We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room, nice location, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #61 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I really loved this hotel! After walking about 5 blocks from the metro station (got off at the wrong one) in 100 degree weather I was so happy to see cold water when we walked into the lobby. I really thought that was a nice touch. The hotel is on the small side but the rooms are fairly large. There were 4 of us in one room and we felt comfortable. My only complaint is that the bathroom was on the small side. My extra large husband complained about it, I am on on the petite side so it didn't bother me. The hotel is modern, clean, and in a safe neighborhood. Beds and pillows are comfy. Staff was very courteous and helpful and greeted us every time we walked in.

There is a Krispy Kreme, Panera Bread,Cosi, and other restaurants you can walk to for a quick bite to eat. The metro station was not too far off. Once you get the hang of how the Metro works you will be able to get around quickly (warning: most of the Metro workers we encountered were extremely rude to us when we asked questions). Study the maps before you go somewhere. The Metro made it convenient and cheap for 6 people to get anywhere though.

Overall, this was hotel was great value for the money. This is the second Kimpton Hotel I stay at and it definitely wont be my last. If and when I go to DC again I would love to stay at the Madera again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCJ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed at the Madera for three nights in July. Great location, close to Metro subway. Hotel staff were very friendly and welcomed you everytime you walked by reception. Evening wine reception a nice added touch. Room very large, beds very comfortable. Bathroom a little small but functional. Will definitely stay here again if in the area and will recommend to others. Will also check out other Kimpton Hotels when travelling.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonny64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Dear Bonny64, thanks for such a wonderful review! I am glad you were able to visit our Wine Hour. It's nice to come back from a day of sight seeing or meetings and be greeted with a glass of wine. Thank you so much and we hope to see you again, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed at the Madera this past weekend. Great hotel; great value and great location just off Dupont Circle. Our room was huge and very clean. The air conditioning worked extremely well. I like a hotel that has the sink outside of the bathroom area. The front desk employees, especially Mike, were very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the pool at their sister hotel 2 streets over - The Palomar - also a very beautiful hotel. We were able to find free street parking - luckily - as their parking rate is outrageous - $38 and all the local parking garages are closed on weekends. The delicious lemon-iced water in the lobby was a nice plus as well as the delicious complimentary coffee in the morning. Loved this hotel - I highly recommend it. Great value.

Room Tip: I made my reservation with central reservations. AAA rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbirose2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Lblrose, I am excited to read you loved your visit at the Madera! The location can't be beat being so close to the Metro and Dupont Circle. The lemon water is quite refreshing after a hot summer day of sightseeing. See you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

DC is a great town with many great hotels. I choose Madera because it is consistently comfortable. The staff is always courteous & service-oriented. The location near the Metro makes a big difference in ease of getting around. I also like that Madera has character; it's not like your typical chain hotel. Parking is expensive, but seems on par with DC rates. Free street parking is available on weekends.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShayneFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Dear ShaneFloyd, thanks for the great review. But a bigger thanks for being such a loyal fan of the Madera! Happy to see you have had so many great expreiences. Thank you again, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This is my favorite hotel in DC. The rooms are large and welcoming, the rest of the hotel is compact - so you can come and go quickly. The location is great - near business and tourist destinations, but in a residential area. Above all, the staff is great. They are very good at what they do and they make you feel like a welcome guest. One note, the bathrooms are small.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Dear robertsea, "your favorite hotel"? I bet you say that to all the Hotels. Just kidding, seriously thank you so much for the great review. The service from our Staff is what makes great Guest visits and I am happy to read you've experienced it. Thank you again and we will see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Nice location close to Dupont.

The staff at check-in put me in an upgraded room. It had an elliptical machine in there, which was sorta cool, but I was never really gonna use. Had a fruit plate of melons, blueberries, strawberries, etc waiting for me in my room.

The staff had some good recommendations for places to go eat nearby. I'd been to Dupont tons of times before, but wanted to try something new.

I had requested a cab the night before and it was there and waiting in the morning when I had to leave at some ungodly hour for the airport. Odd thing was there were 5 or 6 folks checking out that early in the morning so there was a slight line at check-out, but it wasn't that big a deal.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sockrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

1st day got back to hotel @ 4:00 pm from meeting & still wasn't touched ... Had a special that the hotel offered " $1.00 breakfast or cocktail "... took 2 1/2 days for them to get the $40 breakfast off my bill, thank-you Kelly... Wake-up call, never arrived... Not all negative, front desk staff very pleasant.... free glass of wine @ 4:30 pm, nice touch... cookies & milk at night, ran into a staff member in elevator bringing milk & cookies to a family whose kids were to young to go downstairs, nice touch so not all bad but @ $309 a night expected a litlle more ... Son starting GW in the fall, don't think i'll rush back

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovetoeat5935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#79 of 142 in Washington DC
1,301 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
2,174 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#84 of 142 in Washington DC
1,881 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#28 of 142 in Washington DC
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £92 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing