We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic DC experience”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #3 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Classic DC experience”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This is one classy place and a unique DC experience. It is across the street from the church of the Presidents, you can see the White House from the dining room (and some of the more expensive rooms), and, if you like to walk, it is easy to walk to the monuments, the Smithsonian museums, the White House, etc. We had breakfast in the dining room every day because the waiters were so friendly, the room was so lovely, and the food was so good. The concierge was incredibly helpful. My girlfriend and I made plans to go only the day before and we had no idea where to go or what to do. The concierge gave us incredible itineraries and made reservations in some wonderful (and I later learned very well known and favorably reviewed) restaurants. We didn't want to pay much for a room, but what we got was clean, the beds and linens were four star, and it was quiet. However, it faced directly into an office building which might have been a problem if it hadn't been a weekend. For lots more money you can get some gorgeous rooms with amazing views. Given the location of the hotel, all of the rooms would be quiet.

This was my first trip to DC, but when I go back I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Thank you, Hay Adams!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vt2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    165
    50
    16
    13
See reviews for
361
408
56
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Excited to take break and visit our capital. We were shown to our room only to open the drapes and find we were looking directly into an office building (zero view). The closest doors, which swung out, couldn't be opened all of the way - they stopped when they hit the bed. We had a desk was positioned between the beds which was just weird. It was supposed to alternate as night stands and a desk. Not realistic with two guests in the room. There wasn't any place in the bathroom to put a small toiletry bag. We immediately requested a different room and were told it would be an additional $100/night on top of the $500/night we had already paid if we wanted to move. Very disappointing to have a room like the one we had combined with a response like that from a hotel like this.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CAPDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Best hotel I have ever stayed in. The hotel is located directly across Lafayette Park from the White House. Pay a little extra and secure either a view of the Park or the White House. Service was amazing. The concierge (we worked with Mark Dubois) was excellent. The food was delicious and the wait staff was excellent. The hotel is close to the Metro so you never need to walk far. My wife and I really enjoyed getting a drink from the Bar and walking across the street to Lafayette Park where we sat and gazed upon the White House and its visitors/protestors.

The Hays Adams is not inexpensive, and it caters to politicians and movers and shakers. So, our children were some of the few children staying in the hotel, but it did not seem to bother the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BatonRougewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Previous reviews were very complimentary and overall they are on target. The hotel prefers guests not to book through Expedia as we did and we had a very unpleasant beginning to our three day stay. The front desk person was unfamiliar on how to handle our Expedia reservation and said the bank had refused our credit card when we registered. We gave her two other credit cards and she said that they were refused as well and we would have to pay in cash up front. With other guests standing around this was quite embarassing. We had already paid in full through Expedia. When we called the banks they said the hotel was entering the information incorrectly, that they had approved what the hotel sent anyway, and nothing had been declined. It was finally settled but it was rather humiliating and a very bad start to our stay.

The hotel manager sent up an apology note later but I do not think he was sensitive to how embarassed we were. The two tangerines he sent up as an apology gift seemed awkward and odd.

The rest of our stay there was pleasant and the room service food was excellent. The servers in Off the Record, the bar on the ground level, were great. If you like gin, you must try the Classic Gin and Tonic. I didn't think you could do much to such a simple drink, but the tonic they use is very different.

If you stay there I hope you have better luck with the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

I stayed here a few years ago and found it nice but not wonderful. The public spaces were great but the rooms were rather tired. So I then tried a number of other hotels--Ritz Carlton, Mandarin, etc--but each had their issues. A few weeks ago, I tried the Hay-Adams again. It was terrific! The rooms we were in had clearly been renovated. The fabrics were all fresh, the bathrooms fixtures seemed new, the carpets had been replaced. I am not sure if all the rooms in this hotel have been renovated. If not, you should certainly request a renovated room. A couple of people have commented on their terrible window views. I think with this hotel you get either feast or famine with your views--and you do pay extra for the feast (GREAT views of the White House). I happen to think the good views are worth the extra money. However, we didn't think to request such a room during our recent stay and were stuck with a dreadful view right into the windows of an office building less than 30 feet away (it may have been as little as 10--it sure felt like it), so we kept the drapes closed the whole time. This actually worked fine. The room is designed so you can do this and it doesn't feel dark or claustrophobic. This is an old, historic hotel, so if you need clean modern lines, this place won't suit. If you like cornices and moldings and carved wood, however, you'll love this place. And the location is wonderful for visiting DC. You are walking distance from the White House, the Mall, the Smithsonians, and the National Gallery. The staff are very kind and accommodating. This is definitely my favorite DC place to stay at the moment.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

On the plus side, this smaller hotel has a certain (old-style) charm; it is located well if you like to be close to the White House; and the WIFI is free. On the minus side, be prepared for a view of an inner court yard (i.e., NOT the White House), aggressive maid service, smallish rooms, weekend wedding parties in the restaurant off the lobby, and whatever you do.....DO NOT TOUCH THE PHONE. They managed to charge us about $400 for a few domestic long distance phone calls on the house phone (Yes, some of them were long, but my AT&T cell phone did not get a signal in our room). Even calls that did not go through were on the bill for $8 a piece. What a dumb way to turn guests off!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PKRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

My husband and I had the great fortune of staying at the Hay Adams during the cherry blossom festival in DC two years ago. The hotel brings you back to another era. I felt like we were staying in a bedroom in the Chateau of Versaille in Paris! It was absolutely magnificent. This hotel has a very rich feel about it. I will say that driving up in a normal car when every one else was driving a Porsche or luxury vehicle was a bit uncomfortable, but once inside it was wonderful. The crowd tends to be more senior so we did feel like we were the youngest people there, but it really did not bother us. I would love to go back. (May just leave the car at home)!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyLux123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,108 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
387 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Property: The Hay-Adams
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing