We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I had to work on business in D.C. and stayed here one night. Looks like this hotel has been around for some time. Had a "old" charm to it. The room was fairly big but it had sort of a damp smell to it. Had a small kitchen area if you needed to cook. I did not but the small fridge was great for water. There was a sofa bed in the room. It was ok. What makes this hotel is the location near Dupont Circle which is quite charming which shops, cafes, restaurants near by. Beautiful townhomes and a Dog Park near by. Metro is also pretty close. I gave it the 4th star on location alone.

One negative thing could be - getting a cab in the morning could be challenging. You may need to wait 10-15 minutes but they do eventually pass by!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sevensevenseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear sevensevenseven,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate the “four stars” and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 2,190 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We are about to check out of the Carlyle and will be sorry to go. It has been a very nice stay here, with the hotel being in an excellent position in a nice quiet area. Our room was quiet at the back of the hotel so no view but that wasn't an issue to us. The room was really good with ample space for all your needs Nice compact kitchenette - very well designed. The bathroom was adequate with a separate vanity area which was a bonus. The wardrobe was a good size, housing a decent sized safe. All in all, couldn't fault the room and facilities - nice coffee machine too. Wifi a bit hit and miss but not a big deal as it kept coming back. We had an excellent breakfast one morning but catered for ourselves the other mornings; then had 2 very nice dinners in the restaurant, so would recommend this property without hesitation. The staff were all so nice - helpful with genuine smiling faces.

Room Tip: We have been in Room 435 with no noise issues at all. The a/c is ok being constant, so didn't b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Victoria P,
We are so happy to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us. We shared your appreciation with the restaurant team and the entire staff. We can’t wait to see you again!
Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We booked this hotel quite a while ago for our family's 9 day stay in DC. I started to get nervous because there were some negative reviews popping up. I must say I was quite pleased with my stay.

Someone greeted us as soon as we got out of the cab, and someone else loaded our luggage onto a cart for us. Then, at check in, my husband had ordered a rain coat and had it sent to the hotel (we live in a dry area and rain was forecasted), and the clerk immediately brought this out before we even remembered it was to be waiting for us. Everything was ready and check in was smooth, the clerk brought our bags to our room quickly.

The bed was quite comfortable for a hotel bed. The sofa turned into a bed that could accommodate our 10 and 12 year old children. There was a small kitchen with plates, glasses, some pots and pans to be used, and we didn't need these. We did use the fridge for sodas, and kept some small snacks around. There was a large vanity area next to the bathroom, which we liked. The air conditioning worked perfectly, room felt awesome on the low setting. The maids came and vacuumed every day and made up the beds nicely. The only weird thing was the shower, which had half of a door, but I was paranoid I would splash water everywhere whenever I showered. I thought the décor was different but interesting.

The first day of our adventures, we heard a desk clerk say the word "map" to someone, and we headed over for a map, too. He circled the hotel for us, and gave one map to our son, who treasured it, and gave us another copy to us. It turned out to be handy in planning our time and walking distances.

Our room was quiet, we hardly heard a peep from anywhere else. A siren or two on the street in passing... but nothing like other hotels, where I swear the walls are made of paper! We had internet access almost all of the time. There was a day when my son's ipad wouldn't connect, but mine did, and then a day when the reverse was true... and this was all in the room, room 810 on the 8th floor, so there was no camping the lobby for the internet as I had read in some other reviews.

There are restaurants nearby. Around the corner, we ate at a place called Trio our first night. We also used the Safeway to buy a few small food items we snacked on during our stay. There is also a 7-11 not far around the corner, as well as other restaurants and a liquor store if you are looking for one.

The hotel is a short walk to the Dupont Circle Metro. Right outside the Metro station is a Krispy Kreme and a Panera, across the street a Baja Fresh, down a small bit is a Jamba Juice. There are other places around as well, as well as a Books -A -Million on the corner where we always turned to "go home."

We used the laundry facility, and that night we discovered 2 vending machines in the lower lobby: drinks and snacks, and at reasonable prices!! The washer and dryer were $1 per load, also reasonable.

I liked the security features: in room safe, need to use the room key card to use the elevator, also we returned home after midnight one night (Go Redskins!) and the lobby was shut tight, but there was a place for the key card on the wall.

The night before we checked out we asked for a cab to be there at 530 am so we could get to the airport, and he was right there waiting for us when he left. The staff were always friendly and helpful in the few instances we needed to deal with them. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the DC area!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nurseval77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Hello Nurseval77,
We love the way you took the time to describe our amenities! Thank you for the full 5 stars, we can’t wait to see you again!
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, within easy walk to metro. Super-friendly hotel staff- very professional but warmly welcoming at all times. Loved having the kitchenette in the room for a quick breakfast or late night snack/cold beverage- also loved the single- cup keurig since the coffee was SO much better than the usual hotel brewers. Also appreciated having the small vanity area outside the bathroom for use when three of us were trying to get ready all at once. Loved the Art Deco feel and our room (528) was small but very comfortable- the only negatives would be the view (inner courtyard facing other windows) & the lack of a comfy lounge chair (but no real room for one). If you care about the view, request a room looking towards the front of the hotel. Would absolutely stay here again- for the staff, the cleanliness, & the location. An excellent value in DC!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slbpetvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear slbpetvet,
Thanking for taking the time to write this review, we love the five star circles you gave us. We know we will see you soon!
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

My wife, 2 lads and I stayed here for the final 4 nights of 2 wks in DC and NYC - what a lovely way to end our fab holiday! From our arrival all the way through to our checkout the service was friendly, accommodating and professional - late checkout given with no hesitation and help given with e-checkout on our flights. Our room was a really good size - double double with a separate living area (sofa bed), smashing little kitchenette (fridge, hob, m/w, toaster, coffee maker), lovely bathroom and separate dressing area - which was a godsend given out 2 boys are 13 and 11 (phew!). Location was excellent, equidistant between the lively areas of DuPont Circle (Metro and shopping), Adams Morgan and U Street (cafes, bars & restaurants, to meet all tastes).
All staff were so friendly and our room was always immaculate (well, once my sons had gone out!) so not sure how previous reviewer ended up with a subpar room-clean.
All in all I would HEARTILY recommend - both from personal experience as great for families, as well as it being great for child-free parties able to enjoy all the surrounding nightlife.
Thanks go to the lovely management team for making our last few days in DC so great!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nacci2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hello Nacci2,
Thank you so much for your five stars review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We shared your good comments about the staff with all the departments. We can’t wait to see you soon!
Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights to visit Washington. The hotel is centrally situated near Dupont Circle and about 2 km from the White House and surroundings. Supermarkets, breakfast choices, all close by.
Upon arrival there was some misunderstanding about the valet parking for which conditions had changed recently. However, solved in no time when they learned we had booked before a certain date.
Nice and personal reception. Whenever you left or entered the office there would always be a greeting of some sort.
Rooms are ok, plain, decoration not really inspiring. All ammenities present. Definitely a place to recommend when staying in Washington

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Antwerpengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hello Antwerpengl,
I’m so glad your parking issue was resolved promptly with no hesitation. Our Valet started on July 15th and every reservation made before July 15th, we pay for the Valet parking. We thank you for taking the time to write this review, we know we will see you soon!
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

What can i say that hasn't already been said. Hotel is in a great location. Interior is very dated. Staff were helpful and polite. Rooms were smaller than is shown in the photos on the website and not particularly clean. Room was slightly smelly and found a pair of dirty socks when we opened the sofa bed and had to get the main bedsheets changed as they were not clean. Hotel is not as flash as made out on the website. Booked on booking.com, room showed that the sofa bed was in another room. As the 3 of us were traveling we were hoping for that privacy. Sofa bed is in the same room as the main bed and that area itself is quite small. Valet parking exists but expensive. I parked my car down the road at central parking for 25 a night. As public transport is great in DC I didn't need it the whole time so just left it there for 5 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJ_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear RJ_aus,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Carlyle with others. We shared your comments about the sofa bed with our housekeeping department. These comments are so useful to us, because they help us to better serve you in the future. We hope to see you again to make this right for you!

Sincerely, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,325 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,207 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,283 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £68 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing