We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #55 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I recently stayed at Hotel Madera during a business trip to DC. I am a fan of boutique hotels and have stayed at other Kimpton properties in the past. I always enjoy the little unusual touches I was fortunate to receive one of their larger rooms on the top floor which was very spacious. Although the tub and toilet area was quite small. I really enjoyed the massage chair in the room and I used the yoga mat each evening. The bed was also very comfortable.

The front desk staff were very nice and I enjoyed the free wine reception in the evenings when I could make it back to the hotel in time.

In terms of location, the surrounding neighborhood is very nice with plenty of restaurants and shops. The hotel is a short walk from the Dupont Circle metro stop (I used the metro to commute to my conference each morning).

I would definitely stay here again and didn't have any negative experiences will visiting this property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hip-Hopkins77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Hey Hip-Hopkins77! Thank you so much for your awesome feedback! That massage chair certainly doesn't hurt at the end of the day, especially since you were here for work, which we all know can be all sorts of stressful. I am glad to hear that our staff took such great care of you, too! Hopefully we will see you again soon, maybe for leisure and not business! John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel, as most Kimpton's are, is a refurbished building. The small reception desk and wine/coffee area are to the right on the first floor with Firefly, the bar and restaurant to the left. The lighting tracks have been cleverly integrated into an artistic design in the bar. The space is very loud. One of our servers was knowledgeable and helpful; the other was not. What we ate and drank was well-prepared and flavorful.
There are ten floors. The elevators and hallways don't appear to receive the benefit of air conditioning.
The room we had (a queen/queen with a balcony) was spacious in the main room, as one would expect from its apartment origins, but dark and claustrophobic in the closet/ bathroom area. The balcony would be great if there had been a screen, a couple of chairs, and a small table. Although it says "city-view," there is no view of DC monuments, only neighboring buildings. The wi-fi kept cutting in and out on my devices.
We were provided quickly with anything we asked for: a coffee maker and a phone charger. However, on the morning of our departure with the "do not disturb" sign on the door, our soap and towels were removed from the bathroom.
The location is great--just a enough distance from DuPont Circle to have a neighborhood feel but close enough to it to enjoy it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Sally L, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Madera experience with the TripAdvisor community! I am glad that you loved our location so much, you're right it is one of the best, but I am sorry that you experienced some hiccups during your stay. Thank you for the feedback, though, as now we can make sure your stay is just perfect next time you come stay with us! John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel was very nice and located right near Dupont Circle. The staff was great and the little perks like wine night, coffee and morning tea, and the $10 mini bar credit for InTouch members (free to be!) was nice. We really enjoyed this place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minneapolis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thanks Minneapolis24, I am so glad you had such an awesome stay with us! Those perks really are awesome and are what make Kimpton such a cool, non-cookie-cutter brand! See you next time! John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I had a very good stay at the Madera hotel! I would recommend this hotel to those who are traveling solo on business, vacationing in DC, or casually needing a hotel. The staff were so friendly, specially the front desk staff: Ms. Pleasent, and Mr. T (haha), Kristen is also very cool and helpful! I was also treated especially well by the Housekeeping Manger Ms. Kane, who was able to help me with a concern and went above and beyond my expectations.

The atomosphere was young and upbeat. The restaurant connected to the hotel had a good menu, but i felt very cramped (the height of the ceiling must have been 7ft at most).

The hotel although was ran very professionally, was smaller than i expected with a lobby that didnt allow for people to meet very well. I felt as though i was always in the way of someone when i was in it.

Overall great expereince, but not exactly what I needed for my large group!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hey Christine H, thank you so much for your great praise! We really love our staff, too, and your compliments just make us love them more! Hopefully see you next time! John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

If you are visiting D.C., look no further! My husband, sister, brother-in-law and I went for a getaway for our anniversary, and my brother-in-law's birthday. In all my years of traveling I have NEVER, NEVER stayed at a hotel such as this. We felt like true VIPs all weekend long!
Each couple was treated to a beautiful surprise of champagne, flowers, delightful sweet treats, and a card from the staff! Where do you find that kind of superlative service anymore?
Our rooms were HUGE, immaculate, and had a dynamite view!
I could go on and on and on...from the delightful wine hour every evening to the delectable hor coffee served each morning; there are simply too many amenities to name. But, probably the most valuable asset is the amazing staff at the hotel! They are so far superior to any I have encountered.
To repeat, look no where else. If you read this, your D.C. hotel choice should be a snap!
Kudos to you, Hotel Madera!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are to die for...awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula5524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Wow Paula5524! What an amazing compliment you have given us! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. It was so great having you with us and we are glad to have you see us as a home away from home, too! See you next time! John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed there for 5 nights in April and thought the hotel was just OK
We were offered an upgrade for 27 USD a night and the room was big and comfortable. Beds were too soft and we had back problems. Internet was very very slow, although it was free. But it didn't work. We had the promotion breakfast for USD 1,00 and could have breakfast at Firefly, which is the restaurant next to the hotel, with an inside passage. Restaurant was fine and waiters very polite.
The day before we left, we asked the front desk for help to go to the airport and theu booked us a car. But it didn't arrive on time. We waited for 10 min and decided to take a cab on the street. There was no traffic at all, so the delay could not be because of that. I think it is a lousy car service.
Location is good, kind of 2 blocks from DuPont Circle metro.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear SimRio, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. I am so sorry that your stay with us was not spectacular, though. Any extra stress when traveling is definitely not a good thing! Again, thank you for your feedback, as without it we would not be able to improve our guests' experiences! John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Myself, wife and 2 children aged 10 & 11 stayed at The Kempton Madera for 2 nights on the 16th and 17th April 2014.
The staff are the most friendliest and helpful I have ever encountered. The hotel was perfect walking distance to all the Washington attractions. They do a free wine hour every evening which is a nice touch.
When we booked the hotel we mentioned that it was our 13th wedding anniversary. On arrival in our very spacious room, we were greated by a lovely handwritten welcome note, an iced bottle of bubbly for us and a tray of m&m's for the kids.
My only gripe was the cost of parking which was 45 dollars a day plus and additional 8 dollars a day tax.
All in all a great little boutique hotel with excellent staff. I would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you so much! It sounds like our staff lived up to their great reputation and took great care of your family. I am so glad we could help make your anniversary such a good one, too! Maybe we will see you again for your 14th? Hopefully! John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
1,328 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,218 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#41 of 141 in Washington DC
604 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £94 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing