We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Setauket, New York, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel and Staff.”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel in Aug 2012. I loved this hotel, all the staff especially Abou were extremely helpful, they could not do enough for you. The room was clean and the maids did an excellent job. We had a kitchenette in the room which had a leaking sink, it was fixed within minutes. While you paid for breakfast it was the cheapest in the area and great value. The best restaurants were on 17th ave. Trio had excellent food at great prices. The Dupont Metro was close, but if you like walking you could walk to the White House and all the museums. It was a beautiful area where you felt safe walking even at night. The only problem was parking, it is a very small lot, they do have parking garages close but they can be expensive. I will definitely stay at this hotel again as the price was great for this area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Dee! Your 5 circle TripAdvisor review has me and the rest of the Carlyle Suites Hotel team beaming, especially Abou and the Housekeeping Department! Thanks for the restaurant tips too. Some of my favorites are on 17th Street - Trio and Hanks Oyster Bar are delicious choices. All the best to you and yours and we look forward to seeing you again. Best - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,175
    600
    145
    47
    37
See reviews for
587
504
121
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Upsides are the location, which although a fair way from most of the attractions, is in a really nice part of town, attractive and safe. Also when we arrived we were unhappy with the room, and David the manager not only immediately changed it but gave us some gifts also. It is not luxurious, and beware the rooms are not really "suites" because they have only on sleeping and living area. We were with our teenage daughter and we all had to share a bedroom. But for the price, it's very good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pippywee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Pippywee - Your review of the Carlyle Suites Hotel was so lovely. Thank you so very much. Indeed we are not a 5 star hotel, but comfortable, clean and affordable accommodations with at-home services and amenities is what we strive for and I am happy to see that we succeeded. I hope you and your family enjoyed your visit to DC and the beautiful sites and attractions. Be well and thanks again for your review. MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swedesboro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June and were very pleased. We had booked a double room and they upgraded us when we got there to a corner room which was larger with a sofa bed as well. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the beds were the most comfortable that I've ever slept in at a hotel. The breakfast, while not free, was delicious. The staff was very accommodating and very helpful in telling us where things were located and how to get there. Mediombo was especially helpful in making us feel at home and offering suggestions to our inquiries. I feel the area is ideal - very clean and safe. People were out at all hours walking their dogs and jogging, and eating at local cafes. It was very central to transportation - only a few blocks to the metro. If I go back to DC again, this is definitely where I would stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 530AnneMarieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear AnneMarie - How lovely are you for posting a review of our DC boutique hotel! You touched on all the points guests researching hotels on TripAdvisor look for such as the cleanliness of the rooms, the comfortable beds (they are Tempur-Pedic by the way), the great/safe location and the team members - like Mediombo - that make it a positive experience. I will be passing along your review (mostly to show Mediombo off) and to highlight to the team how every guest experience counts. Hope you had a safe trip back to New Jersey. Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Brook, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here after a 14 hour car trip. The staff couldn't be more helpful. We had a room with with two beds and a pull out couch. We requested a cot and it was in the room before we stepped foot it in. The room was large with a small kitchenette. Free wifi was also nice. Parking is tricky but the manager came to our rescue and saved the day! The hotel is small and they really want you to enjoy your stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schubert3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Hi Schubert! You drove all the way from Illinois and you survived the trip! Glad we had a comfy room ready and waiting for you! :) Thank for the review and happy to hear that we went above and beyond! Make it a great week and all the best to you and the family! MarcAnthony + team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nandrin, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Great hotel, very clean and spacious rooms, pretty and quiet location. And the best in the hotel is the staff! They are so friendly, so kind with the children (and the parents too)!
A very good place to remember

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benedicte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
How nice of you Benedicte for taking the time to review the hotel and your recent stay in Dupont Circle! The staff will just love reading this one for sure! Thank you. Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days and it was great. The location is fantastic - you can get virtually anywhere in D.C. that you would want to get in a ten minute cab ride. The rooms are huge and clean with small kitchens to boot. The staff is extremely accomodating and they are very friendly. I noticed many pilots and other airline personnel seem to stay here. That is because the rates are excellent for what you get and it is more like having a small apartment in DC than staying in a hotel. They even have coin operated laundry in the basement.

The location is right near Dupont Circle and there are plenty of nearby restaurants, etc. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: They offer free parking but it is very scarce so don't bring a car if you can avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
We are thrilled to have read your review Suzanne and can't wait to spread the word to our entire team. We take the time to read all of guests reviews and look forward to all comments both good and no so good. One of the things we strive to create in our little Dupont Circle hotel is a hotel experience that offers at-home amenities that cater to families and business travelers alike. From the coin-operated laundry that you mentioned in your review to the free WiFi, flat screen televisions, Tempur-Pedic beds and full-service kitchens. Glad to see you enjoyed your stay. Warmly - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We really did feel at home at this great hotel. The rooms were spacious, clean, the beds georgous and the kitchenette just fine. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Evey time peopöe got back from sightseeing or shopping they were greeted with "Welcome home". The location is perfect: Safe, pretty and quiet area, interesting places close by - you could even walk to the White House, it´s only 20 minutes. You find great places to eat, bookshops or supermarkets in the neighbourhood. We are definitely going to stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Hi Liza! "Welcome Home" is just one of the ways the team at Carlyle Suites Hotel tries to create a unique hotel experience for our guests. I am happy you liked the personal touches and "at-home" amenities such as the spacious guest rooms, Tempur-Pedic beds and fully-equipped kitchenettes. We really love what we do and we are thrilled that we were able to inspired you to write a review. All the best to you and the family! MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#75 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing