Thanks for spreading the love! - MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Stayed three nights at Carlyle Suites Hotel. Everything was great. From the minute we walked in to the lobby we felt welcome. The room ("234" - a “Grand Suites with Sleeper Sofa” room) was perfect for the four of us (my wife and I and our twins). There was a little kitchen in the room (great when you travel with kids) and a pretty large fridge (compared to normal hotels).
The neighborhood (close to Dupont Circle) is really cozy and only a walk away from all the important tourist-sites. There are plenty of cafes, restaurants and supermarkets nearby. There is a Wholefoods store just a couple of blocks away.
Next time I visit DC – no matter if it’s for business or pleasure – I (or we) will most definitely stay at Carlyle Suites Hotel.
A special thanks to Janice Raub at the reservations office.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reinholdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Good afternoon Reinholdt! We are thrilled that you and the family had a great time in Washington DC and Carlyle Suites Hotel fit the bill! Oh! Thanks for mentioning Janice Raub - she is just SUPER isn't she?! Hope to see you and the family again soon! - MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The staff at the Carlyle Suites have one of nicest and most supportive teams. From the very beginning when we started planning our company event, they were very engaging, informative, flexible, and helpful.

All 15 of our guess really enjoyed their time at the hotel. The food was fanstastic, the employees were very helpful, and the meeting space, as well as the hotel were clean.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharedServices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Hi SharedServices! Its not often that our Sales and Special Events team are mentioned in reviews so thanks for taking the time to do so! (Can't you hear them cheering!?) Chef is grinning from ear to ear as well! LOL! If you have another meeting in DC, make sure you ask for the Miniature Beef Wellingtons! They are my favorite! MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

David and his staff are wonderful hosts. They went out of their way to accommodate my son and I during our stay. I am a very frequent traveler, and rarely receive the courtesy and attention they provided. I look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Dear Devasia - I am so happy you and your son enjoyed your stay! I am just short of putting David's name in lights on our marquee for the shear number of mentions he gets on TripAdvisor! I just hope it doesn't start going to his head! (LOL) See again on your next visit! MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Located among the Embassies on New Hampshire, the property is a renovated apartment building turned into a suite hotel. Very nice renovation. The room was big, fresh, nice corner view of the street, had a bedroom, bathroom, and connected eating area with stove, microwave, coffee machine, refrigerator. Hot Breakfast was $11, a great value to start the day well fed. there also was a nice bar which was busy. Clientele was international. The neighborhood was quiet, college students and embassy workers strolling even late at night, Dupont Circle w/Metro was a 5 minute walk. door to door to the Mall via Metro or Cab was about 15 minutes. Free Parking, although it was full, they gave me free parking at their Sister Hotel (Savoy). Excellent location. Excellent Value. Very nice staff.

Room Tip: corner front rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sachmogoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Hi Sachmogoat - Thanks for taking the time to tell us your thoughts! Dupont Circle is my favorite neighborhood in Washington for both its central location and safe charming DC neighborhood. I wish our parking lot was indeed bigger, because the complimentary parking is a big savings for those that drive or rent a car. We all hope to see you again soon! Warmly - MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We are staying here now, and I couldn't be happier.
When we checked in David at the front desk was so helpful, it was late at night , and we hadn't eaten yet, and he called around to find a restaurant in the area still serving. The parking lot was full (it's first come, first serve) so Jordan mapped out the best place for us to park until we could get into the hotel lot. Giovanni (hope I got the spelling right) brought our bags up, showed me how the elevator works, showed me around the room, explaining how it used to be an apartment building, and where to go for breakfast.
The room is very pleasing, love the separate kitchen and vanity area. The bed is soooo comfortable!! The Metro is within easy walking distance. The best thing though is the staff. Every time we come back to the hotel, we are greeted with "welcome home" , always asked how our day was and if there is anything we need. David gave us the hotel card with the phone number on it the first day saying if we are lost, or just looking for a place to eat in the area we are in, to just call, and they will help. I would recommend this place to anyone staying in DC as an excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Dear Mickm23 - Taking the time to mention one team member is a great achievement for our little Washington DC hotel, but to see THREE names in a review leaves me so proud to be part of this AMAZING team of hoteliers. Please know David, Jordan and Giovanni are all VERY appreciated and your comments just goes to prove how special each of them are! Hope to see you again soon. MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,246 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#63 of 142 in Washington DC
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#22 of 142 in Washington DC
2,191 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,700 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#47 of 142 in Washington DC
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £80 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing