We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #59 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 November 2011

This hotel is very clean, the staff are very friendly. We took our pets here and they were very welcome. Walking distance to all the places you want to see in Washington plus close to good restaurants. The rooms were also larger than normal. The only draw back is parking on the street

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott22-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Dear Scott22-10, thanks for writing the review! It's nice to see you enjoyed your visit, the Hotel, and the location. For your next visit, we do offer valet parking as an option for our Guests so you dont have to park on the street. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

I had a fantastic stay at a well taken care of hotel right smack in the middlle of the nicest area of DC for fun and entertainment. Once I entered the lobby I felt like I was entering a weekend spa retreat. The welcome was a great surprise !!! I was greeted by a very polished front desk associate who offered me a refreshing fruit water as I was checking in.
The experience continued in my well decorated and comfortable room. Later as I was leaving for a meeting I was greeted by the General Manager Modi who made you feel right at home.
I will definately be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street....It's a neighborhood feel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grouperboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Dear Grouperboy, what a fantastic visit! The fruit water seems to be a hit with our Guests, especially on hot days or after a long flight. It was nice meeting you and we hope to see you again. Thanks, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The Madera hotel is staffed by courteous and helpful staff. Centrally located just south of DuPont Circle and a Metro station.

Bathroom is a bit small otherwise this would be rated 5/5

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caljang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Dear caljang, thank you for your review. Glad you found our location to be central to everything you need. Yes, the Metro and the lively Dupont Circle neighborhood is a short walk away. Thanks again and see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

So, when would you ever imagine that you could say luxury, fantastic staff and PET FRIENDLY in the same review? Enter Hotel Madera, a Kimpton just a block or so from all the activity of Dupont Circle.

We stayed here in April 2011 with our two children and two small dogs and couldn't have been more pleased with the whole experience. The front desk staff was super-accommodating and even though we had two slight room snafoos, they worked quickly and diligently to correct any issues we may have had. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: There are great, economical restaurants within a short walk. Shop around or ask the front desk; you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megawattage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Dear megawattage, we are thrilled that you, the family, and the dogs loved their visit to the Hotel Madera. We try our best to accomodate our 4 legged Guests as well as our 2 legged ones. Thank you for the review. See you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This Kimpton hotel is in a great location, blocks from Dupont Circle without being in the middle of it all. It is a small property, with rooms on the smaller side but very comfortable. The balcony rooms they tend to charge a little extra for, but we've found that the ones on lower floors actually let a lot of traffic noise in from the road in front of the hotel.
The restaurant in the hotel, Firefly, is quite good and is a favorite of locals and visitors alike.
Each time we've stayed here we've had an enjoyable stay and any issues during are stay were immediately addressed and resolved.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GatsbyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Dear GastbyO, thanks for your review and feedback. It sounds like you've stayed with us many times, thank you so much. The balcony rooms are great for some Guests, especially on beautiful days overlooking New Hampshire Ave and the Dupont Circle neighborhood. Thanks again and see you soon, Modi Ahmed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I was in DC for business trip and actually it was my first stay in the US. I enjoyed really my stay in Madera Hotel, I was there with group of people. We didnt have time to see all the places, but the hotel location was good for us and we could move around to discover DC. the area at night was safe too which was very good for mus.. many cafes and restaurants so we could had time to relax after work.

I recommend you take a room in medium or low floor with street view.. it is not noisy at all and you will enjoy the view. The room actually was perfect for me.. you will not need any thing else.. and they put many options in the room..also cafe maker was always prepared and the hotel cleaning was very good too, which is something very important for me.

What I really enjoyed is the breakfast at morning.. it is a la carte, but always many food varieties.. I always loved their cakes and fruits.. always very fresh and with the hotel location with many trees and tulips flowers around .. so it was perfect for me.

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful .. and even one of them told me about his story when he came to visit Egypt.

I really recommend this hotel.. I surely will go again :)

Room Tip: Meduim floors are perfect.. you can enjoy the location view and it is not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Dear Elham K, I am pleased to hear your visit to the Madera and Washington was perfect. The next time we are in Cairo we will stop and say hello to you! Thanks again, Modi Ahmed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This is the first time we have stayed in a Kimpton Hotel, and absolutely will again! The motto of the staff of the Madera seems to be "how can we make your stay better?" and "what else can we help you with?" The hotel is in an ideal location, the room was well designed and furnished, and we felt very welcomed. I not can't imagine staying anywhere else in Washington, DC.

Room Tip: A bit of street noise, but thats the trade off for being in a great area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Dear mizzelle, first time visit with us and it was outstanding? That's great news, now we've got you and you can't stay anywhere else in DC. See you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#71 of 141 in Washington DC
1,313 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,325 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#41 of 141 in Washington DC
569 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £80 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing