We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Employee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Employee”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Simon Michelle was so understanding and helpful during our stay. Plan to return. Hotel has a retro vibe and rooms are well appointed. Only down side was that our room had a table and two stools rather than a chair and desk. Mini kitchen was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank augsbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear augsbut,
Thank you for your five star review. It is pleasing to know that part of our dream team, Michelle and Simon made a great impact in making your stay enjoyable with their helpfulness. On your next visit, please be certain to mention your preferred room would be one with a chair and a desk, as some rooms are furnished in that fashion. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Carlyle Suites, Washington, D.C.
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,221
    632
    154
    50
    38
See reviews for
607
533
130
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our family of five (two parents, three teenagers) stayed at the Carlyle Suites Hotel for three nights during June 2014 and we found the staff to be most helpful. Rebecca at the front desk was particularly welcoming.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Peter L
Thank you for sharing your five star review with other travelers. It is quite gratifying to read how helpful you found our team to be, particularly Rebecca. I am sure she will be thrilled about your feedback, as it is certainly reassuring to know that great service is offered at every opportunity and Rebecca made sure you felt welcomed. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon to the Carlyle Suites, Washington, D.C.
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh,UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotels delivers surprisingly spacious rooms, an extremely comfortable bed and the kitchenette (which is great to cool the beers!). The location is also very good with loads of cafés and restaurants and the DuPont Circle Metro within easy walking distance. The decor is a bit tired and bathroom could have been a bit cleaner on arrival, but overall excellent value for the price.

Room Tip: Not do do with the rooms, but if you are going to the Metro, go for the entrance on Q street, it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Gordon_Edinburgh
Thank you for sharing your feedback with other travelers in this community. I am delighted that you were overall pleased with our spacious and comfy accommodations along with our location-good value for money indeed! I am truly sorry that bathroom fell a little short of your expectations and I will ensure that our housekeeping dream team is fully aware so our standards could be highly maintained. We are truly fortunate to be one of the few Art Deco Hotels in Washington, D.C and we take great pride in maintaining its attributes but will certainly refer to your feedback during our remodeling phase. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Carlyle Suites, Washington, D.C.
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastchester, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff & service was very responsive to our needs :) I highly recommend this place, located in the heart of Dupont Circle! Big clean room and wonderful staff. Thank you Abou & Bria for such kind service. We will definitely be back again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaK1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear AnnaK1027
Thank you for your wonderful five star review. I am thrilled that you were pleased overall with our location, facility and most importantly, friendly staff. I will be certain to share your feedback with the team, particularly Abou and Bria on what an outstanding service impression they left with you. We hope to welcome you back to the Carlyle Suites, Washington in the very near future.
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Artistic hotel with very helpful staff. Abou at the front desk was polite, kind, and helpful. There was also an incident with a rowdy guest that they handeld professionally and in a way that did not detract from other guests visits. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medicjim86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear medicjim86,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review about the Carlyle Suites Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time spent with us with all the help of our super star Abou. I will be certain to share your kind feedback with him. I am sorry you had to witness some unkempt behavior but also respected the manner in which it was dealt, which I am sure further confirms the level of service we aim to maintain. On your next trip to Washington, D.C., please visit our wonderful Art Deco Hotel; I would certainly like the opportunity to welcome you back!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Carlyle is now one of our top hotels. The staff is so friendly and accessible. Smiles everywhere in this place, and the crew hailing taxis in the morning just set the tone for the day with their personalities and kindnesses. We loved staying here and we give it our highest recommendation. The location can't be beat: just a short walk to Dupont Circle, public transportation, and many interesting restaurants...We look forward to our return and we will plan our dates making sure we can stay at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Our room had a vanity area off the bath and a really nice kitchenette. There was a table and four c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Sukat72,
Thank you for such an awesome review about our dear Carlyle Suites Hotel. Having your highest recommendation is all we can ask for and it truly means a lot having impressed you with our personalities and kindness. Our remote location is perfect, as you said with easy access to all the major attractions. We certainly enjoy or jobs here and cannot help but express that through our work with smiles. On your next trip Washington, D.C, it is my sincere hope to see you again at our beautiful Art Deco hotel!!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Front desk staff and Management could not have been nicer or more helpful from the moment we arrived up until we checked out. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Simon and Rebecca were great! Everyone was very nice. Room was very nice, a good size, comfortable beds and had all amenities. Could not have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmie69mbiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Kimmie69mbiya
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with other travelers. It warms my heart to know that your stay could not have been better. We are consistently aiming to exceed your expectations and I am pleased that Simon and Rebecca played a major role is ensuring your stay was an overall success. Please, come visit us again on your next trip to Washington, D.C. I look forward to welcoming you back!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
3,129 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,652 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,165 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#75 of 141 in Washington DC
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing