We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I spent a week at this hotel and were very pleased with our stay. The staff is very helpful, attentive, and professional. When we experienced an electrical problem with our stove and refrigerator, the staff quickly resolved the issue and compensated us with a free breakfast voucher. They also left champagne and cake in our room to celebrate my wife's birthday. The suite is roomy and the mattress was very comfortable. The walk-in closet was useful, especially for a longer stay like ours. The kitchen is small but functional, The location was great, set in a nice neighborhood that is only 4 to 5 blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro station. We look forward to staying there again on our next visit to D.C.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hello JB1892,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with others. I am happy to hear that you had a great time with us and found the staff to be very helpful, attentive, and professional. This is what we are after and I am glad we met this goal with you. I am glad you loved the champagne and the cake we had in the room for your wife's birthday. It was a pleasure for us to be part of this special celebration of your wife. I know we will see you again on your next visit to Washington DC. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best Wishes, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

854 - 860 of 2,188 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had about 50 guests stay here over the weekend of our wedding nearby at the Josephine Butler Parks Center. Besides the hotel being beautiful and clean and the staff being so friendly and helpful we ate at the restaurant a few times and used the bar for guests to meet at after the rehearsal dinner and after the wedding. It was the perfect space and our guests had so much fun. We also had a great breakfast the day after the wedding. Megan Carbone, the Sales and Services Manager was extremely attentive and flexible and helped me to figure out all the details. On the morning of the wedding when we couldn't get a cab quickly, Eyob, a wonderful valet, ended up driving me personally, in my wedding dress, to the park for photos. Victor, the Assistant General Manager was quite helpful with any questions we had as well. The other great thing about the Carlyle is the location which is in walking distance of 18th Street, Connecticut Ave, U Street and 14th Street restaurants and shops. And I should also mention the memory foam beds: heaven! And the rooms with kitchens: perfect for a family with kids!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank admdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hello admdarling,
It just feels nice to hear that we were part of those who made this special moment of yours a success. Megan is just great in coordinating these kind of events and we are please to have her in our team. Of course I shared this with Eyob and Victor, they were all pleased to hear that you are happy and loved our service. We know we will see you again so do not hesitate to contact any of us if we can be for any assistance. Sincerely, Simon Attagba Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We recently stayed a week at the Carlyle Suites Hotel, while we saw it all in Washington DC. What a find! The staff and service were first class. Abou and Bria really took very good care of us. Best of all, was the restaurant recommendation Abou gave us for the DuPont Kitchen, a great Italian restaurant about two blocks away from our hotel. Another wonderful surprise was the kitchenette in our room, complete with micro wave refrigerator, sink and dishes; just right for a light breakfast or room service for a relaxing dinner, after a hard day of sight seeing. All in all, a great stay. Greg and Dianne

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Greg P
Thank you for your wonderful five star feedback! I am extremely pleased that that you were able to experience the high service level that we aim to exceed every day and of course our in room amenities are just an added bonus. Abou and Bria could not be more thrilled that you had an awesome stay in Washington D.C due to their care and attention. I surely hope you get the opportunity to return and when you do, please do not hesitate to contact me so I may extend another warm welcome!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel is very convenient to all the tourist areas of Washington. The staff were great as our booking (and payment) was lost somewhere in the ether, but they still honored it without question. The memory foam mattress was very different, but we both slept very well. Overall, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Tony R,
Thank you for sharing this five star review with others. I am happy to hear that you had a great stay and the staff was very helpful at check in. For us, no matter who drops the ball you come first and I am happy we were able to straight things out quickly to accommodate you. We look forward to your next visit in DC. Sincerely, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had an excellent stay over a weekend. The staff is very friendly, the room we had was large and the mattresses were comfy memory foam. Don't expect a five star, but this is a terrific bargain and will definitely return. Beautiful location too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 89Streetwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear 89Streetwalker,
Thank you for sharing your nice four star review about our property!! I am thrilled you had an overall enjoyable stay. Our rooms are certainly very accommodating and I am glad you were able to enjoy that. Five star upgrades for our Art-Deco Pride and Joy are in progress so please keep us on the list for your next visit to the Nation’s Capital.
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed for only one night as we were there for our daughter's GW graduation. Wish we could have stayed longer. The staff was excellent, genuinely nice to us and our little dog. A perfect weekend, thanks to this lovely place. We will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Karen D
Thank you for sharing your wonderful five star review with other travelers! I am thrilled we were able to make this short visit such a special one for your family. We love hosting pets here and pride ourselves on being pet friendly. We certainly hope that you have the opportunity to return for a longer period on your next visit so we may extend the wonderful service that you deserve!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for five days in April. The hotel was great, and very helpful in arranging a surprise bottle of champagne on arrival. A great location and only a couple of blocks from the DuPont Circle metro. The room was a good size, and staff were always friendly and helpful

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank quadrophenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear quadrophenic,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay here at the Carlyle. I am glad to hear that everyone was helpful in arranging the surprise champagne on arrival, and you found the location very convenient. I know we got four star this time with you, please take another moment if you could to share with me some ideas on how we could get a five stars on your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,322 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,207 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
1,283 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £67 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing