We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful 9 night stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful 9 night stay!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A very nice, clean, boutique hotel located in a clean, quiet, residential neighborhood. The rooms are large and nicely furnished with a small kitchenette that has a small dining table and chairs, a fridge, microwave, stovetop, and cookware and table ware for 4. We had a corner room on the 8th floor which had a nice view of the city and New Hampshire Ave. We were a little concerned about the neighborhood when we booked the hotel but these concerns proved to be unwarranted. We stayed for 9 nights and enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and neighborhood. All of the staff was very helpful and friendly and a special thanks to Simon, Abou, and Mediambo for making our stay so delightful. We felt like we were coming home each evening. I can't comment on the breakfast or the restaurant because we did not avail ourselves to either one but some of the reviews that I read were very positive. There are lot's of great places to eat around DuPont circle (about 3 blocks south on New Hampshire). We enjoyed the Panera Bread, the BGR Burgers, and the Pizza Paradiso. If you try the Pizza place, be sure to eat at the restaurant and not get a "carry-out". It is great when it is hot and fresh but not so as a carry out. Also, there is a Safeway and a very nice McDonalds just a block or two southeast of the hotel on 17th and R st. The beds here are very comfortable with the Tempurpedic mattresses. There is free wi-fi in the rooms and it works great but you have to log in each day. The housekeeping is wonderful every day. My wife would have preferred a door between the bath and the bedroom instead of the drapes, but it was not a big deal for me. We will certainly stay here on our next trip to DC!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 650savag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear 650savag,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful 5 star feedback with other travelers. It means so much to us when our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and your experience was no different. Our remote location is just the icing on the cake to our warm and inviting atmosphere. I am very thrilled that Simon, Abou and Mediombo took extra care in making your stay delightful! Please do not hesitate to reach out on your next trip to the D.C area so I may have the pleasure of making your stay more enjoyable.
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    612
    149
    48
    38
See reviews for
593
516
123
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a nice, clean hotel in a great neighborhood in D.C. The room we were in (317) was large with a small kitchenette, which comes in very handy for an extended stay. The view from there is of an alleyway and looks across at the outside of the hotel, so that wasn't anything special (to say the least). This is an older, nicely maintained property. The hotel staff is friendly and go out of their way to be helpful, making coming and going through the lobby a delight. Hats off to the management and staff for maintaining such an accommodating atmosphere.

There is not a work out facility on the property but there is an arrangement with a local health club which is a 10-15 minute walk way. The work out facility is terrific and, though I can't believe I'm writing this, worth the walk (or short cab ride) through a nice neighborhood. Speaking of the neighborhood, it's a lovely area in which to walk with an abundance of restaurants and shops.
The Metra stop is there in the Circle and, therefore, so is access to all things D.C.

We particularly enjoyed "Kramer Books and Afterwords Cafe" and stopped there for breakfast and/or coffee several mornings on our way to catch the Metra. It's great fun with a decent menu and a quirky, hip vibe. Our experience with the wait staff there was also very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPLFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hello EPLFan,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay here at the Carlyle Suites.
I am glad to hear that you liked our neighborhood, this location is just so convenient for both pleasure and business travelers. We also appreciate you mentioned the cleanliness of the hotel and the staff for their effort to go above and beyond to make our guests' stay a memorable one. We know we will see you again next time you are visiting Washington DC. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best Wishes, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We just returned from 5 days at the Carlyle Suites. The hotel is in a great location. We loved the neighborhood, it was close to the Metro, and was easy to walk to many restaurants. The room was nice and a pretty good value for DC. The thing that made the hotel so wonderful was the great front desk staff. Abou and Mediambo made our stay perfect. After a long tiring day of sightseeing it was great to return to the hotel and get such a wonderful welcome. They treated us like we were home and that made all the difference! We would absolutely return to the Carlyle because they treated us so well! Thanks again Abou and Mediambo!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Jill A,
I am so glad to hear that Abou and Mediombo made your stay a perfect one. This is the kind of personal service we expect our guests to receive during their stay, and I am glad we met this goal with you. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Best Regards, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel was in a wonderful location, just a few blocks from Dupont Circle and the metro station. The area is adorable, safe, and there are many great restaurants within a short walking distance of the hotel. While the rooms and hotel itself aren't terribly luxurious, they are very clean and comfortable. The extra safety feature where you have to use your room key to access the elevator was a plus.
By far the most valuable feature of the hotel was the service. Abou, Mediombo, and staff were unbelievably friendly and accommodating. Going back to the hotel and sharing what we had seen and done with the staff was a much anticipated part of the day. Thanks to the Carlyle Suites staff for making our family vacation so special, memorable, and enjoyable! Until next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Amy A,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am glad you liked our extra safety feature where you have to use your room key to access the elevator. Abou and Mediombo were very happy to see their names in your review. We thank you for acknowledging their effort to go above and beyond to make guest happy.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Washington DC.
Best Wishes, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dijon, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I frequently use this hotel for business visits, and generally rent one or two large suites for myself and colleagues. The rooms are great and the staff are incredibly helpful.

Over the years, Mediombo, Carlos & Simon at the front desk have provided fabulous assistance -- everything from helping to ensure that I receive packages sent to the hotel, good wifi, flexible check-in/check-out times. A hotel lives or dies by its staff and these folks are fantastic.

The Carlyle Suites is located an easy walk to the Red Line metro stop at Dupont Circle as well as all of the restaurants & cafes that line 17th street (around the corner), not to mention 17th St. Safeway for groceries. Rooms are clean and well furnished & the kitchenette makes it easy to prepare meals when time permits. It's my "go to" hotel for business trips in the DC area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequent_Flyer99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hello Frequent_Flyer99,
Thank you so much for a fantastic five star review. I am very happy to hear that you and your colleagues always enjoy your stay here with us. We thank you for mentioning the great work of the staff especially Mediombo and Carlos. We look forward to seeing again for another lovely stay! Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The positives: great location in quiet residential neighborhood four blocks from Dupont Circle and two blocks from 16th street; large spotless room with small kitchenette; firm but comfortable bed; accommodating staff; bar/restaurant on site; moderately priced for area. Negatives (minor): no ice machine (but staff will get ice); small bathroom; difficult shower controls and weak shower flow (8th floor room).

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kiddoc1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear kiddoc1940,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am glad you loved the location and the overall accommodation. As of the ice machine, we do provide ice upon request, you just needed to call the front desk. I know we will get a five star rating from you on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Wishes, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Please let me begin this with explaining that I was not happy with the hotel when I first arrived, I was under the impression that the rooms would be a bit more luxurious for the price. Sadly I was mistaken. However, I did this an EXCELLENT rating and it is to simply recognize two gentlemen that know and understand what the word Customer Service means. Abou and Mediombo are the two gentlemen that truly made our stay top notch. We only stayed at the hotel for one night, and these two Gentlemen treated us like we had known each other for years. The apologized for the room and they were heavily booked, then Abou comes to my room with a bottle of White Wine for my fiance and (6) little pieces of chocolate. Abou was so amazing he even recommended us a wonderful Italian Restaurant, The Dupont Italian Kitchen, YOU MUST EAT HERE! The food is amazing, the service Top Notch! and the owner is true Gentleman. We were there to celebrate my Fiance's birthday and it was definitely a wonderful time thank you to our friends Abou and Mediombo! From our hearts to yours! Thank you for treating us so well, it will be a pleasure to stay with you again in the future. Oh, and please let me tell you about the bed...Oh MY! This was the most incredible wonderful sleep that I have had in year. King Sized Tempurpedic Foam Mattress, that was pretty amazing.


Cheers,

Andrew Lausen

Room Tip: Ask for Mediombo or Abou and they will treat you like the king or queen that you are! Trust Me! Tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Andrew L,
It's just an honor for me to have team members like Abou and Mediombo. The Staff just love what they do and do it with passion and personal touch. I am glad Abou and Mediombo turned your sad impression into a memorable birthday celebration. Please let me know next time you are here so I can personally meet you. We look forward to seeing again. Best Wishes, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,030 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,607 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#78 of 141 in Washington DC
1,814 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing