We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #61 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This is the first time we have stayed in a Kimpton Hotel, and absolutely will again! The motto of the staff of the Madera seems to be "how can we make your stay better?" and "what else can we help you with?" The hotel is in an ideal location, the room was well designed and furnished, and we felt very welcomed. I not can't imagine staying anywhere else in Washington, DC.

Room Tip: A bit of street noise, but thats the trade off for being in a great area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Dear mizzelle, first time visit with us and it was outstanding? That's great news, now we've got you and you can't stay anywhere else in DC. See you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

929 - 935 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel last fall while visiting my daughter. Although the hotel was fine, it wasn't as nice as other Kimpton's I've stayed at. The room seemed old-- stained carpet, just a little dark and dingy all around. Scratchy towels. The staff wasn't even as friendly as Kimpton employees usually are. Location is fine.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c4ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Dear c4ww, thank you so mcuh for posting your review on Tripadvisor. All feedback is appreciated. My apologies you found the hotel to be in satisfactory condition. We are definately working on this to bring the Hotel up to a higher level. Thank you again, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable, and larger than we anticipated. The hotel was in an attractive neighborhood and less than 3 blocks from a Metrorail station (Dupont Circle). Places for breakfast were in walking distance. My only reservations were 1) our window view was of the HVAC system and some alleyways and 2) there was a dark strip over the bottom line of grout in the shower stall.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, ask for a room at the front of the building, along New Hampshire Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Dear Roadmap, thanks for the review! We were hoping for "perfect" but thanks for the feedback about your view amnd bathroom. Definately something we can look into. I am glad your interactions with the Staff were friendly and helpful. Yes, Dupont Circle is a great locals neighborhood with wonderful cafes and shops, and easy access to the Metro. Thanks again and hope to see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Friendly welcome on arrival - the guy (Mike?) jumped up to help with our bags. The room wasn't what we had booked but arrangements were made to rectify this. Like all Kimpton's, the hotel has a nice style; rooms here are a good size. Comfy beds. Firefly restaurant was quite good and there are plenty of options nearby. Like all Kimpton's, in-touch members get free wifi and minibar voucher. The 5pm wine hour also included a couple of local beers. Service was great - from all staff throughout our stay - the friendliness and helpfulness of the people make a big positive difference to your holiday. Great location - close to subway, CVS pharmacy and lots of eateries. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a queen queen balcony which has a view onto New Hampshire (back rooms have a view onto the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familygdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Dear Familygdl, thank you for a wonderful review. We are happy to read that the location was perfect for you and your family's visit to Washington. I am glad you were able to visit our Wine Hour and enjoy some of the local Washington DC beers we sample every evening too. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hotel is a real find! Located in Dupont, one of the hottest neighborhoods in DC, and just a few short blocks to the metro/subway station - perfect for sightseeing. The boutique rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious and clean and have a very impressively stocked minibar. The room service meal was absolutely delicious and was sent up from the hotels connected restaurant Firefly. The service was great and felt really personalized - can't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty_K089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Dear Patty_K089, thanks for the review! Now that you found us, tell everyone you know and we will see you again!. Thanks, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I spent a bunch of time looking for a hotel in DC and more or less ended up settling on Madera. Overall, I was very pleased. Check in was easy, service was very friendly. The room was good sized and we had a balcony. Even with the glass door open was pretty quiet overall. I'd say this hotel aspires to be in a category with a W hotel, and offers a lot of kitschy and somewhat charming perks, although they are not in the same class. Hybrid cars I was told valeted for free(yeah environment!), the animal print robes were kind of a riot and the coffee/tea selection and wine receptions were nice touches that made you feel welcome. They were running a $99.00 for a second night special on Sundays so we stayed an extra night (but I had to ask for any specials to be told about this). Overall, this is a safe, pleasant hotel, they do allow pets, but I wouldn't have known that if there hadn't been dog biscuits also available at welcome. I would stay here again, especially for $99.00 in this location!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ihearttravel2520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Dear Ihearttravel2520, I am very glad to read we met your expectations during your visit and you would return. I am thrilled to see that the small touches like the robes and coffee/tea selection were enjoyed by you during the visit. Thank you so much and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife and I were in Virgina for the POW/MIA conference, spent one night there then extended our trip for four nights at the Madera at Dupont Circle. Location is perfect for exploring DC, short walk or bike ride to Georgetown, Embassy Row, great French food at nearby Bistro Du Coin (on Connecticut). The people working at Madera made this place special. Everyone we encountered was friendly, professional, helpful.
The morning coffee (full bodied flavor) and tea as well as the after 5pm beer/wine/sangria was offerred enthusiastically. Happy hour in particular was fun for sharing trip adventures with fellow guests. We typically took our coffee up to our private patio (having pulled two chairs outside) and watched DC wake up. Our room was near the elevator and we couldn't even hear it. I paid attention one morning and was barely able to discern the sound.
Bike riders can enjoy CapitolBikeShare, with a station nearby at Dupont Circle. Ask the desk to point you to a nearby bike shop for a free bike map, so you know where to drop off your bikes at any of a multitude of stations Five bucks a day for the bikes.
Recommend this hotel highly! In fact, first one of these I've ever bothered to write.

Room Tip: Sixth floor with view to New Hampshire, Brewmaster historic house and Egyptian consulate/residence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Dear Eric J, WOW! We are so proud to have your visit to the Hotel Madera be your first TripAdvisor review! Thank you!! Sounds like you had a wonderful visit and the service that was provided to you met your high expectations. Thank you so much! Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#79 of 142 in Washington DC
1,301 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
2,173 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#85 of 142 in Washington DC
1,881 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#28 of 142 in Washington DC
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £94 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing