We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable Du Pont Circle suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Recently spent 5 nights at this hotel. The room was a self contained suite with adequate kitchen facilities to prepare and reheat meals. But the local restaurant scene was so good, eating dinner out was the way to go. But the suite offered a great breakfast solution. The room was spacious, compared to NYC, amenities spotless and well serviced daily. The room was well appointed with modern fittings. The king size bed was quality and really comfortable. The Du Pont Circle area was clean, safe, friendly and classy. A great place to stay and easily accessible by the Metro subway. Likewise, the great city of Washington is easily accessed. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobH2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Hello RobH2210,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we know spending 5 nights away from your home will require a comfortable place and we thrive to providing that place for our guests. I am very happy you liked your accommodation and all the amenities we have in the rooms, especially the full kitchenette that gave you the opportunity to cook your own meals.
We thank you again for staying with us, and we shall see you soon on your next visit to Washington DC.
Sincerely, Simon Attagba, Front Offfice Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,122)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

973 - 979 of 2,123 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Each night when we walked (or wheeled) up the outside ramp way and into "our" snazzy Art Deco lobby (which also offers a choice of a ramp or a few steps to get to the elevator), we were greeted w/ a sincere "Welcome Home" (nice touch).
All the staff are helpful & courteous. And, the apt. bld. has an excellent security policy in place (visitors had to ck.in at desk and be approved by us by phone before staff would use a card to allow them to operate the elevator (it took a card to have access to the stairs as well...NOT inconvenient, rather a wonderful safety feature)!
Very dog-friendly establishment and there's a small yet convenient dog-park just 1 block down on same street (take a right out the front door).
Kitchen fully stocked....stove, dishware including pots & pans, tableware, microwave, Keurig w/ caf/decaf/teas etc.. Dish rack, towels & dish soap all provided.
Nice set up for guests in wheelchairs too since the cabinet under kitch. sink opens & lifts to accommodate (just ask, the bellman will show you all the nifty tricks to make things easily accessible). The bathroom had good accessibility also: functional sink set-up, roll-in shower, transfer chair and strong grab bars (would recommend more towel hooks & racks though).
We had a nice, reasonably quiet street-side corner room w/ a cute kitchen nook w/ table & chairs we used for brkfst each morning where we gazed upon the mostly young professionals going about their business strolling along the colorful tree-lined streets. The Dupont Circle neighborhoods are fun & active (lots of good places to eat) and autumn in D.C. is spectacular. BTW, if you like a nice long walk, Georgetown is do-able....frnt. desk will map it out for you, and G.Twn. is a fun place to hang out w/ nice shops & good restaurants.
The Tempur-Pedic mattress allowed for a great nights sleep & thick curtains helped block the morning sun nicely....However, on that note: Those heavy curtains are a BEAR to adjust by hand and would be VERY difficult for a shorter more fragile guest and must be nearly impossible for your wheelchair bound guests! Couldn't you reconfigure some type of pull chord set-up to make it easier for all?
At the very least, I'm hoping you will consider making a change to ease curtain usage in your ADA accessible rooms.
And now for the only major CON: Parking....ugh! You'll have to pay the nearly $40.00/nite Valet Pkg. fee since the D.C. Dept. of Public Works are very aggressive about their street cleaning esp. Spring & Summer until Oct.31st...Even reading the signs can still be misleading...they may say move off 'this' street on 'this' day at say 9:30a.m., then, you may arrive at 9:25 a.m. and can only stand there & watch your car being towed away to some unknown locale and will have to hang around waiting for the big tow truck to come bk and tell ya where to find it (with the~$150 fines attached!?!). Aaarrggghhh!!! Seems most unfair that no handicapped parking is available in this area what so ever!
Long story short: The Carlyle is officially our new home when in the D.C. /MD./ VA area...for sure!
Thanks guys for everything....we'll be back soon ;-))

Room Tip: No bad rooms available ;-))
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Maggie M,
We thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, your descriptions are just perfect for our hotel, as a guest with accessibility, we want you to be as independent as possible moving in and out from your room to the lobby without any assistance. The kitchenette in your room is made so that, on your wheelchair, you can get access to everything you will need to prepare your meals and eat with comfort.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, we know we will see you again next time you are back in Washington DC.
Best Wishes, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We recently enjoyed 5 nights at this hotel. We got a fantastic deal via expedia, perhaps that is the reason we had a view of the car park, but won't complain as we did get a great price compared to other hotels in DC. Previously we had stayed in Georgetown, but the price was double to this hotel.
Location is great - walking distance to Dupont Circle metro, plenty of bars & restaurants located nearby. Area is very safe with lots of embassies & lovely houses in the area. We did notice quite a few homeless in the area, but they were harmless, unlike other cities, where you can be constantly hassled.
The room was quite large, with a kitchenette which came in handy as we were able to prepare our own breakfast. There is a Safeway less than a 5 min walk for supplies. I enjoyed having the keurig coffee machine with daily replenished pods - great for my morning coffee. Though did take me a few goes to work it out properly!
I do agree with others that the furnishings & rooms look a little tired, however they are very clean & well maintained.
We did find the room a little warm overnight & there was no way to regulate the temp, however there were windows that we could open. We spoke to front desk & were advised that other guests had complained that it was cold so the temp had been turned up.
My partner said that the bed was one of the most comfortable he had slept in.
Front desk staff were pleasant & helpful. We were able to use the hotels laptop to print off our boarding passes to their printer, which was handy. They provided maps & were helpful with directions etc.
There are coin operated laundry facilities in the basement which came in handy, especially after travelling for almost 2 weeks & only doing hand washing.
2 days in a row we did have issues with the key cards to our room. They worked in the lift, however wouldn't allow us to open the room door. After the keys were fixed a 2nd time, it was ok after that. I did like the fact that a key card is needed to access the lift, good security!
I would recommend the Carlyle Suites & if we are ever back in DC would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneKaren67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear MelbourneKaren67,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are so glad that you found our front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. I would like to apologize about the lock issue you had and I am happy we were able to quickly take care of it. We also want to thank you for mentioning our coin laundry facility which is a great help for most long term travelers with family members. I know we will see again so please let me know when you are coming back so that I can greet you!
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

A small kitchen made this an excellent option as for a change from a hotel. Obviously other guests don't use the kitchen so often as we had to call the maintainence man three times to fix a blown fuse and 2 elements that did not work. But he came quickly and repaired everything very quickly. The other staff were also very helpful and friendly.

Good location about 20 minutes from the White House in a nice leafy suburb.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great location....we could even walk to the White House!! Rooms are huge, with a small kitchenette with microwave crockery etc. Shower recess is modern, and large. Everything a little old and worn but beautifully clean and maintained. Bar and restaurant is a lovely and relaxing area, food very good and fairly priced. Some beautiful homes surround, 1 minute from restaurants, Safeway etc. Felt very comfortable and safe walking as is in the Embassy area.
Staff extremely helpful...service fantastic as all staff friendly and willing to make an effort!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hello PeterColette,
We are so excited to know that we have achieved our goal of excellent service with you, I like your description of it "Staff extremely helpful...service fantastic as all staff friendly and willing to make an effort! " As you mentioned, it's not all about what we did but the willingness to make effort, we really appreciate your comments and thank you for sharing your experience with others.
We know we will see again on your next visit to Washington, DC.
Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Ideally located near DuPont Circle and the metro, though we walked to most of the main sights. We emailed room preferences in advance and got no reply. Having said that staff were helpful. Rooms were comfortable and nice big shower in our room. However rooms and hotel look a bit tired. The kitchenette in the room was handy, but the stove didn't really get hot, there was no kettle and the fridge didn't really cool anything - milk we had bought went off overnight. Overall the hotel did the job and so can't complain - well not too much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam007-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Adam007-13,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it looks like we did not impress you during your stay and I am sorry. We thrive to excellence and average is not good enough, I hope you will give us another opportunity to achieve our goals with you. Please e-mail me directly at sattagba@carlylesuites.com next time you are coming back to Washington and I will make sure your stay is memorable.
Again thank you for sharing your experience with others.

Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Carlyle 2 nights for a conference and could not be more pleased. The room was large with a small kitchenette. The bathroom was spotless with a large shower and great Green hair and lotion products. The bed was unbelievably comfy! I wanted to take it home with me! The location was perfect with just a short 5-8 minute walk to the metro and DuPont circle. I was alone and felt very safe.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mmjohns4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hello Mmjohns4,
We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, I am glad your fell in love with our bed, they are surely very comfy. We thank you for the five stars and we know we will see you soon!
Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
3,191 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
1,679 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
2,181 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £86 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing