We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great stay !!!”
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my family for 4 nights at the Carlyle , we enjoyed every aspect of the hotel ,friendly service , extremely good breakfast and a wonderful brunch on Sunday , parking was tight but overall we were very happy !! Kudos

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reyesmercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
From all of us Reyesmercedes, A BIG THANK YOU for staying with US!! TEAM TWIST has quite the following for their brunch every Sunday! We look forward to seeing you again the next time your are in town!!! Have a safe trip home!! The Carlyle Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    612
    148
    48
    38
See reviews for
593
515
123
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights and it is probably the best hotel that we have stayed at on this trip.  We had a king bed room, with a settee that would open to a sofa bed if required.  Immaculate bathroom with separate dressing room, walk-in robe, kitchen and dining area.  Free Wifi was available throughout the hotel.  There was a laundry room with washers and dryers at less than half the price of our New York Hotel. The linens, towels and bathroom amenities were great.

We ate at the Twist Restaurant and the food was terrific.  The hotel is very close to some really great local restaurants and bars so we ate out most nights.  There is also a Safeway very close by - we stocked up for breakfast in our own kitchen.

It is an easy walk to Dupont Circle and we easily walked to the Circulator Bus at P and 14th Street.

The staff couldn't have been friendlier and always greeted us when we returned to the hotel.  I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and if I ever came back to Washington I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stratheden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Stratheden, Thank you so very much for being a contributor with the TripAdvisor community! Thank you for your full five circles and all your kind words. We are very glad you had a wonderful experience with us! We look forward to your next visit with us ! Warmest of regards, The entire Carlyle Suites Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The ambiance that includes an Art Deco decor and jazz music in the lobby is very appealing. The front desk staff is very friendly and makes you feel welcome. The room itself is spacious and includes a vanity table which made getting ready in the morning very easy. The kitchenette is also quite useful particularly since the hotel in in the Dupont Circle area which has many restaurants from which you can either get take-out or leftovers. I booked through Bookit so got an excellent rom rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLW1358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Good evening PLW1358, Thank you so much for mentioning or Art Deco lobby! Everyone loves the Jazz music in the lobby! When you are here again in DC feel free to call us directly to make your next reservation - we always have some incredible special packages available! Our sincerest regards, David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I arrived for the first time to DC from Ottawa Canada today. I was greeted by Mannuel who quickly grabbed my bags & put them away for me. I proceeded down to the bar to get some work done and have a beer; Taj the bartender was kind & watched my things several times as I had to run out for work. The team at the front, Simon & Abou were also great. Looking forward to my stay here!
Your Canadian signing Off

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Good afternoon Sid R, It was a pleasure serving you ! Thank you for choosing us again. From Taj, Simon, Manuel and Abou we will miss you! See you next time you are in DC - The Carlyle Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in a King Suite on 1 May 2013. The room was spacious and big enough to accommodate three people. Some of the receptionists were friendly. The breakfast dinning room was lovely decorated and offered a good vareity of food.

The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood and a bit far from the downtown. It took us approx 1 hour to walk to the downtown although the receptionist told us it would take 20 mins only. We got logged off wifi as soon as we were inactive on the internet. It was a bit annoying that we had to log back on all the time. The lady cooking omelet in the breakfast restaurant was cold and unfriendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe83824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Good afternoon Joe83824, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We review all of your comments with each of our team members in an effort to always improve our guest experience.
Thank you again for choosing us and we hope to see you again the next time you are in DC. ouor regards, David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Carlyle Suites was the perfect hotel for a quick getaway to DC. Situated in the beautiful DuPont Circle we were close to the metro and a huge array of bars and restaurants. Only 2 miles from the national mall, we walked to the monuments at night for a relaxing evening stroll. Carlyle Suites is also pet friendly and less than a block from the fabulous S Street dog park!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Hello Lauren R, Whenever you up for another "Quick Getaway" our door is always open! Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and we will see you soon! Best regards, David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchard Park, New York, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed at the hotel for five days in April.The staff made us feel right at home.The location was perfect..Very close to great restaurants and shopping..Short walk to DuPont circle and Metro.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Hello Jim T, Thank you for choosing us! We are genuinely happy that you and your family had a great stay here in Washington DC! Our best wishes, David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,030 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,607 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#78 of 141 in Washington DC
1,814 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing