We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay elsewhere”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

With so many other choices in DC, this hotel should probably be bypassed. The location is less than desirable if your goal is to see the main DC attractions. Most rooms have terrible views-all of ours faced brick walls-, the rooms were hot, even with the A/C on as cold as it could go. Granted, it was in the high 80's during our stay and we were on an upper level floor, but the room temp was barely tolerable. We even switched rooms, and the issue remained. Also, do not expect coffee in the lobby in the mornings or anything similar in terms of "extras". The only coffee option is with the breakfast in the hotel's cafe. The breakfast is $15 per person-no other options. No concierge or other guest services except for a doorman and valet. The bathrooms are tiny, barely enough room to set down a toothbrush without having it fall right into the toilet. The staff is friendly and helpful
enough and the hotel is clean, however those two features did not make up for the other drawbacks. Although not awful, I would not return to stay here again if we visit DC in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westside3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear ASW3kids,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am pleased that overall you found our staff to be helpful, friendly and the accommodations clean. I apologize for the disappointment you found in the room temperature and I wished the outcome would have been more positive however will be sure to address this with our Engineer-Chief. Our location is usually enjoyed mostly, due to it mainly being quite, yet easily accessible to the Metro Station; I am truly sorry you found no favor here.
Although coffee may not be available in our lobby, there is courtesy coffee and coffee makers in each guest room for your convenience and our Front Desk hosts are all very knowledgeable on all the nearby eateries and attractions. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Carlyle Suites for an awesome experience!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    632
    154
    50
    38
See reviews for
608
533
130
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

i just completed my 4th stay at the Carlyle. I had a reservation for friday through Sunday but showed up in DC a day early. Michalla and Liz Ann worked with me to get me a very nice room for thursday night and then helped me transfer to a larger room for the weekend. They could not have been more helpful.

The rooms, as always, were clean and extremely functional a.
I will always use the carlyle on my dc stays.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 773richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear 773richard,
Thank you for such a fantastic 5 star review! It truly means so much to us when our guests, even after 4 visits remain extremely impressed and satisfied. This reassures us that we are maintaining a high level of customer satisfaction and will continue to raise the bar. I am beyond elated that Michelle and myself played a major role in getting you better accommodated and made an overall positive impact on your visit to the Carlyle. We certainly hope that if any nature of travel allows you back to Washington, D.C., the Carlyle would be you go to place, as we would love the opportunity to welcome you back for the 5th time!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good location in the North West of the City. A 10 minute walk to the Metro and easy ride into the centre, OR, a half hour walk direct into the heart of the City. The hotel is very clean and tidy and is functional. The staff are helpful re directions. The neighbourhood is very smart with Embassies and young professionals who live all around. I felt very safe here. Two blocks one way is the Gay area with great restaurants and bar. Two blocks the other way are also very good restaurants and bars. A few blocks north is a busy area again with interesting bars and restaurants, check out Bens chilli bar. The Metro is very easy to use. Suggest visiting Lincoln Memorial and all the sights in this area, many of the memorials are very moving. Ease up to Capital Hill and all around there, We did both the Senate and the other main areas there as well. We also visited the Pentagon and the memorial nearby, again very moving. You need to book the Capital Hill and the Pentagon in advance. We also went to the Arlington cemetery which was beautiful. Try to catch the changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unknown soldiers. Exceptional. We also took the river boat down to Alexandria, definitely worth going, especially to the old factory on the water front which had been converted into a artistic area of very talented people. The town is also beautiful, harbour end.
We walked and walked Washington and it is really only the best way to see it. One of the highlights of my holiday.

Room Tip: At the front for a view of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oracleviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear oracleviking,
Thank you for sharing your review with other travelers. We are very fortunate to be in such a wonderful location; Dupont Circle, with easy access to all the major attractions and fantastic dining options. I am very pleased that you were able to take full advantage of our proximity to it all. I will be sure to share your feedback with our team members of their directional skills. We certainly hope we get the opportunity soon to welcome you back to the Carlyle Suites, Washington, D.C.
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Spent nine nights in the hotel; surprisingly quiet for a city location. Staff helpful and pleasant. Room was as described; ours included a nice,small kitchen area. Comfortable king bed in our room. Sofa was a little worn but rest of room was very nice. Extremely heavy desk chair, which was hard to move and made it inconvenient to use. The included breakfast was very good and included made to order omelets and waffles most mornings, fresh fruit, juices, a variety of breads, bacon, sausage, potatoes, cereals, yogurt, etc.
Staff were friendly and helpful; some spoke very limited English but were quick to find someone who could. About three long blocks from the Metro Station. Taxi ride from Reagan airport was under $25.00. Many restaurant options within walking distance. Embassy row near by; very nice neighborhood. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the small parking area; very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolandrevenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear rolandrevenger,
Thank you for sharing your review with other travelers. I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed well over a week’s stay with us at the Carlyle Suites, Washington, D.C. We are quite fortunate to be in a remote location which is very quiet, yet easily accessible to nearby attractions. I will be sure to share your feedback regarding your breakfast at Twist with the owner and management team, he will be thrilled! I apologize about any shortcomings you experienced with the desk chair and would have been able to provide a replacement at any time to make your accommodations more comforting. We will certainly love the opportunity to welcome you back to our Art Deco pride and joy!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Simon Michelle was so understanding and helpful during our stay. Plan to return. Hotel has a retro vibe and rooms are well appointed. Only down side was that our room had a table and two stools rather than a chair and desk. Mini kitchen was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank augsbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear augsbut,
Thank you for your five star review. It is pleasing to know that part of our dream team, Michelle and Simon made a great impact in making your stay enjoyable with their helpfulness. On your next visit, please be certain to mention your preferred room would be one with a chair and a desk, as some rooms are furnished in that fashion. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Carlyle Suites, Washington, D.C.
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our family of five (two parents, three teenagers) stayed at the Carlyle Suites Hotel for three nights during June 2014 and we found the staff to be most helpful. Rebecca at the front desk was particularly welcoming.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Peter L
Thank you for sharing your five star review with other travelers. It is quite gratifying to read how helpful you found our team to be, particularly Rebecca. I am sure she will be thrilled about your feedback, as it is certainly reassuring to know that great service is offered at every opportunity and Rebecca made sure you felt welcomed. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon to the Carlyle Suites, Washington, D.C.
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh,UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotels delivers surprisingly spacious rooms, an extremely comfortable bed and the kitchenette (which is great to cool the beers!). The location is also very good with loads of cafés and restaurants and the DuPont Circle Metro within easy walking distance. The decor is a bit tired and bathroom could have been a bit cleaner on arrival, but overall excellent value for the price.

Room Tip: Not do do with the rooms, but if you are going to the Metro, go for the entrance on Q street, it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Gordon_Edinburgh
Thank you for sharing your feedback with other travelers in this community. I am delighted that you were overall pleased with our spacious and comfy accommodations along with our location-good value for money indeed! I am truly sorry that bathroom fell a little short of your expectations and I will ensure that our housekeeping dream team is fully aware so our standards could be highly maintained. We are truly fortunate to be one of the few Art Deco Hotels in Washington, D.C and we take great pride in maintaining its attributes but will certainly refer to your feedback during our remodeling phase. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Carlyle Suites, Washington, D.C.
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,133 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,166 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,652 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#77 of 141 in Washington DC
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing