We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience - would stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #63 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The Madera is the 4th Kimpton we've stayed at. It is the smallest one we've been to, and I would recommend it for any family visiting DC. It is in a charming neighborhood filled with beautiful old buildings and a variety of great restaurants. Two short blocks from the south entry to the Dupont circle metro (and from there very close to the Smithsonian, etc)…and on the way to the metro are a convenience store, 2 banks, and several places to get coffee. There are 10 floors and each has only 9 rooms, so it really does not have the feel of a larger hotel or even the larger Kimptons we've been to. The best part was the staff -- they could not have been better. They catered to our every need and made us feel like true guests. At the nightly wine reception, they brought my son a non-alcoholic beverage. When we went out, they remembered us and asked about our experience when we returned. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdsgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

The staff is lovely! Our room was clean and very cozy. It's an old building and it shows. Loved the fish bowl, yoga room, and animal print robes. The Fire Fly restaurant has amazing menu - think healthy organic (pricey). I loved coming back to the hotel after a full day of sight seeing and being greeted by a lovely glass of wine (or two) at the lobby. Our stay was way better than we imagined. We never had a bad meal on Dupont Circle. Every single meal was absolutely amazing (not cheap). That being said, I didn't see many families in the area (we have 3 young children). Overall great place, Metro stations nearby, easy to get around, great food. If it had a work out room I would rate it excellent.

Room Tip: We had a room in back of hotel, 7th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matatca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is fabulous hotel - from the pleasant reception at the front desk to the spacious, newly renovated room to the half price hybrid car parking! When I booked the room online I requested a crib for our son - it was already in the room when we arrived. Everyone was helpful and friendly. The room was spotless and huge! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay here while visiting colleges in the DC area. The rooms were super nice, the staff friendly, and the beds were comfortable. This area was very convenient and I highly recommend the Madera, another awesome Kimpton property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethannez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

hotel staff was very accommodating to our requests,which included an early check-in ,refrig. and foam pillows. Nice little wine hour in the evening. Neighborhood has lots of restaurants. would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie82-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay and are glad we discovered the Madera as we've stayed at Hotel Monaco (another DC Kimpton location) several times before but wanted a change in location for a DC getaway. The entire staff was exceptional and friendly and the rooms were very nice. Nicole and Marcus were standouts! The only downside, was the late night street noise from the Dupont bar patrons.

Room Tip: Street-side with balconies may result in hearing more noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I had to write about the outstanding experience we had at the Madera. We arrived early (around 9 am). They gave us a room, AND an upgrade when they learned it was my daughter's birthday. They were all extremely welcoming and friendly throughout our stay. When we returned from a long day out in DC, they had left four cupcakes in our room with a lovely note for my daughter's birthday as well. We ate twice at Firefly, which is the restaurant attached to the hotel, and found the food delicious and the service gracious. We will definitely return when in DC. Thanks for a great and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#79 of 142 in Washington DC
1,295 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#48 of 142 in Washington DC
2,150 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#88 of 142 in Washington DC
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £99 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing