We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #48 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Everything is very good and clean and very friendly team work and helpful Abou, kamaria, lizann and Bria they are so kind and everything is perfect , and the room is very clean and they clean it every day and it's very big comfortable I reccomand this hotel you will enjoy your time and it's very close from everything in washington d.c

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear dandi101,
I am so happy to hear that everything was good and clean and the staff was very helpful all around.
Abou, kamaria, lizann and Bria could not be happier when I shared this review with them. We thank you so much for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is usually described as three star online, so I was pretty much completely blown away when I walked into the room. Glass and granite finishes all over a spacious room with a full kitchenette, complete with double-burner electric stovetop, cookware, flatware, etc. In-wall bedside lighting fixtures with dimmers. Full vanity separated from the bathroom by a door. Single-cup Keurig for morning coffee. Add to this the amazing deco lobby with bar and restaurant and I don't really see how you could categorize this place as three stars. The neighborhood is great, too, and we found easy street parking on a weeknight. Wish I could have stayed longer, will definitely consider this hotel next time I go to D.C.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sobachnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Sobachnikov,
Thank you for sharing your positive review regarding your recent stay at the Carlyle Suites! I am beyond pleased that we exceeded your expectations with our spacious room accommodations and superb furnishings and it is no longer a well-kept secret that we have surpassed 3 stars! We truly appreciate the compliments. I am also glad that you easily found parking on a weeknight in our remote location without any issues-well done! We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our full-service Art Deco hotel!!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel was great. The room was clean and practically soundproof with excellent and always courteous service. Dupont circle is a good location and safe in all directions for families. The metro is only a 10 minute walk with plenty of shops, cafe's and restaurants on the way. We stayed a week and enjoyed every aspect of the visit. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyL1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear AmyL1109
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback regarding your stay with us at the Carlyle Suites! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations and the surroundings which always sum up a terrific travel experience! The service is truly the icing on the cake and it makes us proud that you experienced the high level of customer service which we strive to deliver daily. We look forward to your return visit soon!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed in Washington for a week and booked with Carlyle Suites Hotel. Our room was quite big, with two double beds (well, I'd call them 1.5 beds, but nevermind), a sofa with a coffee table and two chairs, a kitchenette and a small wardrobe.

It was very convenient to have all this space and the kitchenette. The beds and the pillows were very comfortable.

The hotel staff is very friendly, always available to help you.

The breakfast is alright, but would benefit from some additional items such as cheese or some ham. As it is, I didnt think it was worth the price.

It would have been really great to have a kettle in the room (there was a coffee machine, but nothing for tea-drinkers). Also, we had some cleaning product, but no sponge, so we were unable to clean the dishes we already used.

Last, but not least, we were missing having some bottled water in the room. There is a vending machine in the basement, but it was quite tedious to always go there and buy 0.6l size bottles. Maybe the hotel should consider installing a fountain at the reception area with filtered water.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear J M,

Thank you for sharing your review on this wonderful platform with other travelers. I am pleased that there were many elements of the room and accommodations, such as the kitchenette and furniture that you enjoyed. Although we currently have cleaning cloths only available in the Kitchenettes, if a sponge is preferred, we would have been pleased to provide along with the kettle. Your feedback regarding Twist was shared with our restaurant Manager/Owner, Mouchine, who will certainly be applying feasible changes very soon to ensure overall guest satisfaction. I will be sure to share the accolades with my team so we may continue on this path of friendliness and attentiveness - they will be thrilled! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Carlyle Suites soon!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while in Wash DC. It is a short walk to Dupont Circle. The room was large, the bath small but with a dressing area and very large mirror just outside of the bathroom. No problem for 2 people getting ready. The room and bath was very clean. The room was a bit dark for my tastes and the lighting near the bed was not great. There was a small effiency kitchen, sink micro, coffeemaker with cups, dishes, silverware, etc. There was also a table and 2 chairs along with a small sofa and chairs. Would have been nice if there were sheers along with the blackout curtains. I didn't like the decor of the room but it is an Art Deco bldg. and the decor is done in that style. But what makes this hotel so great is their customer service. Everyone (and I mean everyone) we encountered acted as if they really loved their job. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors and at the front or rear of the building. Those rooms should get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darymilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Darymilk,
Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us at the Carlyle Suites! We will gladly take the claim to fame of this specially titled book "They wrote the book on customer service." and I am beyond thrilled that every staff interaction made confirmed that we set the standard high. We always aim to please with smiling faces at every encounter and I am very pleased you noticed and was able to experience this. We will certainly refer to your feedback and suggestions regarding the décor once we reach the remodeling phase to make vast improvements for you while maintaining our Art Deco characteristics. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Good hotel near DuPont Circle (allowing easy access to the city), but nothing exciting about it. The room was of an adequate size for 2 persons with 2 large suitcases, albeit the bed was slightly on the narrow side. The room has a fully equipped kitchenette. The shower has very good water pressure. Good free wifi everywhere in the hotel. Overall, a solid choice for a short stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnycy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear sunnycy,
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am pleased that overall you found our property to be a “solid choice” with our fully equipped kitchenettes, free consistent wifi service and a wonderful location. We certainly appreciate your concerns about our bedding but rest assure, in addition to our double rooms, King size rooms are also available for added comfort. I certainly hope you will visit us again and allow me the opportunity to make your stay more exciting.
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Recently we stayed at the Carlyle Suites during our vacation. We selected this hotel from previous reviews. The hotel is located within 4 to 5 blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro Station. Upon checking in Bria indicated she was going to "upgrade" us. Not sure what that entailed but our room was on the back side of the hotel. We were not bothered by any street noise although we felt this was a rather quiet neighborhood. The room was complete with a kitchenette which included a keurig coffee machine, toaster, fridge, plates & pans. There is a CVS located near the Metro which we picked up some breakfast items. We felt very safe in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeepTheMotorRunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear KeepTheMotorRu,
I am glad to hear that what reviewers are saying about us is true and you found it helpful. Thank you for sharing your experience with others as well. Now you have a place to stay while in DC. Let me next time you are coming so I can say hello. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,242 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#63 of 142 in Washington DC
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#22 of 142 in Washington DC
2,190 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,698 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#47 of 142 in Washington DC
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £80 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing