We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superbowl Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superbowl Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Outstanding hotel--room, amenities, service staff--everything exceeded expectations. I definitely plan to stay there next time I'm in DC. Special thanks to front office manager Karen for her assistance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Jonathan B,
I am very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectation during the Superbowl Weekend.
We thank you so much for taking the time to write this five star review. We can't wait to see you again when you are back to town. Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,164
    594
    145
    46
    37
See reviews for
581
504
119
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stay at the Carlyle Suites when we go to Washington DC. We visit friends in the city quite frequently and this is our favorite place to stay. Karen the manager is very kind and always concerned about the quality of our stay. The rooms are clean and decorated nicely. Our dog loves to visit as well. The location is great for resturants and a cab ride away from DC sites. The staff is always friendly and willing to help.

We have been concerned about the change in the parking policy. The hotel now charges for parking. The cost is quite high for the parking (close to $40.00/night). It is very difficult to find parking on the street and there are no garages close by.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad suite at Carlyle Suites. All rooms are very comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Hello Brian E,
Thank you so much for the five star, indeed the location is just ideal if you are traveling with pets. With the beautiful dog park half block from us, you can easily have fun with your dog while you are in DC. We know we will see you again on your next trip. Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We are just about to check out from our quick 1 day stay, visiting one of our children who lives/works in DC. We were offered a reasonably priced upgrade to a suite before arrival and took it. Of all of the "luxury" hotels in which we have stayed throughout the US this will be one of our favorites. The accommodations were superb. The service from every single employee was genuine and friendly. The overall cost (though perhaps high for some) was a great value. The location is fantastic.Huge thanks to sylvin the night guy who make my husband safe and happy by saying to us "welcome home".those two worlds was welcome to us the night we checked in and we appreciate all his help. We WILL return here on every future trip to DC.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bintou b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear bintou b,
I am so happy to hear that your quick one day visit was superb and we made you feel home away from home. I extended your thank you to Sylvain, he really appreciate you mentioned his name in your review. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Our room was lovely and spacious with 2 queen beds and a pullout sofa bed. The small kitchenette was handy, although we ate at the beautiful local restaurants just a block away. The staff were extremely friendly and recommended the restaurants, and also phoned and made "VIP" reservations for our family of 5 (the kids thought this was fantastic…being called VIP's).
The location was great, a short walk from the Dupont Circle metro.
Overall we had a lovely 3 night stay in DC and would highly recommend Carlyle Suites for both comfort and location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Jo K,
Thank you for a fabulous five star review, I am so glad to hear that your time with your family here in DC was fantastic. We hope to see you again on your next visit! Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I was in town for a conference at the nearby Washington Hilton - 10 mins walk away and 3x the price of a room at the Carlyle.

Attentive staff who fixed any problem immediately. Great price. This is the perfect place to stay for a biz trip or shot family break to DC. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear justin c,
Thank you so much for highly recommending the Carlyle Suites to other travelers. I am glad to hear that you love our location and the attentiveness of the staff to guests' needs. We know we will see again when you are back to DC. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms are spacious, rates are good. Kitchenette with pans and everything. Internet only worked when we put the laptop on the floor. Great beds (tempur mattress). Friendly staff. So I will visit again (and check wifi upfront)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Burt144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Burt144,
We thank you for the five star review, I have a great news for you on the Wifi! we did a major upgrade to our guest network and you should no longer have any issue with Wifi. I am so glad you had a wonderful stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you soon! Best regards, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We spent 3 weeks at the cute Art Deco-style Carlyle while looking for a new apartment in DC. From the beginning, the charming Mr. Abou and the entire staff were friendly and helpful in every way.

The housekeeping staff was wonderful and adopted our cat while he wandered the floor during the daytime -- nice to find a place where our furry family member is welcomed!

The rooms are of large size and a great value compared with other hotels in DC. Having an operational kitchen saves lots of money for breakfasts, snacks, etc., especially for longer visits like ours.

Excellent location, <10 min walk to lots of good restaurants, bus & subway to everywhere.

THANKS for everything!

Room Tip: Hotel is on a quiet street, so all sides are quiet. Some rooms are suites with dining tables and pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickinWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hello RickinWashingtonDC,
It was very nice to see your five stars review, We are very happy you enjoyed your three weeks stay with us, Abou as you mentioned is one of our Best that just loves what he does.Thank you for acknowledging him. We know we will host you again or any family member visiting you in the City.

Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#76 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing