We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Unforgettable stay”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My wife and I just spent our 30 th anniversary at Carlyle suites hotel and had a wonderful time .Our room was perfect ,I was not expected the room would be that good .it was very comfortable and great shower. The restaurant and the lounge were also excellent. The entire staff were wonderful and courteous and took care of our needs. We will return soon with our kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amola32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,175
    600
    145
    47
    37
See reviews for
587
504
121
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We spent 5 days at the Carlyle Suites last week and would not stay anywhere else if we come back to DC. We chose it based on reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The room was wonderful and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever had in a hotel! I enjoyed the extra room in the grande king and appreciated the ability to cook meals. On a side note, there was no colander which I discovered after I cooked my spaghetti. (To be fair, if I had asked, I'm sure they would have sent one up). My other suggestion would be a large size frying pan - I had planned to make a couple of meals using one but all that was provided was a small pan. For most of you, this probably is a minor thing because you would go out for dinner, but I like to cook even on vacation.
The neighborhood was great - lots of embassies on tree lined streets. The metro station was about 5 blocks away and around Dupont Circle, there were lots of restaurants and shops.
All in all, a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Our room looked out on the parking lot, so no view, but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Found this hotel by accident - could not make a reservation anywhere in DC for the needed timeframe - after calling dozens - came down to the last call I was going to make.....and voila! Carlyle Suites had the two rooms we needed at the government rate.

Absolutely loved the location! From the moment I arrived and was greeted by David and Abou - I was impressed by the hotel staff. The hairdryer in my room had a short and after reporting it to the desk - a new one was installed within the hour.

Food was good in the bar - bartender was a bit grumpy and not as attentive as he should have been given the small number of clientele when we were dining.

Have another business trip to DC in the spring and will most likely stay at Carlyle Suites again.

Wonderful customer service!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I travel to DC for business/pleasure each September and for several years have stayed in different hotels. From now on my stays will always be at the Carlyle Suites! This hotel is just a few blocks walk from the Dupont Circle Metro and the rooms are large with a comfy bed. What sets this hotel apart from others in the area is the staff. Everyone (with the exception of one grumpy bartender who did not want to share his bottle opener) went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. A special thanks to Dante and Bernadette. Only thing I would change is you need a bottle opener (not a corkscrew, these are here) in the room :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 5 night is was a beautiful wooded neighborhood, my guests enjoyed every bits of there experience wonderful breakfast buffet served every morning, not to forget the special accommodation that we received from the restaurant management (other meats beside pork, plus a verity of earble teas requested by the attendees) specail mention to the very friendly front desk and the great gentel man at the lobby he was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballerinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I recently stayed at the Carlyle while i was on business and the staff was friendly and very helpful. Everyone greeted me and asked what they could do to make my stay more comfortable. The rooms were very nice and well appointed- the stocked small kitchen is a fantastic bonus for those times when i wanted something small and didn't feel like going out. Overall- i would rank this hotel as my top choice for all future visits to the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Mediombo was helpful and welcoming. Rest of staff were also helpful. Good location. Amenities nearby. Small but convenient kitchen with all the basic stuff. Easy walk to Dupont Circle.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moomin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,969 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#75 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing