We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in DC. Definitely coming back!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #49 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel!!
It was the friendliest staff ever! I would recommend it to anyone, anytime! Keep it up! The rooms (I stayed in two different rooms) were lovely and clean, the breakfast was delicious! Seriously it's one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Loved it!! Next time I come back to DC I know where I'll stay! Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariaklau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,833 - 1,839 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2010

I wanted to send a quick note to thank you for the excellent service that you provided to us over the weekend. We had a great time in DC and enjoyed both the city and the hotel stay very much. We are tired today but if we had to do it over again, we definitely wouldn’t change anything, including our stay at the Carlyle!

Best Wishes,

Sam Cicogna

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJC5185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I have stayed in hotels all over the world, and I have never met a friendlier, more service oriented, and competent staff. This applies especially to David Trezevant, the Resident Manager, but also to all levels of staff from the front desk, bellmen, bartender, and housekeepers.

The hotel is in a really nice, quiet area convenient to shopping and good ethnic and other restaurants. The hotel also has arrangements with Washington Sports Club, which is an easy 10 minute walk away.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
Thank Ouslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I have stayed in hotels all over the world, and I have never met a friendlier, more service oriented, and competent staff. This applies especially to David Trezevant, the Resident Manager, but also to all levels of staff from the front desk, bellmen, bartender, and housekeepers.

The hotel is in a really nice, quiet area convenient to shopping and good ethnic and other restaurants. The hotel also has arrangements with Washington Sports Club, which is an easy 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jousland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I would have to say the Tempurpedic beds were a huge benefit in staying at this hotel. Our suite was very nice, cleaned every day, and overall I had a wonderful experience. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Parking, which I was extremely nervous about finding, was not a problem. I arrived right on time for check-in and there were at least 3-4 spots available behind the hotel. Parking is tight space-wise, but I have a Honda Civic, so it wasn't a problem squeezing into a spot. Suite has a kitchenette complete with a Keurig, a huge bonus. Also in the kitchenette was a stovetop, microwave, and minifridge. Regardless of whether or not you indicate with the doorhanger for a freshening up of the room, housekeeping will let themselves in and make your bed and give you fresh towels. For security reasons, this worried me, but nothing was missing from my room afterwards.

Hotel is within walking distance of Dupont Circle in a wonderful neighborhood, close to the Metro station, tons of restaurants, coffee spots, and bookstores. 2 Metro stops away is Metro Center, a short walk to the White House and all the other tourist attractions. What a great hotel! I would definitely stay again. As a very discerning hotel guest who usually stays at Hyatts, I happily recommend his hotel with wonderful personality.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningH0telGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Just returned from the Carlyle Suites: and after this past visit, this is where I plan to stay whenever returning to DC. The location was fabulous, the beds extremely comfortable, and the suites very attractive and roomy. Also, enjoyed having a kitchen if needed. I was told they remodeled a couple years ago and they did an excellent job!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmegg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Our trip to Washington DC was unexpected. Our son called us at 4 AM with news of an appendicitis. Upon arriving in DC we called in hopes of finding a room. My wife explained our emergency and the Hotel and Staff extended a caring and sincere hand. The Resident Manager, David Trezevant, personally took care of every detail from extending our room on a daily basis to arranging parking for us. Because of the hospital stay for our son, the Carlyle Suites offered us a greatly reduced rate. The cleanliness, kindness, and personal attention that was afforded us was greatly appreciated during our time of concern for our son. All future stays in DC will be at the Carlyle Suites.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smitty135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,244 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#63 of 142 in Washington DC
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#22 of 142 in Washington DC
2,191 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,698 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#47 of 142 in Washington DC
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £80 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing