We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff, comfortable rooms, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #57 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain
1 review
“friendly staff, comfortable rooms, great location”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Okay - the lobby is small and the bathrooms are a bit old fashioned - but the staff is so genuinely friendly, the rooms so comfortable, and the location so convenient, I can´t imagine a better place to stay in Washington.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hello Rickgum, thanks for your review! Yes, the lobby is small, but we prefer cozy. This allows us to provide a genuine, and warm personal service to all of our Guests. Which it looks like you got to experience. Thank you again, and we can't wait for your next visit. Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    369
    130
    44
    19
See reviews for
228
389
100
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We discovered the Kimpton Hotel group a few years ago. On a recent business trip to DC we decided to stay for the weekend at the last minute. I called one Kimpton property and they helped us find rooms for the next 2 nights. One night was at the Madera. We were warmly welcomed amongst the confusion of a large and difficult group check-in/out. The front desk was very kind and considerate given the number of people milling around in a the small lobby. We had a good lunch at the Firefly restaurant downstairs while the room was cleaned. The bellman was very helpful in getting our luggage to the room and did not wait for a tip. The desk indicated we were in for a surprise with our room. They were right. Big room. Big windows. Comfortable couch. And a big electronic massage chair. Perfect after a week in convention meetings. For dinner the front desk recommended an Italian restaurant in walking distance. It was great. We unfortunatly only got to stay one night. The room was clean, quiet, well furnished. The staff was very friendly. We will visit again. It is on the top of our list in DC.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtrain4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hello rtrain4, what a great visit! I hope next time we can have you stay for more than one night. The massage train in our Tranquility Room is so nice after a long day of sightseeing or meetings. We are so glad we on #1 on your list in Washington DC. Hoep to see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Cozy lobby, excellent service, nice rooms. Bulk shampoo dispensers In the shower instead of bottles (Eco-friendly). Great restaurant (Firefly) with interesting comfort food downstairs. Very close to DuPont circle and the Metro stop and plenty of other dining options.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hello photo999, I'm happy to see you think we're great. We think you're great too! The location is super convenient to enjoy the wonderful Dupont Circle neighborhood. I'm glad to reaad you enjoyed our Firefly restaurant. The menu changes seasonally so we may have new items on your next visit. Thanks again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We have stayed at the Madera many times. The rooms are spacious - we like the double queen because it gives so much room. The staff is always attentive and ready to help. The hotel is located near many great restaurants. If you aren't an InTouch member become one. I love the mini bar discount and the 5 PM wine. But most important for any hotel is a staff that makes you feel welcome after you journey.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjps5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear ldscjpcat, thank you so much for being such a frequent Madera guest! We greatl appreciate your very cool review! Our staff trys to make everyonefeel comfortable after a long journey. Hope to see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The Madera, my new “abode” in Washington D.C, is a hotel that has a lovely character and noble attributes; the small lobby became a grandeur when the associates, vested with unselfishness personality, started helping and making me feel that I was at home. The luggage was taken to the room and once the electronic key opened the door, the glitziness and the coziness filled my imagination that the sojourn would be greatly pleasing, for I was not wrong, the size of the bathrooms becomes a detail of no significance. When I discovered the windows my first glance was directed to the National Cathedral, at the moment the royal blue sky was adorned with a few small puffy and extremely white clouds, the spectacular view was saved in my mind. Thereafter, on my way to dine out I came across the complaisant Firefly restaurant located in the same building; the executive chef need not to go to your table, the menu has been skillfully created and the taste has the quality to satisfied a tough top kitchen judge. The night was accompanied by the serenity and a sky full of stars; The whole staff was incredible friendly; I am obliged to mention Fernando and Stephanie, their warm souls, friendlessness, wits and kindness are exceedingly great; I enjoyed the wine hour at the hotel, very relaxing after work; I have followed the tradition at my place, so cheers!!!
Regards to all your pleasant associates and to you Mr. Mody Ahman, manager and the mastermind of the Hotel Madera.

Room Tip: North view- National Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Hello alex d, thanks for such a wonderful review of your trip to the Madera! It read like a wonderful piece of prose. I am so happy to see that the service provided by Fernando and Stehpanie was warm and genuine. They are rock stars! Thanks again for the wonderful review and see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We arrived in DC in July. Hot much? The last thing I wanted to be was hot and sticky with hideous crowds. We someone muddled through the crowds which weren't too hideous but the joy for the day was always when we arrived back at Madera. First of all, it is a real neighborhood. Dupont Circle is loaded with charm and neighborhood restaurants and book stores and the like. I walked to the cleaners to get my closed fluff & folded (like I said it was hot and muggy and fresh clothes is a must), we would pop out for a quick snack and of course we had many meals in Firefly, the hotel restaurant. It was so nice to see locals dining there. I would rarely consider staying in a hotel in the middle of the tourist section of any town but certainly I would NEVER stay in tourist area of DC. My 10 year old son loved this trip and the Madera was certainly part of the reason!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear TracyHawaii, DC definately gets hot and muggy in July, makes it great for everyone to enjoy all the museums and the air conditioning in them. I am glad you and your Son had a wonderful visit to DC and the Madera. The Dupont Circle neighborhood is a wonderful spot to get a true local flavor of DC, great shopping, tasty restaurants, and beautiful homes and embassies. Thanks for the review and see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The Madera is not terribly fancy, but it was clean, quiet and comfortable. Had a great night's sleep. Room was big. Not much of a reception area to speak of, but the Firefly restaurant in the same building was nice to hang out in...their food was creative and excellent, though the drinks were a little pricey ($12.50 for a specialty cocktail.) Took me almost an hour to walk from the hotel to the National Mall. Red line metro stop is nearby.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balcony give you a bit of space to get some fresh air...no view to speak of thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tacomaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Hello TacomaBoy, you are absolutely right, the Madera is not the largest Hotel nor the fanciest. But we like it that way. We try to use our smaller size to give a warm personalized level of service. Also, we want to provide a comfortable Hotel and guest room for every to enjoy and feel comfortable. I am glad you enjoyed our Firefly restaurant, they are wonderful in using local ingredients as much as possible. Thanks again for the review, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#85 of 141 in Washington DC
1,246 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#53 of 141 in Washington DC
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,031 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Property: Kimpton Hotel Madera
Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing