We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but quiet place with large rooms in a nice neighborhood.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #52 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple but quiet place with large rooms in a nice neighborhood.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

If you're thinking there's anything grand about this place, there's not, but I didn't mind. You can tell it's an old place that they've brought back to life with paint and new finishes. It's got an older deco feel.
What's important to me is that it is clean and well-maintained. I found it quiet too, which was most important to me. My room (402) was quite large with a kitchenette, a small living space, and even a bit of a dressing room. And this is a good place to stay if you want to be walking distance to Dupont Circle.
I do wish my pillow was a little higher quality... a bit lumpy. But that's just a tiny complaint and you could always bring your own. Oh, and I cannot stand when a shower doesn't have a complete door or curtain-- it was one of those half glass wall things. I always find those cold. But the bathroom was small enough I could keep the heat in.

Room Tip: Room 402 is a corner unit with a lot of windows. Maybe don't choose a corner if you like a dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear NYCJennifer,
We thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Carlyle with others. I am glad you found the hotel not only clean and well maintained but also quiet. Indeed, we are in a very quiet location surrounded by embassies and residences. This gives the hotel the advantage to host both business and leisure travelers. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    614
    149
    48
    38
See reviews for
594
516
123
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family stayed at the Carlyle for 3 nights in July. The hotel is a converted Art Deco apartment building in a great location where several embassies reside. It's an easy walk to the metro and restaurants near DuPont circle. The room was large and quiet and the bed very comfortable. The only negative would be that because it is an older building, the air conditioning had a difficult time keeping the room as cool as we like. Outside of that, the service was impeccable. Abou greeted us our first evening and directed us to a great neighborhood restaurant that even our picky 9yr old would enjoy! He was very helpful to suggest appropriate tours and sights given our time frame. The entire staff were incredibly friendly and quick to take care of any issues. It's a great find and value for DC!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bini17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Bini17,
Thank you for sharing this wonderful experience with other travelers. Abou is just amazing taking great care of our guests. I am glad he was able to provide you with everything you needed even for your "picky 9 yr old" to be happy. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Sincerely, Simon Attagba, Front Ofiice Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Based on my preconceived ideas I assumed the Carlyle would have been more grand. Both the lobby and rooms were small. Our room was a < 400 sq ft suite with two double that took up most the space. Kitchenette(mini-frig, sink, microwave, cooktop, cups dishes pots and pans, dish soap)was tiny and simple. No utensils. Bath was small as well. Tight quarters for a family of four. There was some updating of decor but I feel it had fallen short. Decor was dark and drab. No pool no workout facility.

Based on where the hotel is located, it is a easy walk(0.5 mile) to the subway "metro" located in DuPont circle which looks to be a nice park...for the homeless. The White House is a long walk but doable with good weather. All the important/tourist sites are available via the metro. Recommend purchasing the $10 metro car available at the subway entrance. No on-site parking. Valet parking is about $38 a night and mandatory. Staff was attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripadCaptain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear TripadCaptain1,
I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us.
It sounds like you were in one of our classic rooms with two beds. We also have larger rooms with two beds and sleep sofa which is quiet large enough to accommodate up to four adults. Please e-mail me next time you are coming back so I can make sure you stay in one of those.
Thank you so much for staying with us, I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The Carlyle was such a pleasant surprise. The lobby area is smallish and so I didn't expect much of the room, but actually the room turned out to be quite spacious. With a small kitchen and small dining table. A fairly large walk in closet and a nice big bed.

Staff were very friendly.

The hotel only has 1 resturant which was a shame. It's in quite a good location there are so many options of restaurants only about a 10 min walk away.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sharifa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear sharifa a,
I am glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised about the space in our rooms. Indeed most of our rooms are large enough to accommodate up to four adults with a lot of space available to seat and enjoy our flat screen TV around a cup of coffee. We thank you for sharing this with others, and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Travelers planning to stay more than a day or two would do well to consider this refurbished apartment building. Rooms come with a tiny kitchen containing a cook top, refrigerator and sink, and dishes. Room size varies, as does condition (the higher the price the brighter and more spacious the room) but most include a sofa bed, making this a perfect choice for families. Front desk staff are friendly and helpful and while replenishing of room amenities is a bit erratic, a request to the desk would remedy that instantly. A short walk to Dupont Circle restaurants and the Metro make this hotel a great option.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elceegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Elceegee,
Thank you for sharing this review with the Tripadvisor family, I like the way you took time to describe our amenities. Indeed, our hotel offers very convenient features for both families and business travelers. The kitchenette is just so handy to help those who like to seat in their sofa watching TV and enjoying their own made dinner. I am certain that we will see you again on your next trip to Washington. Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Carlyle Suites is an all-suites hotel, ideally located near Dupont Circle. We've stayed at this property several times, and have always been happy with our accommodations. Our room was clean and comfortable every time. The staff was friendly and quick to greet us each time we returned to the hotel. The rooms are large and nicely furnished. Having a small kitchenette is very convenient for breakfast or a late-night snack.

Room Tip: Corner suites have large windows, and are roomier than other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelerSusan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear TravelerSusan59,
I am happy to hear that you always enjoy your stay and we thank you for being loyal to us. Please e-mail me on your next visit so I can say hello. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We booked this from the tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The staff were always welcoming and helpful. It's a short walk to the Dupont Circle Metro Station so travelling round the city is easy and it's also a very short walk to lots of restaurants and a well-stocked supermarket. The facilities were more than we needed for breakfast (which saved on the budget) and fresh coffee supplies were provided frequently. It's a very quiet and safe area (lots of embassies nearby) so walking back after dinner was no risk. Definitely a good place to stay to explore Washington and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DJS377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear DJS377,

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful 5 star review of the Carlyle Suites Hotel. This is a great forum to exchange experiences and we are pleased that we lived up to the hype so much that you decided to return the favor to other travellers. You certainly found the right place, as you mentioned in a well-appointed location, being near to restaurants, grocery stores and public transportation. Our kitchenettes are definitely an added bonus for those who opt to have a home cooked meal.
We certainly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Art Deco landmark on your next trip to Washington, D.C.

Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,041 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,611 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#77 of 141 in Washington DC
1,815 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing