We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit just as wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #55 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Second visit just as wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We returned to the Hotel Madera again this year and if anything it has gotten even better. the service was fabulous - everyone was incredibly friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The Firefly restaurant in the hotel was equally as customer-friendly. Madera will be the place we will return to in Washington.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Hello mizzelle, sometimes things are sweeter the second time around! Looks like the Madera was for you! So happy that your visit was a great one! See you again soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    362
    127
    44
    19
See reviews for
225
383
97
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed at the Kimpton Madera during a recent long weekend in Washington, D.C., and enjoyed a most pleasant time. The hotel is a short walk from Embassy Row, great restaurants, the Dupont Circle farmers market, and a host of other attractions. A standout of the Madera is its staff, all of whom made us feel at home from the moment we first walked through the door. Perks such as the hosted wine hour every afternoon and the daily morning coffee service made for an extra-special stay. Because the hotel’s restaurant, Firefly, was closed for renovations while we were there, the wine hour and morning coffee were enhanced with complimentary offerings such as hors d’oeuvres, petit-fours, fresh fruit, pastries, and juices—a thoughtful touch—and we look forward to returning and enjoying a serious meal at Firefly. As with all Kimpton hotels, the Madera is Green Key–certified, a big plus for us as eco-conscious travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naturmotif1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Naturmotif1, thank you so much for mentioning our Green Key certification. We do pride oursselves on our Eco principles and standards. Good news is that we just received another Green Key certification for 2012!! Very exciting. Thank you for the review and please visit soon, Modi Ahmed Gneeral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

When traveling in a big city it's always a pleasure to find a place that you can call "home". The Madera is that place. A small boutique hotel in the residental neighborhood of Dupont Circle is a wonderful find. Great boutique shopping and wonderful dining are at your doorstep. Don't passup the French toast in the Madera's Firefly Restaurant.

Room Tip: I like the balcony rooms to sit and watch the people go by walking their dogs, strolling or getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lleesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Hello lleesm, thanks so much for the review. The balcony rooms are definately a hit with our Guests. Sitting a have a cup of coffee or glass of wine while enjoying the view. Thanks again and see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

My stay at Hotel Madera was excellent. The staff is very polite and attentive, and the property is quaint with nice rooms and at an excellent location. It’s an easy walk to DuPont Circle as well as to the White House and National Mall area. Definitely another great Kimpton Property and certainly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EHIverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Great staff, great location..I have stayed at this property several times in the past and have always found it to be outstanding. The staff is most helpful and kind.. For a nice quiet stay in a great neighborhood I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelersK&W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear travelersK&W, thanks for the recommendation! Our Staff is truly what makes us and the Guest experience so special! We can't wait for your next visit, hope it's soon. Thanks again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Our experience at the Madera Hotel was as expected, that's why we love Kimpton Properties, you can never go wrong on choosing any of their hotels. The newly remodel Firefly Restaraunt was excellent. Friendly staff and great location. Thank you guys!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerlmendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear rogerlmendez, I am happy your visit to the Madera was a great one. We thank you for beign our Guest. Please visit soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, MD
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed at the Kimpton Madera in DC this week for several days and really enjoyed ourselves. The Staff (Aaron, Khia, and Adolfo) were awesome. Super friendly, genuinely interested in our day to day experiences, and always very helpful and knowledgeable. The room itself was very spacious and loved having the balcony. Although the Firefly was closed for renovation, the Staff was extremely helpful with recommending dining options and directions, etc. Our only recommendation for improvement would be to please put chairs on the balcony. Great hotel, great time, we will be back. Terrie and Annie.

Room Tip: Queen/Queen Balcony facing New Hampshire Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKster17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear TKster17, you rock for posting this review! We do feel that the service our Staff provides truly sets us apart from other Hotels. Aaron, Khia, and Fernando are rock stars at the Front Desk and give exceptional service. Come back real soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,927 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#92 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Property: Kimpton Hotel Madera
Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing