We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great restaurant”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #1 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Ivy, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great restaurant”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed for 3 nights, beautiful hotel, though the rooms are small. Exceptional service from arrival to departure, without exception. The bar on the lower level was always so crowded we never used it, but the restaurant is among the best in Washington: exceptional food, service, and atmosphere (for some reason it is closed for dinner on Staurdays).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the streets are noisey. Rooms tend to be small, try for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandPdineout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    160
    49
    16
    13
See reviews for
343
398
56
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Other luxury hotels need to take lessons from the staff of the Hay-Adams.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaveHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

spent one night here - everything went well, staff are friendly, hotel and room was clean and nicely furnished, quiet with no view

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I have been fortunate to stay in many nice hotels, but (by far) this was the best. Flor Blanca in Costa Rica is probably tied...but for different reasons, mainly the location and uniqueness. Which are the two qualities that set the Hay Adams apart...it's just that the Hay Adams doesn't have an empty, crescent shaped...right out of a post card...5 mile long beach in front. If you're ever in Costa Rica, Flor Blanca is a must...but I digress...

In my 3 months in DC, I stayed here for the weekend and the Willard a couple weekends after that. I like trying out hotels and considered the Ritz or Four Seasons...but I wanted the real DC experience.

I'm not your average traveler and certainly didn't dress up to DC standards. I arrived in my traditional gym shorts, t-shirt and running shoes (sorry to all you formal DC-ers!) Yet, they treated me the same way as the other guests in suits...I was 20 at the time, but I look like I'm 15. Yes, they did ask for my ID to make sure I'm old enough to stay there...which always gets to me, but they can't do anything about that. Even so, they didn't look down at me and were polite about it and I told them that I get that all the time...regardless of where I am...and we laughed. The service was the same all throughout my stay.

The lobby is something else. The Fairmont in SF? Impressive and beautiful...and a real throwback to classic San Francisco. The Willard? Similar and very impressive...but a lot of tourists. It is easy to do an impressive lobby, but it is hard to replicate the "vibe" (to borrow a California word) one gets at the Hay Adams. Intimate, quiet and discreet...yet beautiful and totally DC.

The food, from breakfast to lunch to dinner was exquisite. As is the location....across from the White House? Does it get any better in DC? Sadly, the weather was awful...so I couldn't run around outside.

I asked for an early check-in and they said they would try to make sure it could happen. What happened next was unbelievable. I arrived early and was told my room wasn't available. But they did say that that a "room" was available and took me to a stunning suite (ST. JOHN’S CHURCH VIEW HOTEL SUITE) overlooking the church with a living room, bedroom and bathroom that was truly above and beyond. The bed was out of this world in terms of comfort and the furnishings were fantastic...as one should expect from a hotel room that is $1,300+/night (yet, I was charged at a much lower rate). I have yet to witness a more beautiful bathroom in a hotel...the shower looked beautiful, but the bathtub was too inviting so I used that the entire time. The living room part was fantastic as well, spacious and lovely. Very comfortable and beautiful.

I decided to order their room service and again, it was extraordinary. They even toasted my bread in the room for breakfast...it is this level of service that sets this hotel apart. The guy that brought up my meals couldn't be nicer and we had a nice, five to ten minute chat about him...what I was doing in DC...etc. What really irks me about high-end hotels are the people, who can be snotty/rude/condescending towards the staff and I try to go out of my way to be nice and polite to them. Just because one can stay in the Hay Adams doesn't make that person any better than those that clean it.

I feel compelled to write this review as it was such a beautiful experience...and the service really sets it apart.

If you are looking for a truly world-class, extraordinary experience...go for the Hay Adams. The Willard is nice and I was impressed...but the Hay Adams is one (or four) steps above.

The things I would improve:

1) The exercise room is small...but I was the only one using it and it was well appointed and I can't fault the equipment...just if there is a lot of people wanting to use it, it would be cramped.

2) I know this is a stretch...but the TV in the living room could have been a bigger TV. But even still, this is a stretch in terms of "criticism." And maybe a TV in the bathroom.

3) No pool. I wouldn't have used it anyway, but I guess it would be nice for a family or those that like doing laps.

Other than that?

Flawless...and then some.

A must in DC!

Room Tip: Suites with a view...you might as well splurge and get the full experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

A truly luxurious hotel which oozes with character and sublime staff.

Room Tip: Always book a room that over looks the whitehouse worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavinchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed this past weekend (Jan 15, 2012) at this landmark hotel, and was terribly disappointed. I booked their base rate room online (superior) and upon arrival, the room was facing a building in an alley. The room was nice, so I did not think much of it, as we were only there one night. Then in the morning, the dumpster trucks were out in full force. There are numerous dumpsters in the alley, and the noise was terrible first thing in the morning. Upon checkout, I politely asked if the hotel was booked, and was told no, not at all. I suggested that they not use that side of the hotel, unless they have to when the hotel is full. The front desk clerk replied that there are different levels of rooms, and she will note in my file that next time I reserve, they will try to sell me a more expensive room. Not the type of service or reply you would expect. High end hotels like the Ritz even put you in a decent location (not asking for a larger room) when the hotel is not near full, and they have it available. Very disappointing and would not recommend based on this!!!! For $300 per night before tax, you can do better!

Room Tip: Unless you are booking a top category room, don't bother staying here. NOT worth it.....choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pgfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I had a quick overnight trip in DC and every detail was perfect at the Hay-Adams. The location was ideal and the service impeccable. From the moment we checked in everyone from the concierge, to the bellhop, to room service was friendly, helpful and went out of their way to be accommodating. The room had fresh fruit and Fiji water upon our arrival and the turn down service at night had Molten Brown eye cream, slippers, chocolate and quiet music playing. We ordered room service which arrived faster than the time they quoted and the food was all fresh and delicious. Breakfast the next morning was equally fantastic from quick service to a fabulous fruit parfait and egg white omelet. Overall a true gem!

Room Tip: If you choose a room with a view of St. John's church or the White House they have amazing views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyonsmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,804 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Property: The Hay-Adams
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing