We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Ranked #114 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel has a great position for accessing the D.C. attractions on foot, and taxis are easily available for trips a little further afield. The rooms were pleasant and clean, however did not have a minibar.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank macmonkey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We are so delighted that you had a lovely stay. Thank you for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nothing special about the Beacon. It was just a nice hotel with the right price at the right time. Room was nice. It was clean but no minibar or refrigerator. Wifi is not free. The staff are friendly but that's about it. Will recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your very gracious comments they are indeed very much appreciated and will be shared with our team. We look forward to the day when we can welcome you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My 15yr old niece and I came to DC for the weekend to visit friends and see sites. The location was perfect, close enough to walk to tons of places. We were upgraded to a larger room without asking, which was really clean and nice. We didn't spend too much time at the hotel and weren't planning to, but the time we did spend there was pleasant, clean and friendly. That's all we needed!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank saconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor, but more importantly, thank you for having selected the Beacon Hotel as your home away from home while visiting our city. We are delighted that you found our service to be of your liking...
We look forward to your return, should your travels bring you back to our fair city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Pros : is in a good location within walking distance of DC landmarks. Quiet, sleep quality was good and check in etc were good. Had to change room because it was noisy and the phone didn't work, but they did change my room right away

Cons: Could do with a little extra maintenance, rooms are very small and very dated (think 1990's), a little dirty. Bathrooms small but functional.

Room Tip: away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank RoadnottakenVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your recent stay with us at the Beacon Hotel. I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the bathroom. Be assured I will personally look into this, and humbly apologize. Your comments are very valued, and we learn from them about those things we need to fine tune. You are most gracious and we sincerely look forward to your return. Hope you had a pleasant trip home and that we will have the pleasure of your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The staff were wonderful throughout our entire stay. They were very helpful in helping us get my daughter's phone that was left in a cab. The review the camera and locate the cab. Very helpful and we will recommend to everyone. Karla is a true star.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerseyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

What a joy to get read your reviewe...how very nice of you. I will, of course, share your comments with our team, as they are so appreciative of your sentiment... Thank you for your review, and for taking the time to help make ours a truly bright day... Look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here. The room was great. It had two double beds and a pull out couch. We were actually able to park for free as my husband found nearby street parking. Otherwise you had to pay $30 to park in the garage.
We were also able to walk to the major tourist sites. Kids were exhausted though.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Castle14822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We are so elated that you had a lovely stay. Thank you for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Experiencing first hand what it is like to stay at the Beacon was priceless. We stayed here for three nights. The positive are:1. The location is very convenient to getting around in this city. You can travel to the national mall easily by pubic transportation without having to break the bank. If youare travrling on a budget and the hotel rate is good stay here. 2. The room was specious. The beds were comfortable. This is all i can say about the room. Nothing special. 3. The staff. They were extremely helpful throughout our stay. Karla was always willing to help. She check us in before the normal check in time.
The negative: No free wi-fi. It was also very slow. This is only included if you make your reservation directly through the hotel. They charge extra for late check out.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankPoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We would like to express our sincere appreciation to you for taking the time to share with everyone how much you enjoyed the Beacon Hotel. It is because of you that we are here. Thank you for choosing us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
1,328 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 141 in Washington DC
1,458 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
196 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#85 of 141 in Washington DC
1,892 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Address: 1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3205 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £72 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel creates the perfect setting where guests can "Work, Relax and Play" in an atmosphere that is contemporary, welcoming and elegant. This summer enjoy the benefits of an extraordinary location, from where you can walk to the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments all within an easy walk or short metro ride, walk four blocks to The White House, off "Embassy Row" famous for stunning Diplomatic residences, yet equally convenient to the centers of business of "K Street" and Connecticut Ave. The Walter E Washington Convention Center, The cool restaurants and Night life of Dupont Circle and 14th Street. Two Metro stations are within easy walk. Accommodations include spacious deluxe rooms and our popular "Corporate Quarter Suites" inspired by New York Style studio living, featuring pantries, dining and living areas that complement the lifestyles of our guests with spacious accommodations. Ideal settings whether you are traveling with family, an urban explorer or if you are seeking a romantic escape. The Beacon Bar & Grill presents excellent dining and entertainment options: alfresco dining in season, an elegant dining room, light fare and creative cocktails are featured in season in our Sky-Bar rooftop lounge. Featuring creative American cuisine drawing inspiration from comfort foods, international cuisine and seasonal offerings. Our Saturday and Sunday Champagne Brunch, have been voted amongst the "Top Five" Champagne Brunches in the city for over 10 years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel And Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Washington Dc
Beacon Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing