We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but not the best”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #1 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great but not the best”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We usually stay across the street at the Willard but got a good rate at the Hay Adams. The room was adequate but the beds were not comfortable. We ordered room service and the food was just OK. On the plus side check in and out is ultra fast and staff is fast responding. Not much of a lobby either. Location however can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank resistk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    160
    49
    16
    13
See reviews for
343
398
56
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This hotel is so elegant and has such personal service, you feel like youre coming home every time you walk in. The reception and concierge service are very good. Our room was perfect and the location is a stones throw from the White House. All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at the Hay-Adams as a family this summer. The hotel is beautiful and elegant, yet very family friendly. Our room was a knock out and extremely comfy. The view of the White House from our window was spectacular. The location was terrific and fairly close to everything we could want on this trip. We enjoyed both restaurants and they went out of their way for the kids to ensure they enjoyed their meals as well. The concierge service was extraordinary from the moment we were booked months ago. They worked with us to not only plan our daily schedule but arranged all tour tickets and yes their was a small fee for the courier that waited for the tickets daily, but worth it! After each very long day in 100 degree heat of touring, to come back to such a beautiful place and have a lovely meal was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel for five nights during my time in Washington DC and was absolutely blown away by the time I spent here. Everything was done to perfection

The room I stayed in was breathtaking - easily one of the most amazingly wonderful hotel rooms I have stayed in. It was a unique combination of beauty, elegance and grandeur and a homely down-to-earth comfort which made you feel relaxed and welcome. All the furnishings in the room were very beautifully and immaculately designed (the lovely bed deserves particular mention in terms of its elegant design, beautiful linen and the curtains that enveloped it) and the lighting was fitted in such a way as to really make the room look spectacular when illuminated. No amenity or luxury was lacking and the contents of the mini-bar were absolutely amazing -lots of delicious sweets, cookies, chocolates and jellybeans as well as a wide variety of beverages. I have never seen a mini-bar like it. The bathroom was also beautifully designed and had all the toiletries that you could possibly want.

Service was exceptional. Of particular note was the receptionist who checked me out -who seemed to be coping with 200 different things at once and yet managed to complete each task very diligently while making everyone she was dealing with feel unique and special. The hotel doorman was amazing -he was able to assist me greatly in navigating Washington and was warm and friendly throughout my stay. The concierge service was also great. The housekeeping staff were polite, friendly and helpful to a fault and the nice lady to came in every night to give me the next day's weather report and chocolates was an absolute gem

The location of this hotel is also amazing. I knew it was close to the White House and that some rooms overlooked the White House but I didn't realize just how close until I decided to have a walk around the area surrounding the hotel and literally bumped into the White House! Some very nice restaurants nearby as well

Only one very minor issue. On the third day of my visit, circumstances meant that I stayed in my hotel room until the early afternoon and housekeeping phoned me to check when I would be out of my hotel room so that they could clean it. I gave them a specific time and they said they would come and clean it after that time. I made sure I was out of my hotel room by that specific time and was away for several hours. When I came back, the room hadn't been cleaned. It wasn't a big issue and don't hold it against housekeeping (who did an otherwise excellent job) -I was just a little puzzled about it

This hotel is a bit on the expensive side but is well worth the price and staying here was an absolutely marvelous experience and one of the highlights of my trip to the United States. Staying at this hotel was an absolutely unique once-in-a-lifetime experience which left me with many cherished and wonderful memories and I hope to return in the near future. I cannot recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OL1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uberaba, MG
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The Hay-Adams is a nicely appointed boutique hotel just across the street from Lafayette Park. Service is attentive and rooms are a bit small but really nice and cozy. As we were there in January we could see the White House through the trees of Lafayette Park and the ensemble made the view from the room really beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodrigoHueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We held our wedding reception on the new rooftop at The Hay-Adams Hotel this past June and it was everything we dreamed. The space was absolutely breathtaking and our guests loved the views of the White House and monuments! The Hay-Adams is a classic Washington, DC hotel that exudes the very best in taste and luxury, yet you won’t find an ounce of pretentiousness with its incredible staff. You will be wowed from the moment you pull up to this grand hotel. Our family and friends stayed at The Hay and were raving about their experience from the moment they checked in.

The rooms, the rooftop space, and the food were all incredible. The banquet staff was superb and Francis Ciganek, our Banquet Captain, handled running the reception with perfection. He checked in regularly with us and coordinated with our DJ on managing the flow of every aspect of the evening. All of the banquet staff was nothing short of perfect. You rarely noticed them yet they were always there to serve our guests, ensure the tables were plated and cleared in a timely manner, and to assist guests with anything else they needed. They banquet staff executed with flawless precision. In addition, we can’t say enough about the food. It was simply to die for and our guests were raving about everything from the hors d'œuvre at the cocktail hour, to the three course dinner. The rooms are beautifully designed with every detail in place. We're still hearing from our guests about how amazing of an experience it was for them at The Hay-Adams. Also, the front of the house staff (Jack Nargil [of the prestigious Les Clefs d'Or] and his team at the Concierge Desk, Paul Carabello managing the operations of the ever busy lobby, the bell men, Francesca Boelke, the assistant manager, and so many other wonderful staff) really made the difference during our (and our family's) time at the hotel. Even after returning a month later for dinner in the Lafayette Room, the staff remembered us by name and welcomed us back as though we had never left.

We can’t say enough about this extraordinary place and highly recommend The Hay-Adams Hotel for a fun weekend stay, an event big or small, or for a romantic getaway. We wish we had another wedding to plan as we would love to host another event there! Thank you to Amanda Reinke (our Catering and Sales Manager) and The Hay-Adams staff for making our wedding so special!

Room Tip: Ask for a non interior view room. It may cost a little extra, but the views are worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlakeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Not a guest. Just passing through hotel with mother. Two decent people who needed refreshment and ladies room on an extremely hot DC afternoon near the White House. OBNOXIOUS, RUDE, UNKIND STAFF IN LOBBY would not allow us in and created a loud and humiliating ordeal. IS THIS HOW HAY ADAMS TREATS CITIZENS AND DC VISITORS? I wouldn't stay here or recommend to anyone even for free. We were treated deplorably. No one ever has to be that awful to anyone. Just remember, how you treat others will not be forgotten - and you never know the sphere of influence somone you have treated poorly may have. I suggest hard-working people spend their money to stay elsewhere in the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank horrified2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
We regret this guest's perception upon entering the hotel's lobby. However, being an intimate, residential property across the street from the White House, it is our policy to limit access to our facilities to registered guests and our restaurant patrons.
We do this to respect our guests' privacy and safety.
Having been awarded "one of the World's Best Hotels" in Travel and Leisure's August, 2011, edition, we feel this person's experience is an exception to the thousands of other travelers perceptions of The Hay Adams, where nothing is overlooked but the White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,804 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Property: The Hay-Adams
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing