We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #57 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nipomo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely Fabulous!!”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

What a beautiful room!!! With an exercise bike even!!! The staff was very courteous and helpful at all times. If only we could find this hotel wherever we go!! Honestly, we had stayed at two others on our way to this one...neither could hold a candle to this comfortable peaceful room!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    369
    130
    44
    19
See reviews for
228
389
100
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I recently stayed at the Madera for a girls night. The room was very spacious and even with 5 women there was plenty of room. The location is very close to shopping and restaurants/bars as well as embassy row. I also highly recommend eating in the adjacent restaurant, Firefly.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachlover0985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary. We wanted something in the heart of the city and relatively inexpensive -- asking a lot, we know. This hotel fit the bill and was overall average for the cost. It fit in with it's surroundings -- gritty DuPont Circle. The first room we checked into was stinky and had some mildew on the ceiling. Customer service was fantastic - they upgraded our room and gave us two continental breakfast passes. The second room was still a little damp smelling, but DC had a lot of rain the past week -- which *might* explain it. Regardless, we love the Kimpton hotels for their funky interior designs and fun amenities such as hosted wine hour, cookies at night (though we didn't see any the night we stayed), and $10 in mini bar raiding for InTouch members (their membership program). Overall, the hotel was a little crusty but in a fantastic location and with excellent service. I'm not sure I would stay here again, but my brand loyalty is still strong.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here originally for two nights which turned into three with Hurricane Irene interrupting our travel plans. The room was extremely spacious and the staff were very accomodating with all requirements. We dined a couple of times in the hotel restaurant, Firefly, and the meals were very good. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. Location was also very good and close to Metro and buses.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa7562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
399 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I got stuck in DC due to a cancelled flight and decided to try the Madera Hotel. It was a great decision. It is an historic building, but the rooms are updated, modern and large with seating areas. I travel alot and have never experienced service this good. Upon my arrival they had a glass of wine for me. My main bag was on the plane so I did not have contact solution. The bellman/front desk helper offered to go to the store - at no charge. It was 10pm and he went! Amazing. Also, the Firefly Restraunt was quite good with an intimate atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
249 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We try to stay in Kimptons when possible just because we like the boutique atmosphere and we can generally rely on good service, comfy beds and decent wine at happy hour. The Madera did not disappoint. The rooms were large and well decorated. We had a balcony on the 10th floor - good A/C and a big t.v..

Service was earnest, for sure. My boyfriend left his wallet in the car and the valet brought in in for him - right about when we thought we had lost it. Nice guy - Armando. We asked at check-in for turn down service all three nights and they said okay, but we never got it. The manager later said that they really don't have turn down - but the front desk clerk later told us that we had our 'do not disturb' sign out (all three nights?) so they couldn't do it. Confusing.

The toilet/tub area of the bathroom is super tiny and the shower head was stuck on FIREHOSE setting. You get used to it. The lights in the bathroom and over the vanity are bright and HOT. If you have wrinkles, beware that you probably don't look that bad in real life. That's what I'm going with. Other than that the room was great.

The staff was very accomodating. We found out that our friends were given free breakfast vouchers at check-in but had paid the exact same price for their room as we did. The front desk gave us vouchers too. The valet guy told us we were okay to park in a certain area on Sunday and the holiday but we got a parking ticket. The reduced our previous night's parking rate to cover the cost of the ticket. They lost my friend's car keys for a day or so, but found them and reimbursed her the parking fees.

We found out the first morning that breakfast doesn't start 'til 9 a.m. Would have been good to know the night before - and who starts breakfast at 9 anyway? Then, when we did breakfast the second day the waitress said the voucher was good for $12.50 off the meal - only to find out later that she meant $7.50... okay... So you see, it was really just missed opportunities to manage expectations. They seemed very willing to fix anything that was wrong and we appreciated that. We will continue to recommend Kimpton's and hope to stay in another one soon. Thanks Madera!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This was our first experience w/ a Kimpton hotel and we were really pleased! It is a boutique hotel w/ special touches and excellent service. The room was HUGE! Loved the separate sink area so I could get ready while hubby was showering. Super comfy beds, nice flat screen TV. Breakfast and service at Firefly were GREAT! All around a great stay and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDCBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#84 of 141 in Washington DC
1,245 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,030 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Property: Kimpton Hotel Madera
Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing