We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THIS HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #50 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

cant praise the staff and the hotel enough!
arrived during the heat wave at the end of July, and was greated with a bottle of ice cold water, staff where super friendly and helpful.
the room was huge and VERY clean
great localtion walking distance to dupoint metro station, adams morgan and georgetown are 5-10min (less then $10 in a cab) for pubs at night time, though there are some in the area aswell.....safeway store 1 block away
would 100% stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublingirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,123)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,682 - 1,688 of 2,123 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

Hotel is immaculate, staff is professional and friendly, room was great. There was a Keurig coffee maker in the room so we were able to have excellent coffee. Bed was extremely comfortable. Location is 3 blocks fom Dupont Circle so there are many restaurant choices nearby plus that's where the Metro stops. We had breakfast in the hotel. At first we thought it was a bit pricey at $12 per person for a buffet but the food was excellent and they have a waffle station and a made-to-order egg station. We only stayed one night but liked it so much that we are thinking of returning so we can stay longer.

Room Tip: Much cheaper during a weekend stay.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FinickyNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

For a FinickyNewYorker we are so grateful for your review! We do hope you return to our little Washington DC hotel to get the full experience. Our Dupont Circle nabe is not only beautiful, but offers easy access to Georgetown and Adams Morgan. Nearby 14th Street, U Street and 17th Street have so many new restaurants, live music venues and nightclubs than every before. Come back soon! Best - MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend so we could explore DC. we loved that it was a suite because there were 4 adults and 1 child so it was very nice to have the extra room. the building itself is relatively modern, although the rooms seemed a little older, but were clean, so we were happy with that. it was nice to have a kitchen area complete with silverware, dishes, coffee pot (Keurig!), pans, sponge and soap. our main complaint is the PARKING! the first night we were there, we arrived around 2p, so there was a spot for us in the miniscule parking lot behind the hotel (probably holds about 15 cars max). but the next night, we arrived back around 10p and there was no open spot. we circled the hotel and searched for street parking, but nothing. after about 30 min of that, we ended up having to park about 10 blocks away in the garage for the Hilton. The fee to park 8 hrs overnight was $30! now in defense of the hotel, they did tell us before hand that if there was no parking, we would have to make use of a public garage. HOWEVER, they said the garage was 3 blocks away (it was 10!), and the fee was $19 (it was $30). of course the next morning when we picked up the car, we returned to the hotel and demanded a refund. they said they had no idea that the price went up (first of all, if you are recommending these garages to guests, you should be aware of the correct pricing!) and they could not refund us, since pricing was at the garage's discretion, not the hotels. they should really come to some sort of deal with the garage for their guests. on the up side, they did give us a free breakfast as a compensation. that was very nice, but it didnt make up for the inconvienence of having to walk so far at night in a strange area, with an infant, and again in the morning. think again about staying here if you have a car...

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Sinme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Hi Mdieguez19 - First off, thank you so much for the kind review despite the challenges you had with our parking spaces (or lack there of!) Sometimes I wish we didn't have the free parking in the back because it is just so limited. We have taken your comments to heart and will work with the front desk to educate them on the parking options in the area. Thank you again and I hope you will give us another try! Perhaps with some advance notice we can offer some additional assistance with securing parking for you. There is another option in the area just 3 blocks away. A public garage on New Hampshire Avenue just off Dupont Circle. Let me know if you would like more information to help plan your next trip to DC! Warm Regards - MarcAnthony!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Carlyle Suites for 5 days. It was wonderful.. The staff was lovely. Very nice and extremely helpful. The neighbor was great ~ I felt very safe walking by myself. It's close to the Metro (a very do-able copule blocks). Dave, manager, always welcomed me home every night. The room was charming and the food was VERY good. Really just excellent. I would highly reccommend staying at the Carlyle!!

Room Tip: The bed was very good.. I slept well here ~ which is saying something because I don't sleep well...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stef-oside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Hi Stef-oside! Thanks for the lovely review! Thanks for mentioning Dave! Let's make him blush even more by telling him how much we all LOVE him! Isn't he just the tops?! The beds by the way... are all made by Tempur-Pedic. They are my favorite too! Hope to see you at Carlyle Suites again soon! Cheers - MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Ten minutes walk to the metro and nestled in a safe tree-lined area surrounded by embassies. Service was great - after seeing our room we asked for a room with a better view and we were immediately offered a better room at no extra charge. The staff were helpful and unobtrusive. The facilities were great and the room was larger than we expected and the kitchen had everything we needed. I would definitely stay at the Carlyle Suites again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inter-City-Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Greeting Inter-City-Tripper! I am glad you were a fan of our little Washington DC hotel! As a world traveler, we are honored you gave us a try and then took the time to write about it! We hope you have a great end to your journey! Cheers - MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights for our summer vacation. The hotel was clean, the room was large and comfortable. The beds were very comfy. The neighborhood in DuPonte Circle was charming and only a couple blocks from the Metro station. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Having a kitchenette in the room was convenient. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmarkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Dear Gmarkb - I hope you had a safe trip back to Milwaukee! Thanks for the review on our DC hotel! We appreciated you taking the time to share your experience. Hope to see you again soon! MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I've stayed in many hotels around the globe but, honestly, nothing compares to the service provided by Carlyle Suites! The simply have the best resident manager I've ever met! Mr. David Trezevant did much more for us than we could have possibly dreamed of! On our first night at the hotel, we checked in and went to the closest public parking and, somehow, in between the moment we got in and the moment we parked the car the garage closed and we got locked inside! I only called the hotel to check if they had the phone of that garage, but Mr. David not only came to the garage and made all the arrangements to have the garage opened for us, but he stayed outside all the time (about 1h and a half) calming us down and making sure we were safe!! By the time someone opened the gate for us, there was Mr. David waiting for us with a smile, bottles of water and a cab!! He was a true angel and I don't know what we would have done without his help!!! Besides all that he upgraded us to a very nice room with a queen bed and a living room!!!! But the thing I admired the most was the fact that he didn't have to go through all of this to help us, but he did it with all his heart and I'll never forget it!!! Congratulations to Carlyle Suites Hotel for having such a great human being in their staff!! Thank you Mr. David Trezevant!!

Room Tip: Great renewed rooms with furnished kitchens, plasma TV, free wi-fi internet
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gihanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Dear Gihanson - As much as the hotel business is an industry, it is still very much about people. It was the reason I entered this field over 20 years ago. David is one of those people that continues to inspire me (and others) that have chosen this career path. Please know that we are very grateful to have David as a member of our DC hotel family and he is recognized for his genuine care and concern for others. Thank you for sharing your experience. It means so much to all of us. Best to you and yours - MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,192 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 142 in Washington DC
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,680 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#22 of 142 in Washington DC
2,181 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#45 of 142 in Washington DC
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £87 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing