We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Beacon can do it up right!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Ranked #102 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Beacon can do it up right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

At the last minute we had to change our daughter's wedding venue due to an incompetent Inn in DC. Since we had a block of rooms at the Beacon we asked if they had availability. Thankfully they accommodated us. The food, the service, and the attention that was placed on our wedding party was above and beyond the expected. Virtually everything we asked for was accomplished by the staff. Aric Ingersoll, the catering manager, was a joy to work with. From the front desk, to the bell men, the staff was fantastic and attentive. Thank you Beacon staff for making my daughter's wedding reception wonderful.

Room Tip: try to get a suite. The money was well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
What a joy to get read your reviewe...how very nice of you. I will, of course, share your comments with our team, as they are so appreciative of your sentiment. Thank you for your review, and for taking the time to help make ours a truly bright day. Look forward to your return and congratulation to your daughter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    434
    237
    108
    64
See reviews for
212
299
108
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I booked the basic room and I was debating between this hotel and another one I knew I loved for $30/night. The room was okay and kept clean, but the in room AC unit was very loud, the pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable, and the room service menu was very limited. If you can't afford the extra $30 a night this place is fine if you don't spend any time there, but if you need a place to get some work done during the day and you prefer a hotel with high quality beds/sheets/pillows I would spend the extra $30. I would have been okay spending $60 for the room, but it was poor quality for the price.

The location is close to a very cute neighborhood and that saves this hotel.

Room Tip: Free wifi if you book directly with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 321beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was a perfect stay. The staff delivers a superb level of service. Karla and Steve made us feel so good every day. They were very helpful and friendly. The doorman who help us with our luggage was good also. The room could not have been better. It was perfect. Location perfect. The price perfect. We love each and every moment we spent at the Beacon. The cleaning crew did a great job with our room. I will recommend staying here if you are looking for a hotel in DC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We truly appreciate your kind appraisal and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
165 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is a great location for walking around DC! It is close to the white house, sandwich shops, the big bus tour pick up stops, and a short walk to Whole Foods for any grocery needs. My Fiance and I were there for just less than a week and had a great stay.

Our room was upgraded (due to a late flight and they had to give our original reserved room to another guest) and it was perfect for our needs. Karla at the front desk has supreme customer service skills and was very helpful. The cleaning staff was also kind.

Overall we'd rate this a 4 out of 5 only due to a few updates needed in the rooms. The wallpaper and headboard had some scuffs/peeling issues on them as well as the paint being uneven and the elevator key operation was not always easy. VERY small things that didn't impact our stay, just noticeable.

GREAT place for a vacation spot and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennSkellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to write your review of the Beacon on Tripadvisor ...It was truly a pleasure serving you and we sincerely hope that we have merited a return visit, should your travels bring you back to our city. I can assure you that the highlighted points of concern have been addressed and corrected actions have been taken. We look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a great position for accessing the D.C. attractions on foot, and taxis are easily available for trips a little further afield. The rooms were pleasant and clean, however did not have a minibar.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank macmonkey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We are so delighted that you had a lovely stay. Thank you for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nothing special about the Beacon. It was just a nice hotel with the right price at the right time. Room was nice. It was clean but no minibar or refrigerator. Wifi is not free. The staff are friendly but that's about it. Will recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your very gracious comments they are indeed very much appreciated and will be shared with our team. We look forward to the day when we can welcome you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My 15yr old niece and I came to DC for the weekend to visit friends and see sites. The location was perfect, close enough to walk to tons of places. We were upgraded to a larger room without asking, which was really clean and nice. We didn't spend too much time at the hotel and weren't planning to, but the time we did spend there was pleasant, clean and friendly. That's all we needed!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor, but more importantly, thank you for having selected the Beacon Hotel as your home away from home while visiting our city. We are delighted that you found our service to be of your liking...
We look forward to your return, should your travels bring you back to our fair city
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#84 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#89 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion
Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Li...
#107 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Property: Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Address: 1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3205 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel creates the perfect setting where guests can "Work, Relax and Play" in an atmosphere that is contemporary, welcoming and elegant. This summer enjoy the benefits of an extraordinary location, from where you can walk to the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments all within an easy walk or short metro ride, walk four blocks to The White House, off "Embassy Row" famous for stunning Diplomatic residences, yet equally convenient to the centers of business of "K Street" and Connecticut Ave. The Walter E Washington Convention Center, The cool restaurants and Night life of Dupont Circle and 14th Street. Two Metro stations are within easy walk. Accommodations include spacious deluxe rooms and our popular "Corporate Quarter Suites" inspired by New York Style studio living, featuring pantries, dining and living areas that complement the lifestyles of our guests with spacious accommodations. Ideal settings whether you are traveling with family, an urban explorer or if you are seeking a romantic escape. The Beacon Bar & Grill presents excellent dining and entertainment options: alfresco dining in season, an elegant dining room, light fare and creative cocktails are featured in season in our Sky-Bar rooftop lounge. Featuring creative American cuisine drawing inspiration from comfort foods, international cuisine and seasonal offerings. Our Saturday and Sunday Champagne Brunch, have been voted amongst the "Top Five" Champagne Brunches in the city for over 10 years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel And Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Washington Dc
Beacon Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing