We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to our son for a Kimpton gift certificate...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had stayed at the Madera several times before and also have been very satisfied with other Kimpton hotels in DC, but revisiting the Madera was like coming home.
The staff's enthusiastic and warm welcome adds to the "being home" feeling.
The lobby had been changed since we had been there last, which added more traveler space and better seating areas for the wine hour.
Our room was on the 7th floor and the desk clerk remembered that we preferred a room away from the elevators and ice machines.
The room was very spacious and spotless. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Even though we sleep with earplugs, we always request a room away from ice machines and the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foamaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear foamaven, we definately want you and all of our Guests to feel at home at the Madera. I am so glad you like the new lobby, it does add more space to enjoy coffee or wine hour. Thanks for the wonderful review and we can't wait for you to return "home." See you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

We loved the entire package of the Hotel Madera and Firefly restaurant. The Dupont Circle location just adds more to the experience. The room was spacious, the decor was modern & fun and who doesn't love the bathrobes? Granted the bathroom itself was a bit small, but spacious in the changing area and truthfully not atypical of bathrooms in NYC. Firefly is amazing - consistently creative and flavorful food each and every time. The staff at both establishments were pleasant, helpful and genuinely concerned that we were pleased with our stay and meals.

Room Tip: ask about noise for those rooms on the street - it didn't bother us, but might bother others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sc_traveler_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Hello sc_traveler_2008, thanks so much for your review. We do strive to have our Staff provide warm and genuine service. Very happy you enjoyed your visit. I agree Firefly is an amazing restaurant, i'm not biased or anything. Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again, Modi Ahmed General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed at the Madera hotel for 3 nights in late March with my wife and daughter who was visiting colleges in the area. Great location on Dupont circle but the hotel was a 3 star at best. The bathroom was tiny and what you would find in a 2 star hotel. The first night we were on the upper floor and the entire night we heard the elevator motors which kept interrupting our sleep.

We requested a new room and they moved us to the third floor and we slept much better. New room but the same horrible bathroom.

The lobby and restaurant are nice but the rooms need upgraded and are very dated (worn carpet, bad lighting, depressing bathroom)

. For a Kimpton hotel I was very disappointed. After we left Washington we went to NYC and stayed at a Kimpton hotel called the Eventi and it was an amazing hotel. Kimpton should either upgrade the Madera or take their name off it.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear dcorry, thank you so much for the feedback. We take these honest comments very seriously. This helps us better yours and all of our valued Guests experience in the future. We are definately working on the issues you mentioned. We have already renovated the lobby, it looks great. Also, both the restaurant and the Guest rooms will be renovated this year. Really exciting!! I am sorry that we didnt meet your Familys standards, but I assure you are making the necessary changes to exceed them in the future. Thanks and we do hope to see you again, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Madera is an outstanding hotel--of course, being a Kimpton you expect nothing less. The rooms are large and well decorated, windows that actually open, great and comfortable bed. The Firefly restaurant is extremely good and reasonably priced. It was a spur of the moment to stay there, but a very good choice on my part.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a balcony and/or the spa chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Craig R, you made a great decision! We are thrilled we could be your oasis in DC and your visit was outstanding! Thanks for the review. We hope to see you again, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We mainly chose the Madera because of the location: just two blocks from Dupont Circle. The room was big and comfortable and stylish (the balcony and the sofa were a great extra touch of comfort), although the bathroom was cramped and didn't live up to the bedroom. Wifi was free but didn't always work. Breakfast in the adjacent restaurant was mediocre and overpriced but luckily there are lots of alternative not far away. Staff was very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pullogaroua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Hello pullogaroua, our location definately suits many travellers to Washington. Close to the Metro, in the Dupont Circle neighborhood with its great restaurants and shopping, and it still retians its local feel and flavor. Thanks for letting us know about the WiFi and breakfast. These are important to make a Guest feel comfortable. We will look into making these better for you and our other Guests for the future. Thansk for the review, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I was pleasantly surprised. My first visit to a Kimpton Hotel. It was clear that management has thought through what they are offering and there are a few welcome unconventional offerings that made it seem as if they cared. Went here because my usual DC hotels (Lombardy and Carlyle Suites) were charging over $300/night while this was much closer to $200. The staff were friendly and competent, the room was spacious and modern, great location just off Dupont Circle. I liked the accompanying Firefly restaurant where the food was definitely good, although prices a little high to use consistently.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Petricola, i am glad to read we surprised you with your experience at the Hotel Madera. As you stated, we do strive to put thought and care into everything we do. This makes your Guest visit that much more like home. Thanks for the review and come back soon so we can surprise you more, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. It was very nice and cozy. The staff was very helpful, the beds were comfortable. The flat screen tv was very nice to enjoy after a long day of sightseeing and touring and most of the programs were in HD. The mini bar was a nice addition to the room to relax and unwind. It held everything from water to juice, to soda, wine, beer, vodka, snacks and much more. We ate dinner at the Firefly and breakfast as well. The dinner was great but was quite expensive. The breakfast was so so and was very expensive as well. $40 room service for two people! We only had eggs, fruit, muffin, & juice and toast. Thats ridculous. Overall, we enjoyed our time in Washington DC. There is so much to do and see that we will have to visit again. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeyclk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Honeyclk, we are thrilled that your visit to the Madera and Washington was a great one! Our location is great for sight seeing, but you are right that the comfy bed and TV are great to just unwind and relax. I am glad you enjoyed the American comfort food at Firefly. We can certainly look into the pricing of Room Service. Thanks for the graet review and we will see you again, Modi Ahmed General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
1,329 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 141 in Washington DC
2,220 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#41 of 141 in Washington DC
604 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £97 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing