We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Ranked #104 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed at the Beacon Hotel during the AACR conference in Washington, DC. We booked two rooms for our group one suite and a regulars room. Both the rooms were very spacious with lots of room to get together after a long day day. The suite was equip with a refrigerator, stove, microwave, a small dinning table, sofa and a dish washer. The staff did a great job of keeping the rooms clean each and everyday. The staff are very patient because there were several participants asking questions about everything. The following staff needs special recognition for the extra help and support they give us, Solomon Steve and Kingsley. They were always willing to help and very attentive. We had packages sent to the hotel and Kingsley made sure we got every single package even after checking out.The rest of the staff were also. You can not ask for more. Can not say much about the location because we were out most of the day at the convention center. The convention center is very close to the hotle.The hotel offers free wi-fi. There are many restaurants nearby to get a quick lunch. We were very satisfied with the overall experience and will recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks Beacon for an excellent experienced. We will stay here the next time we come to town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveRipai, General Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, 17 July 2015
Thank you very much...for taking the time to appraise us of your experience at the Beacon Hotel and with the members of our team..
We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    441
    242
    109
    67
See reviews for
217
301
109
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
443 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The Beacon is an older hotel in a good location. The lobby is small but there is a charm to the hotel. Similarly, the rooms have an older feel to them. Nevertheless, they are clean and well appointed. The rooms are not equal in terms of size. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again, especially given the prices for other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don_K_Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryHotel, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Your comments are greatly appreciated and we hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Lodging always makes a huge difference of any trips, and I had a superb time. I recommend the Beacon hotel when visiting DC, esp. Close to downtown. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They take packages for you, which is very nice, esp. when you have odd-size luggage (ie. poster) when on a conference. I highly recommend the Beacon hotel and Corporate Quarters!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heyhae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryHotel, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Beacon Hotel and taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all the great feedback and look forward to your return the next time you are in Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I got a very good rate on a room here so thought I'd give it a try. The location is top notch. Place is very busy, lots of tourists constantly coming and going in the smallish lobby. Room is on the large side BUT it's tired looking/feeling. Everything is BEIGE, and it has that carpet-fresh smell that I'm always suspicious of. The room was clean enough but the decor seemed late 1980s and in need of an update. Based on my rate the value was GOOD so I'd recommend it up to a point but if you're going to pay anything more than about $140, I'd say you might do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManhattanWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I have stayed at the Beacon twice in the past year on business. Both times the service has been excellent the front deck clerks go above and beyond to accomodate. The location could not be better for business and or site seeing. The rooms are very modern and up to date. The amenities and accomodations cover all the bases. The Hotel has taken extra care to insure security in the building which is a welcome site now days. The restuarant on site has great food and service as well. I travel quite a bit and stay in alot of different hotels, both chain and private.This hotel can hold it's own with the best of them.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southernIL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryHotel, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all the great feedback and look forward to your return the next time you are in Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here last year enjoyed it. Going back this year had a choice to stay at other hotels we had a vote our whole executive board voted to stay here stay is very friendly loved the bar area I went to a meeting went back 3 hours later and the bartender remember what I was drinking that's service.

Room Tip: I was on a high floor view was nice try or the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryHotel, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to post your very gracious comments on Tripadvisor. They are indeed very much appreciated and will be shared with every members of our team. We look forward to your return the next time you are in Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here for a convention center meeting. The drilling and other construction noise at the sister hotel being built across the street begins at 7 am, and does not stop on the weekends. This is April 2013, and I suspect it will continue for many months. The walls and windows facing the street are paper thin.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank GinnyLAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryHotel, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you very much for staying at the Beacon Hotel for your recent visit to Washington, DC. We would like to express our genuine appreciation to you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. We are truly very sorry that the construction in front of the hotel started so early, typically this is not the case, and it is unusual that this is happening despite city ordinances, we have lodged a formal complaint in the hopes it will deter such early morning work. They are also not supposed to work on weekends, however this too we will mention in our complaint to the city. We look forward to the day when we can welcome you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#36 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#98 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion
Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Li...
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Property: Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Address: 1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3205 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel creates the perfect setting where guests can "Work, Relax and Play" in an atmosphere that is contemporary, welcoming and elegant. This summer enjoy the benefits of an extraordinary location, from where you can walk to the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments all within an easy walk or short metro ride, walk four blocks to The White House, off "Embassy Row" famous for stunning Diplomatic residences, yet equally convenient to the centers of business of "K Street" and Connecticut Ave. The Walter E Washington Convention Center, The cool restaurants and Night life of Dupont Circle and 14th Street. Two Metro stations are within easy walk. Accommodations include spacious deluxe rooms and our popular "Corporate Quarter Suites" inspired by New York Style studio living, featuring pantries, dining and living areas that complement the lifestyles of our guests with spacious accommodations. Ideal settings whether you are traveling with family, an urban explorer or if you are seeking a romantic escape. The Beacon Bar & Grill presents excellent dining and entertainment options: alfresco dining in season, an elegant dining room, light fare and creative cocktails are featured in season in our Sky-Bar rooftop lounge. Featuring creative American cuisine drawing inspiration from comfort foods, international cuisine and seasonal offerings. Our Saturday and Sunday Champagne Brunch, have been voted amongst the "Top Five" Champagne Brunches in the city for over 10 years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel And Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Washington Dc
Beacon Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing