We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Found a great deal last minute through the hotel (not a website). The hotel staff was very nice, making me feel very comfortable throughout my stay. Room was wonderful, clean, and very comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachellevine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    612
    149
    48
    38
See reviews for
593
516
123
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just returned from a 5 day stay at Carlyle Suites and would highly recommend a stay at this property. If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton don't stay here. If you are looking for a very comfortable, well maintained, very friendly, and well located in a nice area of DC than strongly consider this property. The staff are very friendly and helpful from the front desk, to the door personnel, and the restaurant staff. My room was well maintained and NOT worn (as mentioned in another review). The towels were first class, the bathroom appearing recently redone, the beds comfortable and the house keeping staff made sure the room was well maintained during our stay. The breakfast buffet was convenient and always gave our young ones a great start to our busy days. The cost of the buffet was reasonable (by big city prices) and was taken care of by a wonderful staff each morning. If you are looking for a very comfortable place to base your DC stay at a reasonable tariff strongly consider this property. Jeff

Room Tip: Lots of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bruggesfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here with my 12-year-old son for 4 nights during spring break. The rooms were very clean, modern and comfortable, and we especially liked its location in a safe, quiet residential area near Embassy Row and DuPont Circle. It was a quick 5-minute walk to the Metro. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the kitchenette, microwave, Keurig, and refrigerator were great for quick breakfasts before our day-trips. We definitely will return on our next trip to DC

Room Tip: The forced air heating unit was excellent. We were there during a cold snap, but our room was on a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I was much more pleased the first time I stayed here. The hotel is still in a quiet area of D.C. within easy walking distance of the Metro and DuPont Circle. It still has very comfy Tempurpedic beds. But the room I had this time was not as clean and very, very worn. Moreover, it was on the third floor overlooking a back alley that was filled with noisy mechanicals and the dumpster that gets emptied at 4am. At least that's what I think the loud bang was. I choose this hotel for its peace and quiet, and I didn't get anything close to it this time.

I was also annoyed, albeit only slightly, when the housekeeper failed to restock the Keurig K-cups in my room. When I called the front desk, they told me I could come down and get some. Thanks, I guess. How about you bring them up?

I also have a complaint about their room rate policy, if it even is that. I just don't like it when any hotel advertises a rate and then tells you they can't give you that rate on the dates you need, EVEN THOUGH THE HOTEL HAS ROOMS available. Yes, you can have a room, but no, you can't have it at that rate. While they may have the right to do this, it is a business practice that I find tremendously offensive.

This is definitely not a 5-star hotel. It is probably not a 4-star hotel either. But it is a solid 3-star that needs some updating and a review of its pricing policy before I will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0567cg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear 0567cg,
I am so sorry to hear that your second stay was not as quite nice as the first one. As you already know, this is not the impression we want you to depart with. Please help me know a little more about what happened so we can improve it and make it right for you. My direct e-mail is sattagba@carlylesuites.com or you can contact me directly at the hotel number 202.234.3200 ext 4901.
I look forward to hearing from you soon!

Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel was very nice , great art deco decoration , really nice rooms with tasteful furnishings , the staffs there were always ready to help and were really friendly , the checkin was quick even though i was early . My bed was comfortable , the room was big enough , i had a very nice two nights there . Great location .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucy x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear lucy x,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with others. I am very happy to hear that your two nights were very nice and you found the staff very helpful.
We know we will see you again on your next visit to Washington.
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent 4 nights in a "Grande Double Double" suite. Nice, stylish Art-Deco style property in a great location 5 minutes walk from DuPont Circle, with all the amenities that brings. Staff were efficient and courteous, the room was more than comfortable and spacious having both a seating area and kitchenette. The only negative aspect of the room is that there is only a shower, and no bath.

Otherwise, a very nice place to stay, and good value for Washington.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The location in Dupont Circle was perfect for checking out DC, the staff was incredibly nice and talk with you like a friend, and the overall style and quality of the hotel is top-notch. I stayed for about a week, which was costly for my minimal budget, but the hotel staff gave me a discount to help lessen the load. I highly recommend the Carlyle Suites if you're wanting a great place to stay in Washington DC!

Room Tip: Ask them about getting a discount on your room (military, student, promotional, etc.). Also, bring a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShoe1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,030 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,607 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#78 of 141 in Washington DC
1,814 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing