We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay and customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #60 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay and customer service!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here for a weekend getaway to DC. On the way there we called and asked if there was a room available if we were to begin our stay a day earlier, Thursday. There was and they even upgraded us to a cardio room. We were excited because there is no fitness cenetr at this location, you have to walk to the Palomar 3 blocks away. I get up early (4:30) and didn't want to be walking around at that time of morning so this was perfect.
I requested a room on an upper floor and we got one on the 8th, though it is on the side of the hotel not overlooking New Hampshire it still had continual noise from the elevator running up and down all night. It didn't bother my husband, but I am a light sleeper so I was aware of it.
The room was very clean, large TV that you can see from cardio equipment area. The room had a workdesk with power strip for charging phones, laptops, etc. No problem with additional outlets throughout. The vanity is outside the bathroom, not much space for storing toiletries, but the closet is adjacent so we used the shelf in there and that worked well.
The lobby was undergoing renovation so we took the evening wine to our room and enjoyed that while we planned the evening plans.
There is an illy cafe 2 blocks away, at the Renaissance and we would go there for our espresso, though Madera offers coffee and tea to it's guests in the morning. We had breakfast at Teaism on the first morning, delicious scrambled eggs with cilantro and ginger and also the oatmeal. The following mornings we ate at Le Pain Quotidien, my husband got an omelette one morning that was wonderful and served with some of their hearth baked bread and a small salad. They also have wonderful organic jams on the tables and various belgian spread (chocolate, hazelnut).
Should also mention Filter for espresso, the best in Dupont Circle, just a bit further away and opens later than illy. But Filter is the best we had in D.C.
The restaurant in the hotel looked good and certianly would get busy in the late morning and the evening but we wanted to try some other spots. There are a lot to choose from within walking distance. Must try Levantes for their Turkish pide, similar to a flatbread, baked in a wood fired oven. And the warm bread they bring to the table from that same oven is delicious.
Customer service is stellar at the hotel. They must have a wonderful training program for their employees. Everyone knows Disney is reknowned for service, but Kimpton has right to brag in that regard as well. Every person was lovely, and genuinely seemed to care that your stay was the best it could be. Fernando who works in the front (bags, valet, many tasks!) is a sweetheart. He gave us a warm welcome, was a pleasure to talk to when we returned each day, and gave us an equally warm send off--even a hug goodbye! Atilla was familiar with the route we needed to go home and stopped us as we were leaving to review our directions and be sure we were on the right course. We will be back here and to other Kimpton Hotels!
I didn't give it 5 stars only because there was no place to gather with the lobby being renovated. Probably could have in the restaurant but I didn't want to take a table when I wasn't dining.

Room Tip: Farther away from an elevator if you are a light sleeper. Cardio rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderful007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear wanderful007, what a great review! Your local restaurant suggestions are great! I am so happy your interactions with our Staff, especially Fernando and Attila were warm and genuine. They are 2 stars on our Staff and definately try to make every Guest feel welcome. I thank you for your patience during the renovation, we hope to see you again so you can epxerience the new lobby. Thank you again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    371
    133
    47
    20
See reviews for
232
395
101
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I visited over a weekend. Walked in to a lobby that was being renovated. The hotel immediately felt very small to me. A hotel staff member greeted me and offered me a glass of wine while I waited in line to be checked in. Was given a corner room on a high floor, which I had requested and was thrilled to get. The room itself was quite nice - comfy King Sized bed, funky decor and a nice view. The shower/toilet was tiny but I liked that the vanity and sink are in a separate area.

This is the sixth Kimpton hotel I've stayed in and this was the first time I've been disappointed. However, even this hotel is 100 times nicer than other hotel chains I've stayed in. The service is Kimpton quality - outstanding, which is why I will be a life long fan.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nessa_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Nessa_97, thank you so much for visiting. Yes, we are currently undergoing a lobby renovation. We are definately updating the look and feel of the Hotel. We are smaller than most Hotels, but this allows us to provide a personalized service that it seems you felt. Thank you for being such a Kimpton fan and thanks again for the review, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Okay - the lobby is small and the bathrooms are a bit old fashioned - but the staff is so genuinely friendly, the rooms so comfortable, and the location so convenient, I can´t imagine a better place to stay in Washington.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hello Rickgum, thanks for your review! Yes, the lobby is small, but we prefer cozy. This allows us to provide a genuine, and warm personal service to all of our Guests. Which it looks like you got to experience. Thank you again, and we can't wait for your next visit. Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We discovered the Kimpton Hotel group a few years ago. On a recent business trip to DC we decided to stay for the weekend at the last minute. I called one Kimpton property and they helped us find rooms for the next 2 nights. One night was at the Madera. We were warmly welcomed amongst the confusion of a large and difficult group check-in/out. The front desk was very kind and considerate given the number of people milling around in a the small lobby. We had a good lunch at the Firefly restaurant downstairs while the room was cleaned. The bellman was very helpful in getting our luggage to the room and did not wait for a tip. The desk indicated we were in for a surprise with our room. They were right. Big room. Big windows. Comfortable couch. And a big electronic massage chair. Perfect after a week in convention meetings. For dinner the front desk recommended an Italian restaurant in walking distance. It was great. We unfortunatly only got to stay one night. The room was clean, quiet, well furnished. The staff was very friendly. We will visit again. It is on the top of our list in DC.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtrain4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hello rtrain4, what a great visit! I hope next time we can have you stay for more than one night. The massage train in our Tranquility Room is so nice after a long day of sightseeing or meetings. We are so glad we on #1 on your list in Washington DC. Hoep to see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Cozy lobby, excellent service, nice rooms. Bulk shampoo dispensers In the shower instead of bottles (Eco-friendly). Great restaurant (Firefly) with interesting comfort food downstairs. Very close to DuPont circle and the Metro stop and plenty of other dining options.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hello photo999, I'm happy to see you think we're great. We think you're great too! The location is super convenient to enjoy the wonderful Dupont Circle neighborhood. I'm glad to reaad you enjoyed our Firefly restaurant. The menu changes seasonally so we may have new items on your next visit. Thanks again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We have stayed at the Madera many times. The rooms are spacious - we like the double queen because it gives so much room. The staff is always attentive and ready to help. The hotel is located near many great restaurants. If you aren't an InTouch member become one. I love the mini bar discount and the 5 PM wine. But most important for any hotel is a staff that makes you feel welcome after you journey.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjps5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear ldscjpcat, thank you so much for being such a frequent Madera guest! We greatl appreciate your very cool review! Our staff trys to make everyonefeel comfortable after a long journey. Hope to see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The Madera, my new “abode” in Washington D.C, is a hotel that has a lovely character and noble attributes; the small lobby became a grandeur when the associates, vested with unselfishness personality, started helping and making me feel that I was at home. The luggage was taken to the room and once the electronic key opened the door, the glitziness and the coziness filled my imagination that the sojourn would be greatly pleasing, for I was not wrong, the size of the bathrooms becomes a detail of no significance. When I discovered the windows my first glance was directed to the National Cathedral, at the moment the royal blue sky was adorned with a few small puffy and extremely white clouds, the spectacular view was saved in my mind. Thereafter, on my way to dine out I came across the complaisant Firefly restaurant located in the same building; the executive chef need not to go to your table, the menu has been skillfully created and the taste has the quality to satisfied a tough top kitchen judge. The night was accompanied by the serenity and a sky full of stars; The whole staff was incredible friendly; I am obliged to mention Fernando and Stephanie, their warm souls, friendlessness, wits and kindness are exceedingly great; I enjoyed the wine hour at the hotel, very relaxing after work; I have followed the tradition at my place, so cheers!!!
Regards to all your pleasant associates and to you Mr. Mody Ahman, manager and the mastermind of the Hotel Madera.

Room Tip: North view- National Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Hello alex d, thanks for such a wonderful review of your trip to the Madera! It read like a wonderful piece of prose. I am so happy to see that the service provided by Fernando and Stehpanie was warm and genuine. They are rock stars! Thanks again for the wonderful review and see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,092 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
3,126 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Property: Kimpton Hotel Madera
Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing