We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #61 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband loves this hotel, and decided it would be a perfect base from which we could explore Washington and visit with our adult children. The room was huge, and extremely quiet... we were on the 10th floor facing the Cathedral. While the view looking straight down on the back alley and garbage cans was not especially attractive, the vista across to the Cathedral was great. Bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom/toilet/shower area, while divided in a somewhat strange way, was functional. The whole hotel had a nice air about it; staff was highly responsive and friendly - our request for extra towels was taken care of in less than 10 minutes. The hotel restaurant (Firefly) has excellent food and the best "morning hotel" coffee we've had in a long time. Our daughter now lives in DC, and we are planning to make Madera our base for future visits. Since we are members of the Kimpton rewards program, our internet was free; we got free parking as well through a room deal, making the stay extremely reasonable, as well as enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

MKeren, It sounds like you love DC and so do we! We are so happy your daughter has moved here so you can visit us more often! From the views to Georgetown to the Firefly Restaurant to our awesome staff we are very proud of the Hotel Madera. Kimpton Karma members truly care and we love giving back to you! See you the next time around! John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

I really enjoyed this small hotel which was near practically everything. The bed was one of the best beds I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping in at a hotel. Getting to the hotel is a cinch since it is just a few blocks from the metro. In addition, at the time of my stay, this was one of the least expensive hotels in the area, making it without a doubt the best value in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ritteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Ritteh! You have it right! Great beds, awesome location, and a perfect value is what we are all about. It sounds like you travel alot and we know how hard finding this mix can be. Size isn't everything and we greatly enjoy getting to know our guests so well! Hope to see you back for another great night of sleep! John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I've never stayed at a Kempton Hotel. I love this place. It has a boutique quality in DuPont Circle. The room is really nicely appointed. This is a place you can relax, get some serious work done, or party with friends. It does not feel like your traditional Hiltons or Marriott. Loving my stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank KeithWesu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

KeithWesu83! I love how you describe us a gem is exactly how we feel about our Hotel Madera. Whether you visit for work or pleasure staying in our intimate hotel makes one feel special. We like that we are unique and have our own story. We'd love to tell you more about Kimpton just stop by the front desk! Best, John Esainko General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Over from UK staying with friends in NY. Stayed here for a four day trip to Washington DC. Good location, comfortable spacious room. Room service prompt. Friendly, helpful staff all round. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lottee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Lottee2! People often say there is no place like home, but we believe we can be a great home away from home! Our staff aims to please and I am so happy you stopped by to see us during your visit over the pond. See you again soon we hope! John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

As a Kimpton Inner Circle member I was lucky enough to receive a complimentary upgrade to s room with a small balcony and also enjoyed a lovely welcome amenity of wine and cookies. The room was very spacious and well decorated, all the usual Kip[ton perks applied from animal robes to a $10 'raid the min bar' credit and free wifi as a Kimpton Karma member. the lobby is small but they still manage to host a lovely wine happy hour each afternoon. The location is on the quieter side of Dupont Circle in close walking distance to many restaurants, bars and shops.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Mary B! This is why Inner Circle Members like you are fantastic! Thanks for appreciating your upgrade. We are so happy you took advantage of the free wifi as well as the raid the bar credit. We believe our robes are fantastic as well! Wine Hour is my favorite time of day as it allows me to better get to know our guests.You can't help but to love our location close enough to Dupont Circle but quiet enough to feel like a local. Can't wait to see you again! John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A great Kimpton property. We were in DC for my niece's graduation and a party off Dupont Circle. An ecclectic mix of Old DC and the new. Room was very comfortable and they set up bowls and a bed for our two dogs! Staff was very helpful and breakfast at Firefly was superb. Lobby is a bit narrow, but how much time to you spend there really. The staff was very courteous and treated us and our dogs like family (in a good way).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Thomas L, Wonderful is a perfect way to describe us! We throughly enjoy being pet friendly. Dog Bowls, Treats, Beds what more could you need? Welcome to our family! Isn't Firefly such a fun escape? I'm so happy you took advantage of all we have to offer here at the Madera! Come back and hang out soon! John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stay at Madera for a week and the experience was very good. It likes a familiar hotel with staff very professional and always concerned with our questions. Very quiet rooms and the restaurant service was good enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Bom Dia Daniel O! We pride ourselves on our awesome staff and quiet rooms. DC is a great city and we love learning about all the fun things that are happening here. Until the next time! John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#78 of 142 in Washington DC
1,301 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
2,171 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#85 of 142 in Washington DC
1,880 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#28 of 142 in Washington DC
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £95 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing