We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it we will be back!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“we loved it we will be back!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
nice there and the room had a KITCHEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
A nice tv!!!
Free water on really hot days!!!! Cool waiting room!
i love it i think you will too!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackmissy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,167
    596
    145
    46
    37
See reviews for
583
504
119
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My wife and I went over to DC in April for a holiday and to visit a friend. The rates we got were extremely reasonable, considering the location and the quality of the hotel .

Carlyle suites is situated a comfortable 10min stroll to Dupont Circle and the nearest metro station. The streets are clean and the neighborhood feels safe, even at night.

There is a supermarket around the corner and there are many good places for food throughout the day along the street just parallel to it.

The rooms were immaculately clean and the small kichenette with the coffee machine were simply icing on the cake! Andof course, the famed mattresses were a godsend after a tiring day at the National Mall!

Would certainly stay there again if we were to return to DC.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymooners1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We spent a weekend here in June of this year. The hotel is in a nice neighbourhood and the rooms are quite spacious. There is a restaurant in the hotel serving a breakfast buffet which was not too bad. The hotel is within walking distance of the subway on Dupont Circle. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank got2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

cant praise the staff and the hotel enough!
arrived during the heat wave at the end of July, and was greated with a bottle of ice cold water, staff where super friendly and helpful.
the room was huge and VERY clean
great localtion walking distance to dupoint metro station, adams morgan and georgetown are 5-10min (less then $10 in a cab) for pubs at night time, though there are some in the area aswell.....safeway store 1 block away
would 100% stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublingirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Hotel is immaculate, staff is professional and friendly, room was great. There was a Keurig coffee maker in the room so we were able to have excellent coffee. Bed was extremely comfortable. Location is 3 blocks fom Dupont Circle so there are many restaurant choices nearby plus that's where the Metro stops. We had breakfast in the hotel. At first we thought it was a bit pricey at $12 per person for a buffet but the food was excellent and they have a waffle station and a made-to-order egg station. We only stayed one night but liked it so much that we are thinking of returning so we can stay longer.

Room Tip: Much cheaper during a weekend stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FinickyNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
For a FinickyNewYorker we are so grateful for your review! We do hope you return to our little Washington DC hotel to get the full experience. Our Dupont Circle nabe is not only beautiful, but offers easy access to Georgetown and Adams Morgan. Nearby 14th Street, U Street and 17th Street have so many new restaurants, live music venues and nightclubs than every before. Come back soon! Best - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend so we could explore DC. we loved that it was a suite because there were 4 adults and 1 child so it was very nice to have the extra room. the building itself is relatively modern, although the rooms seemed a little older, but were clean, so we were happy with that. it was nice to have a kitchen area complete with silverware, dishes, coffee pot (Keurig!), pans, sponge and soap. our main complaint is the PARKING! the first night we were there, we arrived around 2p, so there was a spot for us in the miniscule parking lot behind the hotel (probably holds about 15 cars max). but the next night, we arrived back around 10p and there was no open spot. we circled the hotel and searched for street parking, but nothing. after about 30 min of that, we ended up having to park about 10 blocks away in the garage for the Hilton. The fee to park 8 hrs overnight was $30! now in defense of the hotel, they did tell us before hand that if there was no parking, we would have to make use of a public garage. HOWEVER, they said the garage was 3 blocks away (it was 10!), and the fee was $19 (it was $30). of course the next morning when we picked up the car, we returned to the hotel and demanded a refund. they said they had no idea that the price went up (first of all, if you are recommending these garages to guests, you should be aware of the correct pricing!) and they could not refund us, since pricing was at the garage's discretion, not the hotels. they should really come to some sort of deal with the garage for their guests. on the up side, they did give us a free breakfast as a compensation. that was very nice, but it didnt make up for the inconvienence of having to walk so far at night in a strange area, with an infant, and again in the morning. think again about staying here if you have a car...

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Hi Mdieguez19 - First off, thank you so much for the kind review despite the challenges you had with our parking spaces (or lack there of!) Sometimes I wish we didn't have the free parking in the back because it is just so limited. We have taken your comments to heart and will work with the front desk to educate them on the parking options in the area. Thank you again and I hope you will give us another try! Perhaps with some advance notice we can offer some additional assistance with securing parking for you. There is another option in the area just 3 blocks away. A public garage on New Hampshire Avenue just off Dupont Circle. Let me know if you would like more information to help plan your next trip to DC! Warm Regards - MarcAnthony!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Carlyle Suites for 5 days. It was wonderful.. The staff was lovely. Very nice and extremely helpful. The neighbor was great ~ I felt very safe walking by myself. It's close to the Metro (a very do-able copule blocks). Dave, manager, always welcomed me home every night. The room was charming and the food was VERY good. Really just excellent. I would highly reccommend staying at the Carlyle!!

Room Tip: The bed was very good.. I slept well here ~ which is saying something because I don't sleep well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef-oside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Hi Stef-oside! Thanks for the lovely review! Thanks for mentioning Dave! Let's make him blush even more by telling him how much we all LOVE him! Isn't he just the tops?! The beds by the way... are all made by Tempur-Pedic. They are my favorite too! Hope to see you at Carlyle Suites again soon! Cheers - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#78 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing