We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #61 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Some of the friendliest and most helpful staff anywhere, large, comfortable, well appointed room, excellent restaurant downstairs (Firefly) and one of the best bars in Washington. If you had a hellish trip getting to DC (we spent 6 hours on the airstrip in Pittsburg after a 14 hour flight from Dubai before setting down at Dulles) have a Whispers from the Serpent King in the Firefly bar. You'll feel a lot better.

Seriously, after five nights here, we left knowing that this is our place to stay in DC. A short walk to Dupont Circle is just the icing on the cake. This is a very well-managed establishment, really good value for money, and overall, a class act.

Room Tip: Even rooms overlooking the street are whisper quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onowhereman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Madera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was located close to my daughter's apartment. Turned out to be a great decision The hotel is a real gem with absolutely superb staff. Staff goes out of its way to make you feel as if you're the only guest in the hotel and they do it with smiles on their faces.

The remaining we originally S4 didn't work out as we wanted to king size bed. Without hesitation, we were moved to a different room. After a somewhat fruitless attempt to take a nap, we again asked to move rooms so we could get away from construction noise. This request was also cheerfully and unhesitatingly approved, and this was all taking place at 9:00 am.

We expect to return to DC often to visit our children and Hotel Madera will be our first choice hotel.


Stayed: February 2014
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

What a fantastic little hotel! Some of the best, friendliest customer service ever. Great restaurant and lots of extras. Room not huge but very well-appointed with a great view of the Potomac, National Cathedral and Georgetown. Very convenient to Dupont Circle metro. Nice neighborhood with good restaurant options nearby. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertBullwinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed for a long weekend with my daughter to visit friends and a nephew. From the minute we arrived, we were greeted warmly, our car was parked by the valet. Front desk staff was amazing, and the housekeeping staff polite and always had a smile. The rooms are just as they appear on the website, beds and pillows comfortable and room temperature is good. The windows onto the balcony open! Great location near the metro. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariaceleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at!!! Great service and great people!!! I love the balcony and the size of the rooms. Kelly at front desk was very helpful and pleasant :) I also loved Nicole Pleasant's wonderful energy, she made us feel very welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessicraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was my first stay at a Kimpton hotel and I was thoroughly impressed. The room was spacious, immaculate, and had a modern decor. Even though it was freezing outside, the room-width balcony was a nice touch. Every encounter with staff from check-in to check-out was extremely pleasant and courteous, and the staff addressed me by my name each time. Their Firefly restaurant has amazing food. I ate 3 meals there over 2 days because it was so good and convenient. I would not hesitate to stay here again and look forward to experiencing other Kimpton properties in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony, especially if it's warm.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband made a search of Kimpton Hotels in the DC area since we had been so happy with our previous three visits to a kimpton in Portland, OR. He chose Madera because of its location to metro stations. It was a terrific choice. We arrived around midnight and were greeted pleasantly. Our room was very large and very clean. It was nicely decorated. It was so quiet and as we were on West Coast time, we overslept! By the time we made it downstairs, the restaurant, Firefly, was serving lunch. We had delicious coffee and a wonderful lunch. Our server was excellent (Peter) and the hostess (Stephanie ?) was warm and inviting. We stayed for four nights and throughout our stay we're greeted warmly by all staff. One rainy morning we asked for a cab to take us to a funeral at Arlington, and Hussein, the wonderful manager, ran to the corner to flag one down. From that experience, as well as others each day, we could tell that the excellent service starts at the top with Hussein .

Room Tip: Our bathroom was very small, so if you are large, you might want to ask for a room with a larger bat...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sargan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#74 of 142 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,192 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £101 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing