We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, nice rooms, very appropriate for Washington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #50 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I have come here 4 times now, I always do during January for an annual conference. The staff are very nice, and the cost isn't extremely high when compared to other hotels of similar characteristics. Everything is clean, THE BED IS WONDERFULLY COMFORTABLE (not sure why, but it is by far the best bed I have every slept in!!). Also, the place is pretty close tu Dupont Cirlce Metro and tons of nice restaurants and some cool bookstores.
The only downside of the place is that the breakfast is charged for an additional 15 USD and it's not anything wonderful. I just walk some blocks to Dupont and have breakfast in a nice place nearby.

Room Tip: All rooms I've used are very nice, very silent (it's Washington! When have you heard a honk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlosfpardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear carlosfpardo - We know you have your choice of hotel when traveling to Washington DC so to hear that this was your 4th stay with us makes us all warm and gooey inside! THANK YOU for your business from the bottom of our hearts. The beds by the way.... are Tempur-Pedics! Hey - Keep us informed of your next trip to DC so we can make your 5th stay just as memorable! Warmly, MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,611 - 1,617 of 2,174 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

This hotel really goes above and beyond for the price. Room was large and clean (note: two double beds, although equipped with thermarest mattresses.) The room amenities were really good: safe, free coffee from a Kreuger k-cup machine in a fully equipped in-room kitchenette, paraben-free bath products, and a dressing room off the bathroom which I really appreciated. We had no trouble finding parking in the hotel's lot on the weekend (althogh once we found a spot we didn't move the car again and try our luck!) The staff was very friendly and called not one but two cabs when we "lost" the first one by taking too long. Only compliant is that the gym is through arrangement with WSC whcih is a solid ten minute walk away. Definitely look for a deal online, but if you find one, stay here!

Room Tip: No rooms have a great view, but who cares.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nc1701d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear nc1701d - Thank you for your 5 circle review on TripAdvisor! We are happy that you enjoyed our amenities and found value in our accommodations. The gym as you mentioned is with a partnership with the Washington Sports Club and we went in this direction to ensure that we always have the best equipment for our guests. As far as finding the best deal, Carlyle Suites Hotel has a best rate guarantee on our website or simply email us directly! Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again soon! MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My 21year old daughter and I enjoyed our stay at the Carlyle Suites, my first visit to Washington DC in several years. The accommodation, though not fancy, was roomy and comfortable, the location terrific (it's located in a beautiful residential neighborhood within walking distance of the major museums and monuments but also close to the Dupont Circle Metro stop), the staff exceptionally warm, welcoming and helpful. We really felt at home during our four night stay. The value was more than great (we took advantage of a mid-winter promotion, but the rates were very reasonable without this). Overall, a lovely boutique hotel experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1100md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Hi 1100md! Your review of your recent stay at our hotel was just lovely! Indeed we are not the fanciest hotel in DC, but our clean, affordable accommodation combined with at-home amenities such as full service kitchens, gourmet Keurig coffee machines, free WiFi, and 32" HD flat screen TV's have helped make our little Dupont Circle Hotel in TripAdvisor's top 10. Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you and your daughter again soon! Warm Regards, MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the Carylyle. It's got a very 80's disco vibe but the room was spacious, very clean and had great amenities. The bed was a tempurpedic - super comfortable - and the shower had great water pressure. What more do you need?
The hotel is in a very safe location and walking distance to some great restaurants. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are looking for a neighborhood-feel (as opposed to staying amist the tourist sites).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yohagopelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

I hope when people read about the Carlyle Suites Hotel from such a seasoned reviewer such as yourself, people will take your advice and give us a try! Thank you yohagopelo for taking the time to post your thoughts on TripAdvisor. Hope to see you again soon! MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed at Carlyle Suites for four days in January. I enjoyed the excellent location near Dupont Circle, an excellent price and excellent personnel who seemed genuinely interested in and committed to guest. Also, there was an especially comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Greetings Stephen! Should you find yourself on business in DC again we hope you will return to the Carlyle Suites Hotel! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we would LOVE to have you as our guest again. All the best - MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We have been staying in Washington DC (at Carlyle Suites) for YEARS.
This is the First time we experienced such Horrible service from the Metro System..
Delays of over 40 minutes/escalators out/cards not working/ rude staff/bathrooms out of service etc..
If you have any input to the Metro System.. please tell them that we will reconsider our return next year because of this.
As always, the service at Carlyle Suites was wonderful.
Marie Shively

Room Tip: We always liked the Higher rooms in the Front to get a view of New Hampshire Ave. But if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieSBristol_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Marie! We are so sorry that you had such a terrible experience with the DC Metro! As a local, I can say that its a rarity, but when there are service interruptions with the Metro, it can just ruin your day so you have my sympathies. Thanks for the room tip to fellow Trip Advisor readers! They will appreciate the details and a big HUG for the loyalty. We hope to see you again soon! Best - MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I've stayed at the Carlyle Suites several times in the last 10 years. From single week stays all the way up to two and a half months. My last stay ended a nine week stay on January 8th and I can't say enough nice things about the staff, the accommodations, the location, it's all great. I stay in hotels for long periods as I'm a road warrior and this one is a gem. Fantastic deco digs and perfect, roomy suites with kitchenettes allows me to go out to Dupont Circle or Adams Morgan or stay in and make my own meals. This has, and will remain, my go to hotel in DC.
Thanks again, guys!

Room Tip: Always try to book a king suite, preferably a corner, as they're bigger and the kitchenettes are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadMaxim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Hi MadMaxim - Your review means so much to us! You will always have a home in Washington and we look forward to your return. Best to you and yours! MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,292 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#43 of 142 in Washington DC
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
2,198 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#40 of 142 in Washington DC
1,277 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 142 in Washington DC
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £76 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing