We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location and customer service in Washington DC”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #2 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2011

It was our last hotel stay in the USA before travelling back home to Italy, and one of our best memories! Everyone was so kind and helpful and really made us feel special! Let alone the very special location...simply amazing!

Room Tip: our room overlooked the church opposite the hotel, anyway I can't imagine a less than perfect ro...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
There are newer reviews for The Hay-Adams
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,027 - 1,033 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

Beautiful interior, great service and perfect location. 5 stars.
Free WIFI!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelseaewerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

It was my husband's birthday and Hurricane Irene decided to join us. Ever wondered what happened to customer service, it resides at the Hay Adams in Washington DC. The concierge's entire team was Excellent, but Eric and Anna (Manager) were the best.. Anna made the best dinner recommendation and Eric arranged for a special birthday celebration dinner since we had to cancel our dinner reservation due to the weather. The chef baked my husband a Special B-day cake. The breakfast was second to none the team was excellent. Giovanni you are Excellent, Anthony (bar) Perfect - Michell (Bartendar) Great. The Bar/rest Manager and the servers WOW, talk about excellent servers. I hate that I can't remember the server's name for dinner in the Bar because he was Perfection!! I left some jewelry in my rooom & HSKP gave it to Willie (Security) who sent it to my home within 24hrs. WOW. I love this place. Room SVC and the room was AMAZING!!! Everyone seemed to know it was my husband's birthday and took care to wish him well. The Bell staff, WOW!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Everyone at this hotel has a personal, warm and friendly attitude. The staff is very attentive and REAL. The Hay Adams isn't exactly a small hotel, but it feels like you're staying at one. I thought there would be a tinge of pretense and snootiness in the air but I found none.

The location is the best in DC. Our room had a window that opened all the way and overlooked the White House and Washington Monument, which at night when lit up looked spectacular and even surreal to look at. The view truly is unforgettable and no other hotel in DC can match that.

Manager Christof Pignet provided me with extensive restaurant recommendations that helped me narrow down the many food options in DC. He was amazing to communicate with and made the reservation process a joy.

The decor is also really elegant and the hotel is well maintained. The Hay Adams is a charming hotel. No wonder the Obamas chose to stay there before moving into the White House...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JordanPelaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

If you're looking for a place to truly take in Washington, D.C., make sure you stay at The Hay-Adams. Fit for the President (the Obamas stayed here before moving into their place across the street) as well as a handful of celebrities and politicians, the hotel provides amazing --- if not the best --- views. If you can, splurge on a room facing the White House (the rooms facing St. John's are also nice). Elegantly appointed, you will never want to leave your room!

The service at the Hay-Adams is impeccable ... Never did I have to open a door ... Someone always beat me to it! And, everyone is so pleasant, greeting you by name! VIP treatment all the way!

Last, The Hay-Adams is conveniently located in the heart of D.C. In walking distance of the monuments/Smithsonian/Dupont Circle, it's a short Metro ride away from China Town, Old Town Alexandria, etc. It's also close by to Georgetown --- a short cab ride away.

While staying at The Hay-Adams, be sure to do the following:
* Grab a cookie at the front desk ... Baked fresh everyday, they are a lovely treat!
* Breakfast in the Lafayette Room ... A delicious way to start your morning!
* Have a night cap at Off the Record Bar ... One of the coolest bars/lounges you will ever visit ... A great place to start or end your evening!
* Brunch at Top of the Hay ... Hands down, the best view in town. Directly overlooks the White House and Washington Monument ... You can also see the Jefferson Memorial in the near distance

The Hay-Adams is a pet-friendly hotel. Didn't bring my pooch, but I'm certain that if I did, he would have received the red-carpet treatment, never wanting to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawkito20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We usually stay across the street at the Willard but got a good rate at the Hay Adams. The room was adequate but the beds were not comfortable. We ordered room service and the food was just OK. On the plus side check in and out is ultra fast and staff is fast responding. Not much of a lobby either. Location however can't be beat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank resistk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This hotel is so elegant and has such personal service, you feel like youre coming home every time you walk in. The reception and concierge service are very good. Our room was perfect and the location is a stones throw from the White House. All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ragatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
436 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 142 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £268 - £477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing