We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #54 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We wanted to avoid a large hotel so we could have a nice weekend getaway in DC and this was the perfect place. The room was nice, clean, comfortable and modern but you could tell the halls and elevators had been upgraded but were still nice. Great location and walking distance to the center of Georgetown.
The two best things: Unbelievably friendly staff at the front desk. And my all time favorite: a complimentary glass of wine in the small lobby for 2 hours every afternoon! Both afternoons we were there met some really nice and interesting people. Every hotel in the country should follow their lead!
I would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    367
    127
    44
    19
See reviews for
225
388
97
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
D.C.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I spent Dec 31 and Jan 1 2014 at this hotel and wow, just great!! The staff was really nice and friendly. I had a king room with balcony and it was HUGE!!! Great view and in a cute neighborhood. I really felt like I got away from the craziness of the city. It was very relaxing and the restaurant Firefly, while seemed chaotic at times, the food was outstanding. I had the same waiter both days for lunch and he was fantastic. I wish I could remember his name. I will definitely be back!! Its a great swanky with a casual flare that makes it feel so inviting. And on New Years Day, Hussein ran down the block to get me a cab since the city was so quiet. The service is outstanding. I personally love that the staff is "casual" and friendly. Works perfectly for Kimpton Hotels. I always stay at a Kimpton Hotel if I can.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph2point0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Cute, updated old hotel , spacious rooms, tiny lobby. Parking is expensive. Staff is very friendly @ somewhat casual.

The Firefly is a trendy restaraunt / bar w/ very good food. Appears to be among the locals favorite. Somewhat quiet by day, make a reservation by night.

Would stay w/ mg wife, not great for business.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dlacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my friends for New Years Eve! The hotel is very nice, clean and laid back. You are always greeted with a smile at the front desk, and they are always willing to go over and beyond. Hussein, is amazing. I remember him when my friends and I stayed at the Helix a few times. Most times when you see Managers of hotels they are locked away in their office. I saw him checking in people, valeting cars, running food to guests rooms. I like the fact that he is a true team player, along with everybody else at the hotel. Very good customer service. The rooms big and spacious with a modern look, the only set back are that the bathrooms are tiny. Other than that, the hotel and the people that work there are phenomenal. Oh yea, the restaurant that is located in the hotel is fabulous, we ate there for breakfast and the prices were pretty reasonable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We enjoyed: the decent location, the flavoured water in the lobby, and the comfortable bed.
We enjoyed less: the $45 parking fee (we ended up parking on the street for free - much better), and the slightly strange room layout (way too much space in the main room, but microscopic bathroom). With the exception of one person, the staff were pretty friendly. Overall, a fine option.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiceC1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
156 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The hotel is really cute, and rooms are comfortable and newly refurbished. I really appreciated the modern look. Having a restaurant/bar downstairs is very convenient and the food is great. I like this area of DC as it is convenient to Dupont Circle and the Metro, but is also on a residential street to avoid the noise of the main roads. As a woman traveling by myself, the atmosphere felt very safe.

However, sometimes the best hotels still have problems and I experienced one in my second floor room. I won't go into detail about this but my first room was unsatisfactory and they did move me to a new room and provided a discount on the first room. Later, I was provided a full refund for that first night. I cannot complain about this problem - the customer service handled the situation professionally and very well. I would stay here again without hesitation.

One con is that there is no fitness room at the hotel. This is something business travelers have come to expect, and it was the one thing I felt was missing. They do provide a yoga mat in each room, and supposedly there is a fitness station you can access but I couldn't find it on the free programming.

Overall, this hotel is a great choice for this area of DC as far as location, service, quality, and price.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor - it's above the restaurant and also includes the meeting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Narya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This small boutique hotel has many plusses. The room is very large, with cheerful contempo design, very comfortable bed and we had a nice view. The hotel is in a quiet area , but a short walk to the Dupont Circle metro stop. The restaurant served great breakfast and probably other meals as well. The service staff were all friendly and helpful. Having Kimpron In Touch (free membership ) brings free internet, newspaer delivery to room (including Sunday NY Times) and other perks. Upon request a Keurig coffee maker was delivered to the room and replenished .

There is no lobby to speak of, but free wine service was offered every day and there was some space to sit and talk with other guests. The bathroom was very small but functional and there is a large sink area in the room with lots of counter space. No exercise equipment except Yoga mats, but we were told the exercise space at the Palomar (several blocks away) was available to guests. With the great rate we were able to get would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grover33Raleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Property: Kimpton Hotel Madera
Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing