We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is the highpoint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #55 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service is the highpoint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The location of Hotel Madera is great, but it's the friendly service which sets it apart. The rooms are okay -- the bed is very comfortable, but the amenities are just average (no coffee maker?) and there's only 1 comfy chair in the room. The bathroom is as small as it is possible to be and still fit a tub + toilet. The water pressure is pretty bad, and the noise from the hall would be annoying if we did not bring a small fan. I would rate ut "just okay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathbon36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear kathbon36, I am so glad our service was the highpoint of your visit. But I am concerned about the few issues you experienced. I am sorry about the coffee maker. We do have coffee makers upon request for all of our Guests and also serve complimentary coffee in the lobby every morning. Also sorry about the water pressure as well. Not sure if this was an issue during the time of your visit but we usually dont have any pressure issues at all. Thansk for the heads up on this so we can correct. Thanks for the feedback, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    362
    127
    44
    19
See reviews for
225
383
97
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The staff is helpful and friendly and made travel with dogs very easy. My dogs were relaxed and comfortable throughout their stay which made my life much easier. The room was spacious--especially for Dupont Circle--and is perfectly located for commuting, shopping, dining and sight seeing.

Room Tip: I enjoy the fresh air of a balcony room. On the third floor, it was quiet at night and light and ai...
See more room tips
Green Features: Great discount on parking for hybrid vehicles. Kimpton has an excellent reputation in this area.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaLosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Hello LolaLosa, so happy that you and your dogs enjoyed your visit. The neighborhood is a great area to stroll with your dogs and see some of the lovely homes and boutiques. Thanks for the review and please visit again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I LOVE this hotel. From the heartfelt greeting you receive upon arrival, to the prompt service and always courteous, the Staff at Madera is on the ball and very willing to help. They are extremely versed on the local area, sites to visit and always smiling. The rooms are wonderful. The bed is awesome, bathrooms appear to have been cleaned with a toothbrush, getting every crack and crevice. This is a place I would recommend and will go back to. Its best, as always to book in advance. I have zero negative feedback. Coming from me, that is a WOW factor.

Room Tip: I don't know that it would matter, each room I saw - middle, low, higher floor, they are all gre...
See more room tips
Green Features: All of D.C. is going 'Green" bring your reusable shopping bags, recycle always and be friendly to earth.
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Robbie Y, we LOVE having you as our Guest!! Thanks for letting the world know of your fabulous Madera experience! We are thrilled we met and exceeded your expectations. Please come and visit soon and thanks for the review, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I have being touring on the road for several years, both across Europe and America, and I can honestly say with my hand on my heart I have never stayed in a more friendlier hotel than this one.
From the moment we arrived every single person made us feel very welcome and very at home. If ever another hotel needs to train their staff in perfect customer service I'd tell them to spend a night at the Madera and see how it should and can be done!
The room was lovely, spacious, clean and very comfortable,the signature animal bath robes were an added bonus of joy and let us never forget complimentary wine hour in the reception!
In short,its thanks to all at the Madera that my time in DC was so relaxing and one that will stay with me for a long time, leaving me with many fond memories

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Clarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thanks so much Dan!! It was great having you and your Group stay with us for some time! We definately hope you all come back and visit us soon back in DC and the Madera!! Cheers, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We could not fault this hotel. It is in an excellent location. When we arrived early at 11am after a tiring overnight journey, we were immediately assigned a room. The room was really large, and very comfortable. The reception staff were always extremely helpful and friendly - recommending places to go and things to do. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bris2lRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hello Bris2Lred, what a lovely review for your lovely visit!! Thank you for recomending us to the rest of the world. Thanks so much, Modi Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I just returned from a long weekend trip to DC and had the pleasure of staying at the Madera Hotel for the first time.

I stay at Kimpton Hotels quite a bit and this property did not disappoint. The location is fantastic. Great neighborhood near Embassy Row with tons of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. There is a Metro stop just around the corner.

There is no self-parking, only valet, and it's quite expensive at $45 a night. But, it's your only option if you're driving.

The check-in process was quick and the staff was always helpful and pleasant. My room was beautiful and very up to date. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The toilet and tub shared a small separate room within the bathroom but it wasn't a problem.

I enjoyed dinner one night in the hotel restaurant, The Firefly. Both the food and service were excellent.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay at the Madera and would definitely consider staying there again and to recommend it to my friends. Thanks Kimpton for another great hotel experience and option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the hotel. They have sliding glass doors. The view from the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear MCTozzo, love that your visit was enjoyable!!! The neighborhood is truly enjoyable and makes you feel like a local Washingtonian. Firefly is such a gem of a restaurant and glad you felt the same. Thanks so much for your review and please visit again soon. Cheers, Modi Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The location is great: this hotel is in a relatively quiet part of Dupont Circle and close to the Metro station. The lobby area is very small with only one sofa and a few barstools around a high table next to the front desk. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was really only space for one staff member at the small front desk so it could probably get a little crowded at peak check-out time. Our room was spacious and had a great view facing northwest: we could see the National Cathedral perched on a hill in the distance. However, whilst the room was spacious, the bathroom was really tiny, not much bigger than a broom closet! And with no ventilation so it got very hot and steamy. It was an odd arrangement with the washstand in a separate area outside opposite a curtained closet. There was very little countertop space to put stuff on around the washstand. The hotel bar and restaurant, Firefly, were excellent. Great burgers.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the northwest are probably quieter because they are at the back of the hotel away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise_craigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hello louise_craigen, I am so pleased our staff was friendly and attentive during your visit. Your the hotel is smaller in size than some, but we make up for it in the service which you definately experienced.Thanks so much for the review, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#92 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Property: Kimpton Hotel Madera
Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing