We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pick!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great pick!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The staff was great! My girlfriend and I booked a romantic getaway package here around Valentine's Day, and from the moment we walked in the front door, we felt that they put forth a great effort into making our stay special. Abou, the gentleman at the front desk, personally arranged our room by setting the table with cake (delicious) and champagne (also delicious)- he even covered the bed with rose petals! Upon checking out, KaMaria made sure that our stay had exceeded our expectations. Again, we were taken care of from check-in to check-out. Definitely a great place to stay if you're in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hello Paul L,
You are absolutely right, you can never go wrong choosing the Carlyle Suites especially if you are spending a special moment with your love one. You were just ahead of everyone on the "Romance Package" this Valentine's Day is a great time for such a package. I am very happy you loved it. Abou and Kamaria just love what they do and love to do it well. We appreciate you mentioned them in your review. We thank you for staying with us and we shall see you again on your next visit to Washington.
Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    612
    149
    48
    38
See reviews for
593
516
123
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taylorsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at the Carlyle Suites in December with a large group for my sister's wedding. The rooms were spacious and well kept. Though we had a less than ideal dinner there with a large group the first night (not overly accommodating server/bartender), the management more than made up for it for the rest of our trip, going out of their way to make up for any shortcomings we had experienced. The staff overall was friendly and helpful. The location was great, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Rhonda P,
I am so glad to hear that despite a slow start, we were able to make up for our challenges to your satisfaction. I know if we won a four star, we can win a five on your next trip. Please send me an e-mail directly when you are coming back to town, I will make sure you get the five star service you deserve. Thank you so much for staying with us, I look forward to hearing from you soon. Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The staff was extremely warm, attentive, and helpful. Karen and Abou at the front desk got us all set with printed directions to the restaurant where we had reservations. We were upgraded to a better room without even asking. They even took things a step further and sent wine and cake up to the room for my girlfriends birthday. We will certainly be staying here again in the future and I would recommend this hotel to family and friends

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hello Adam G,
Thank you for taking the time to write this five star review. I am glad to hear that everything was great. Karen and Abou were very happy to be recognized for providing an excellent service during your stay. We look forward to welcoming back on your next trip to DC.
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I needed a hotel room for one night before moving to a hotel that had been selected for me by the organization planning the meeting I went to Washington for. The Carlyle Suites was a very pleasant surprise: attractive rooms, great location (if you are willing to walk several blocks to the Dupont Circle Metro station, which I don't mind), excellent service (a maintenance problem was fixed five minutes after I reported it), and great value. I have stayed in many different hotels in Washington, DC, and I would seriously consider staying at the Carlyle Suites on my next and subsequent visits. This hotel really earned a five-star rating during my short (one-night) stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hello Stephen1204,
I am so glad to hear that we surpassed your expectations, this is what we are after: providing a service that surpasses our guests expectations. I am so happy we met this goal with you.
Now you know where to stay while in DC!
We look forward to seeing you soon! Best Regards! Simon Attagba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night. The hotel is on the older side but they have kept it well. So I'd say it's rather retro including the firm bed (hubby loves the bed though), the two option AC control (hot or cool only), a little powder room (very nice), a kitchenette, a dining table and a couch. So you can tell the room is huge! Service staff are very efficient and friendly. Location is excellent, near DuPont Circle. We walked everywhere, to the White House, museum and restaurants. The only downside is the parking. They only have valet parking which costs $40.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VBPUFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear VBPUFF,
We thank you for taking the time to write this review and to share your experience with others.
It's nice to hear that Hubby also loved our comfy bed. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Washington. Sincerely, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Extremely friendly and efficient staff. Very clean, spacious and unique room with a kitchen included. Definitely a reasonable price for what you get. Enjoyed it immensely! We will be staying at the Carlyle on our return visits to DC.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hello Stephen H,
Thank you for the five star review, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay immensely.
Now that you found your "Gem" we know we will see you often.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip!
Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco, california
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was my second time staying at the Carlyle and once again the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel couldn't be in a better location - a few blocks away from U Street, 14th Street Corridor, Adams Morgan and the Dupont red line Metro stop. A special thanks to Kamaria and assistant general manager Victor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madiba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hello madiba1,
Thank you for staying with us again, Indeed, the location is just ideal for for all types of DC visitors, either you are here for pleasure or business.
We thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. Best Wishes, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,030 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,607 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#78 of 141 in Washington DC
1,814 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing