We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our recent stay here. The location was wonderful and the surrounding neighborhood just beautiful. Loved the Art Deco style, the rooms and the staff! We felt cared for and the manager's attention to quality and concern for the guest experience really showed. Will definitely stay here again. Good price, on-site laundry and pet friendly too. Couldn't ask for anything more.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear PM W,
Oh what a fantastic review 5 star review! When you “couldn’t ask for anything more”- is most gratifying to us. We certainly also appreciate the time you took to share your feedback and it gives us great joy that the experience you captured is exactly what we strive to deliver daily. We are truly fortunate to call our business an Art Deco landmark and we take great pride in the upkeep of the property to ensure that our guests are completely satisfied. When travels allow you to return to Washington, we truly hope that we have the pleasure to welcome you back with another 5 star experience!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    612
    149
    48
    38
See reviews for
593
516
123
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Kamaria and Michelle at the front desk provided excellent services . The locaton was perfect ,the price of rm fit my budget and the rm very charming art deco .I would definitely stay at the Carlyle again .

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paulette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Paulette E,

I am beyond thrilled that your stay was to your desire due to the excellent service provided by our very own KaMaria and Michelle at the front desk. I look forward to sharing your kind remarks with them. It is reassuring to know that our service levels we aim daily to maintain are being executed and enjoyed by our guests. As you said, the Carlyle is a great value for money and will we continuing striving for excellence as we preserve the history of the building in true Art Deco fashion. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we certainly hope that if travel allows you to return to the Nation’s Capital, we have the opportunity to welcome you back!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood near Dupont Circle, can walk to a lot of restaurants and bars. Even when I turned off the AC though it felt a bit cold, but also the windows have screens and you can open the windows which I liked. Fine amenity and breakfast. Breakfast would have been better if they had plain yogurt and milk alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfyoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear sfyoko,
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review of the Carlyle Suites! We are truly lucky to be located in the beautiful Dupont Circle neighborhood which exudes much peacefulness and makes for a pleasant stay. I am pleased that we were able to enjoy your stay based off these contributing factors. I have made a note of your comments regarding breakfast and will be certain to review it with Twist Management. If travel allows you to return to Washington, D.C. , please do not hesitate to consider the Carlyle Suites Hotel. It will be our pleasure to offer you the outstanding service you deserve and cater to any special requests!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My grandson and I stayed at the Carlyle Suites in late July. It's convenient location enabled me to shop for groceries, find local restaurants and access the Dupont metro. It is located in a quiet neighborhood.
The kitchen was most useful, especially when one of us became ill and needed to prepare food on-site. The corner double-bed grande room, on a high floor, was very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel.
Abou, who was the hotel front desk staffer we dealt with, was very helpful and informative. He is a keeper!

Two minor negatives- you could hear some hotel room doors on the floor and the water from the shower leaked onto the bathroom floor (since there was only a glass, half-shower wall). Neither of these really detracted from our pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are light and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear danazoe,
Thank you for sharing your five star experience of the Carlyle Suites Hotel! We appreciate the time you took to spread the word to other travelers regarding your pleasant experience. Abou would be pleased to know that he made such a positive impact on your visit and I look forward to sharing the news with him. I apologize for the unwelcomed noise disturbance you experienced and we will be sure to refer to your comments regarding the shower as well for our next renovation. We certainly hope that if travel allows you to return to the Nation’s Capital, we have the opportunity to welcome you back!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
284 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for a short two night stay visiting sites in DC. The service was excellent all around. They helped us get off to an early departure, helped with the information we needed to use the public transportation and any other needs we had. The place is a bit older than we are used to but everything was clean and updated. It is walkable to the mall but its a long walk, perhaps 2 or 2.5 miles. There is a pubic transportation hub much closer and we used that once we learned the system. The room itself was clean and bed's were new. We use the pay in advance from their web site and received a good price. We thought the price was good especially when compared to other places near the mall. The only negative was they did not have ice machines on the floor we were on but you had to go downstairs to the bar. We would stay here again and yes recommend. A positive compared to other places near by was it had free wifi that worked for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank currycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear currycook,
Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star experience at the Carlyle Suites. I am pleased overall you had a pleasant stay with us and found the service to be excellent. We are fortunate to operate this historic landmark in the Art Deco style as a Boutique Hotel in such a wonderful remote location along Dupont Circle. Although not downtown as you mentioned, still quite accessible by metro, near eateries and it appears that you mastered the route and lived like the locals do!
Ice machines are not located throughout the floors, which allow for a more peaceful rest, however, we offer the on call service to have ice delivered immediately upon request.
We appreciate you recommendation and accolades and certainly look forward to welcoming back in the future so we may continue to offer the outstanding service that you deserve.
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We just returned from a family trip to D.C. yesterday and enjoyed our stay at the Carlyle Suites. Nice quiet neighborhood, yet close to the Metro, DuPont Circle and there are good places to eat nearby. The staff were helpful and very friendly. I would recommend to others. It was nice to have a kitchenette to cook breakfast and have snacks handy after a long day of touring.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Suzy0430,
Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star experience at the Carlyle Suites! We appreciate the time our guests take to express their opinions with other travelers. Our neighborhood is truly ideal being in close proximity to nearby eateries, shopping and public transit and I am pleased that you enjoyed all these features, particularly our friendly staff. Your recommendations and compliments are truly gratifying and we certainly hope to get the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Carlyle soon!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
296 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our family stayed in two suites for our visit to DC. Everyone at the Carlyle from the valet to the front desk staff were very nice and helpful. We really liked the location as well being a short walk to DuPont Circle and the Metro. Unfortunately, we found the rooms themselves to be worn and lacking. The rooms are spacious and the beds were decently comfortable, but a few things made it somewhat uncomfortable. Both air conditioners in both rooms were inadequate. We didn't make a stink about it because both rooms were like that--I didn't think changing rooms would have helped. They are old and can only get the suites somewhat cool. This is not an issue anytime except during the summer when it can be miserably hot and humid. Also, the hotel only has walk in showers--no tubs in any of their rooms--so this is a consideration to make if you have someone who is handicapped. We thought the carpet, couch, and drapes were somewhat worn, old, and dusty as well. The microwave and mini fridge were also really old and worked poorly. One of the old elevators also broke down while my wife was in it. She was stuck with another couple that had a baby. The door was stuck and would not open but they had electricity. Unfortunately the elevator cabin didn't have air conditioning so it got extremely hot after 5 minutes and they had to strip the baby down while one of the other adults started panicking. After about ten minutes they got the door open but they were not happy campers. Old elevator....bound to happen. Starting to see a theme here? The other minus was that this is not a place where breakfast is included. The $14 they charge is not really worth it, head to DuPont circle to eat instead. This place has decent bones but it needs a modernizing makeover. It's not horrible, but we couldn't recommend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wskungfuclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizann T, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear wskungfuclub,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your experience. Please accept my sincere apologies to your wife and yourself for the unforeseen incident with the elevator. I understand that such an encounter can create unpleasant memories and I do hope we can get the opportunity to recreate a welcoming and outstanding experience on your return to the Carlyle.
Although, we currently do not have tubs in our rooms, for anyone requiring disability access, we have rooms available that are ADA compliant. We will certainly be referring to your all comments regarding updating the furnishings and appliances for our next renovation to make vast improvements for you and all our guests.
We truly appreciate the time you took in your review as well to recognize our staff for being nice and helpful. Please contact me directly at lthompson@carlylesuites.com if your wife and you would consider returning to our Art Deco landmark Hotel.
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,030 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,607 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#78 of 141 in Washington DC
1,814 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing