We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was fantastic -- hotel, staff, location, price ... and they are pet-friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #61 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 April 2011

My husband and I were in town for the weekend visiting friends with our boxer --- we used to live in DC. The minute we walked in the staff was welcoming us and our dog and I had a glass of wine in hand! The atmosphere was very genuine. The rooms are very big --- I used to travel a lot for work so I was pretty amazed .. and they are right next to Dupont circle and a short walk up M street to Georgetown. I loved everything about the hotel. Unfortunately, we didn't get a chance to go to the Firefly (adjoining restaurant + bar) but I plan on going there on my next stay in DC @ Hotel Madera.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank msli23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Dear msli23, thank you so much for staying with us. Glad you, your husband, and your boxer enjoyed the visit. We love it when our four-legged Guests visit as well. Next time you visit you msut try our award winning Firefly restaurant. Thanks again, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2011

We stayed at Hotel Madera while in D.C. for a conference located in Crystal City, VA to be in the city during time off in the evenings, etc. What a perfect location! Blocks away from the Red Line Dupont Circle which took me to Crystal City in 20 minutes. My husband who did not attend the conference was able to explore D.C. and our 2 dogs were able to join us without an extra charge because the Kimpton Group is truly committed to accommodating pets as additional guests not as an opportunity of which to take advantage charging extra fees. Their commitment to the environment and increasing awareness around eco-choices seems deep and genuine, not just a jump on the ever-trendy "green" wagon. We received complimentary valet parking for driving our hybrid!

The staff were all stand outs in their level of warmth and friendliness as well as competence and efficiency.

Though Hotel Madera is a smaller boutique hotel, we were able to use the facilities of the Hotel Palomar 2 blocks away without issue.

The Firefly restaurant is also amazing. Truly impressed with our entire experience at Hotel Madera and we are committed to choosing Kimpton hotels for all of our travels because of it.

Room Tip: Join InTouch without charge to get internet free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazssister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2011

Dear caszssister, delighter to hear you, your Husband, and the dogs enjoyed your visit at the Madera. Our commitment to the enivronment is genuine and I'm glad you noticed. We are a Green Seal Silver certified Hotel. Thank you so mcuh for the kind review and we look forward to seeing you and the family again. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My husband and I were impressed when we first stepped into the Madera and were greeted by Fernando. The location was perfect for walking to the metro or eating at neighborhood restaurants. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, and we loved our dinner at the adjacent restaurant Fireflies with our college aged son and friends. The breakfast was a bit pricy and not as impressive. The beds were very comfortable, and the room was quiet at night. The toilet and bath area were a little tight, but the vanity was conveniently separate, and it would not stop us from staying there again. I would highly recommend the Madera and look forward to returning!

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PennyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2011

Thank you PennyGal for posting your review. Fernando is a wonderful member of our Team and definately exudes personality to all of our Guests. I'm happy you enjoyed your dinner at Firefly and will relay your comments about breakfast to our Restaurant Team. Very happy to hear you will be returning and thank you again for post. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We are currently on our trip in dc and the last time we stayed at the palomar dc. We wanted a change so we picked aother Kimpton hotel. The hotel is small but has the same options as the palomar. The room is large but is not to Kimpton standards as the bathroom is in the need of a major update (grout and tile falling apart). For the price it is a good value but not the same standards as other Kimpton hotels we have stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank designguy134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2011

Dear designguy134, thank you for your post about your visit. Your feedback about the bathroom of the Hotel is appreciated. The good news is the Hotel will undergoing a full lobby and room renovation. Very exciting for us, more to come on that. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

I've stayed at the Madera several times both during leisurely travel and as a business traveler. I was traveling on business this trip but my family joined me to take advantage of the location and visit DC. I have 2 girls 11 and 9 and my partner. The rooms are larger than the large chain hotels, the decor is very appealing and the location is fabulous. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcomed. We had originally booked a mini-kitchen room but when we checked in one was not available. They provided a much larger room and brought a small fridge to the room to accommodate our needs. This is my favorite hotel in the DC metro area.. No fitness center which is a requirement for me but they provide a day pass to Gold's Gym which is 2 blocks away!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2011

Thank you for the wonderful review lisaf44! And thank you for being such a frequent Guest! I am happy to hear we were able to accomodate you and your daughters with a mini fridge to make your visit more comfortable. We are ecstatic to hear we are your favorite Hotel in DC. THANK YOU and see you soon. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Some boutique hotels are all flash and no substance, but this hotel is NOT one of them. The service we received equaled the service of a 5 Star hotel. We were treated warmly at check-in and offered great up-grade options in a "no pressure" manner. The room was large and the massage chair was awesome! The hotel manager was always available to personally help with any issues. Anything we needed, he took care of personally and that's rare. And the front desk staff was amazingly helpful at all times. A real pleasure.

The location was also perfect. It's in Dupont Circle, but a 8 minute walk to Georgetown. When we go back to DC, this is were we will stay for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2011

Dear Achayes, so happy hear you enjoyed your visit to the Madera and got to experience wonderful service. We do strive to provide warm and professional service while being genuine and sincere. The Massage Chair in the Tranquility Room is quite a treat! Great after a long day of sightseeing . Thank you again for the review. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Everything about this hotel is GREAT! Service, rooms, atmosphere, and I especially love how they are pet friendly! Also, a great location.. Right near Dupont! Plenty of places to go and things to do! Not to mention fabulous places to eat!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2011

Thank you ana314 for such a kind review. Very delightd to hear you found everything abut the Madera to be GREAT! Hopefully you brought your pet and they found it GRRRRRRREAT as well! See you soon and thanks. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#79 of 142 in Washington DC
1,296 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
2,151 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#88 of 142 in Washington DC
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £99 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing